We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The White Horse Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The White Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 92: English reviews
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our 2nd visit in 3 years to the White horse inn,the staff and rooms are lovely but I was ready for going home at one o'clock in the morning after been kept up with the constant noise from people sitting outside below are room having a cigarette as you can imagine the conversations got louder as the night... More 

Helpful?
Thank karen060863
Paula R, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Hi Karen I'm sorry that you were disturbed by any noise but as you know from staying with us before, we are a pub and you had unfortunately booked the room next to the front door. We had a 30th Birthday celebration so it was particularly busy on that night. If it hasn't put you off, which I hope it... More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived late Saturday evening and were welcomed by the landlady who is very friendly and wanted to please and nothing to much trouble for her. Was shown to our room which was in a quiet courtyard out in the back of the pub and we were in the one of 2 ground floor rooms. The room was very large... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stones2012
Paula R, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that we see you again in the future. We are currently refreshing some of our rooms as we are aware that they would benefit from a fresh lick of paint. The work has already begun and will be completed within... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good for families, and dogs, with very friendly and helpful staff. Great spot for walking and cycling. A lovely breakfast was available, with fresh coffee or tea and toast served.We had a room for 3, but it could accommodate 4.

Helpful?
Thank Steve W
Paula R, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review, we hope to see you again in the future. Paula More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely quaint room, very clean, staff very friendly & helpful! Couldn't do enough for us. Will definitely stay here again. Reasonable room rate & great breakfast. Quiet village location.Highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank Emma W
Paula R, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review, it makes our job so much more rewarding. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Visiting family in Chester. Check in smooth very friendly. Lovely clean room - everything as needed. We had two dogs and they were made very welcome. Spacious room with sofa bed. Rain shower was fantastic and you won't want to get out. Toiletries provided. Good wifi. Nice and warm room and very comfy bed. Nicely decorated with lovely touches. Very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jo S
Paula R, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review, we hope to see you again. More 

Plouasne, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We had a nice big warm room. Staff and locals so friendly and so helpful. Lovely food. Great service. Would definitely stay again So thank you all for making us so welcome. And for all your kindness and help.

Helpful?
Thank pheath2016
Paula R, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

It was our pleasure Peter, thank you for your kind review. Paula More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2016

What an awful place. The room and bathroom were filthy, looking out over car park full of rubbish or a grubby smoking area, depending which way you look. The carpets were stained, the walls were stained, there was dog hair everywhere and the amount of dust, mold and all round grime was worse than any hotel I have ever been... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
Paula R, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Andrew,firstly you did not stay with us or give us the opportunity to offer you an alternative room. Instead, you removed your car from our car park and then ran into the pub, threw your key at a member of my staff and rudely told her that you were not staying. Oh....and that was after spending over an hour in... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Our room was clean and quite spacious especially as dogs are whole heartedly welcome. Well behaved dogs are allowed in the bar and there is a beer garden which is good. Breakfast was included (continental) bur Full English was available buto extra. Food is available in on some nights but you can order food from the take awayour menus and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie M
Paula R, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Julie for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. More 

Keelby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

At £80 a night, it was very disappointing. The room was okish, the bed ok, stain on the floor, i didn't like the window in the bathroom door, you can see someone sat on the toilet. Food was limited to pizza or bbq, we drove down to The Stamford Bridge for food, half mile down thd road, it was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank 841brenda
Paula R, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Hi Brenda Thank you for your review, I'm sorry that you did not completely enjoy your stay. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with my friend on the weekend for one night as we were going out in Chester. Lovely little room towards the back of the pub, they only have 4 rooms which we thought whaaaat? When we arrived but it's such a nice little room and ideal just to stay for one night. The bed is the comfiest... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ukwales

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
7.9 km away
Rowton Court Hotel
Rowton Court Hotel
#34 of 83 in Chester
80 reviews
5.7 km away
Devonia Lodge Guest House
2.6 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tarvin
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Roseville Bed & Breakfast
Roseville Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 83 in Chester
70 reviews
7.0 km away
The Saddle Inn
The Saddle Inn
#6 of 83 in Chester
185 reviews
4.4 km away
The Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The White Horse Inn is a traditional country pub in the heart of the village of Great Barrow, just outside the historic city of Chester. We have been under new ownership since March 2014 and have completed a full renovation of all guest rooms and kitchen since opening. We have a very small menu Thursday-Sunday, the star being our popular home made stone baked pizzas, however we are always happy to accommodate our room guests and offer them a meal plan should they request it. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Address: The Village, Great Barrow | Chester, Chester CH3 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $91 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Inn Hotel Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The White Horse Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The White Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the king room Nice big bed and big bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles pheath2016, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles 232eddieb, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a downstairs room or you have to climb a metal staircase outside.”
 of 5 bubbles RichardC961, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are at the back and quiet. Room 1 was fine apart from a little problem with the position of the TV and the lack of a second chair.”
 of 5 bubbles fazakerly, 28 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Room 2 spacious”
 of 5 bubbles H3601YCgaryc, 10 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay