We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oddfellows

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oddfellows
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,060 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oddfellows
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,055: English reviews
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely afternoon tea experience which was in delightful surroundings with tasty food and excellent service. There is also a lovely "hidden garden" outdoor area area which would be perfect for a drink or two in lovely warm weather. We have lived in the Chester area for many years but never knew this lovely place existed. We will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked Oddfellows on recommendations from workfriends. I wanted somewhere relaxed and not too expensive for afternoon tea. They definitely delivered. We arrived early and were taken straight to our table, the serving staff gave us plenty of time to look over the menu before taking our order. The afternoon tea arrived quickly and every single item was fresh and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katy S
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked one night in Oddfellows, and were quite happy with most things! The room was spotlessly clean; we'd watched an episode of 'Four Rooms' on the telly before we arrived, and I went around the room (for a joke) checking all the things they do on the telly (running my finger along the blinds to check for dust and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liam S
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We'd hoped to sit outside but sadly a shower of rain made all the available comfy seats wet. However, we easily found a table inside and enjoyed sitting in the quirkily decorated bar area. Certainly plenty to look at on the walls! Excellent choice of gin so tried a couple of new ones served with a tonic water appropriate for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aelloy
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm surprised at some of the positive reviews of this hotel as my experience of it is completely the opposite, despite it's pretty, quirky surroundings I feel it is overrated due to poor customer service and is a bit 'style-over-substance'. When dealing with the reception staff in particular I found them unhelpful, inflexible and quite arrogant. I was given information...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CelticStar
Management response:

Dear CelticStar Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the service you received. I can assure you that service is a huge deal for us and we take it seriously. I have therefore passed on to your comments to the team and reception staff concerned. With best wishes...

warrington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a Mother's Day treat. Wonderful day. The staff were so helpful and attentive. My daughter is egg intolerant and they were able to give her a fabulous selection for her afternoon tea. Well done; she felt very special.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BellaRomaWarrington
greece
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for a for a friend's birthday, we had to ask 3 times for service. Male member of staff rude and unhelpful. Wanted advice on the gins replied "gin is gin". Gave us 1 drink too many, asked to be taken away, again replied" well I've poured it now" not impressed

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank keyset
Management response:

Dear keyset Thanks for your recent review. Feedback from our guests is always appreciated; good or bad. We were disappointed to hear that you experienced slow and unhelpful service during your recent visit. Service is a huge deal for us and we always take it seriously. I have therefore passed on your comments to the team concerned. With best wishes...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Four adults enjoyed a family lunch at Oddfellows recently, our first visit. The staff are efficient, smiling, focussed and hard working. The hotel is well managed and organised. The restaurant was busy serving both lunches and afternoon tea but the staff coped well. Food and drinks were much enjoyed: good choice of drinks while the food was of a high...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rod m
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I thought it was very over priced for what you got, I had afternoon tea with fizz but there was only a small amount of sandwiches. The cakes where lovely especially the scones. It is a nice place but I wouldn't go back for afternoon tea, they have better offers on the other and drinks.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loopyshoe
Management response:

Dear loopyshoe Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent afternoon tea with us. Feedback is important to us. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our delicious cakes, especially the scones. Everything is freshly made using the finest quality ingredients, but I'm sorry you felt the portion size was a little on the...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Have used a few times for senior team meetings. It's really quirky with an Alice in Wonderland room with stuff on the ceiling etc. Nice bar, and garden area out the back. Food is good and nicely served. Slightly fiddly food but good quality. Wine list reasonable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark B

472 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (446)
Viewed
Room/Suite (87)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (12)
Viewed
Other (235)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
8.0 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,016 reviews
0.2 km away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
1,984 reviews
1.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Oddfellows chester
Oddfellows chester
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings. The design of the bedrooms is inspired by architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with The Garden by Simon Radley -our Mediterranean-inspired restaurant - and The Secret Garden - a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oddfellows

Address: 20 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $143 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oddfellows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oddfellows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oddfellows Hotel Chester
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oddfellows staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Oddfellows staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We loved having a loft bedroom with king bed and living room on the first floor. Room #16”
lindseywineangel, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for the split level room with bath”
712paul, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The room with the circle bed”
liams964, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We did not stay so no comments on that aspect.”
rodm635, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room that is likely to be less noisy than ob the front. Twins are on the top floor.”
lexisw, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5