We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Commercial Bar & Hotel

Show Prices
#26 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

351 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Commercial Bar & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 351: English reviews
York
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

We were 4 ladies who stumbled across this place and although it was peak time, we were found a table . We did have to wait for our food but that was acceptable, the place was very busy. One of our meals didn't arrive with the rest, this was dealt with quickly and an apology and a free drink without...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathp29
John L, Owner at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kath, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we a pleased to hear that the delay of one of your meals was quickly dealt with and that this didn't effect your time with us here, we are glad you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again soon! Thanks again and warm regards,

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Had lunch here this weekend, waited an hour and a half for food to arrive from ordering. One of our party received food 20 mins before the rest of us so had finished by the time ours had arrived. When we asked what was going on, the girl who was serving us just said it wasn't her fault and walked...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Teamwork210
JohnLocke62, Owner at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

So sorry you had a bad experience with us. As I recall we did inform your group there would be a wait of between 15 to 20 minutes from ordering as we were very busy -. It was not an hour and a half wait, it was in the region of 25 to 30 minutes...An extended wait I agree, but...

Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

We have just returned from an over night stay at the commercial, our room was beautiful with so much space. The staff are wonderful everyone was so helpful and friendly, a big thank you to John (owner) who very kindly recommended us a restaurant and then even rang through to them and booked a table for us. (Great advice John...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
John L, Owner at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your time here at the Commercial and hope to see you again! Many thanks,

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

We came here for lunch on Sunday after hearing that the venue has a new chef and the food is really good. We were not disappointed. Friendly, relaxed service from the outset and the food was fantastic. Chicago style steak sandwich with beer onions and Stilton was seriously good, as was the "proper" burger, clearly made from scratch onsite by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tamzinharris
John L, Owner at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tamzin, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we are glad your family enjoyed our Sunday menu and particularly like your sons review of our fish and chips! We are very pleased with your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to Commercial again, Many thanks and Warm regards

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

We booked the venue for a private party until 12am. We hired our own DJ until 12. To find out at 11 that they have their own DJ take over our private party is not acceptable. After going down to speak to management(Kelly) she was not helpful in any way shape or form. Firstly she never took time to listen...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank RebeccaEllis_12
John L, Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write the review Rebecca. We are sorry you felt uncared for during your event on Saturday, 5th November 2016. Following your comments I feel it only fair to explain to you our position. We do not charge for room hire as we welcome all groups and parties to the Hotel. We booked the...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016

We adored this place....we stayed for our daughters graduation which meant an overnight stay on a Thursday night.Its open mike night so we knew that it would be noisy and it was ...but it stopped bang on midnight just as they said it would.The staff were lovely and helpful in every way.We had a bar meal after the graduation ceremony...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allanmiller2
John L, Owner at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Allan, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! Congratulations again to your daughter, we hope she enjoyed her graduation. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us (and your toasties!), your comments are gratefully received and will be passed on to the hotel and kitchen staff members. Thanks again

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Spent one night here on a Monday so was fairly quiet. Can't complain about anything really other than the WiFi didn't work but never mind not like I really needed it. The room was clean the bathroom was plenty big enough and the bloke who greeted us on arrival was pleasant and informative. The people putting bad reviews because of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank craig1876
John L, Owner at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Craig! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! I'm very sorry the Wifi did not work in your room, we have been having a bit of battle with the WiFi and hope to have the issue resolved as soon as possible, i am very glad it did not effect your stay with us. Thank you...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

We had to change hotels at 11pm after returning to our room to find that there was a nightclub going on in the room next door till 3am. Tried to talk to the manager but gave up after waiting out the front for 15 minutes, no response after requesting a refund for not staying the night. Be warned!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Muzjones
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Pretty lively on Friday evening, played quite a bit of 80s and 90s earlier on and then more modern stuff later. Quite a good mix of age ranges in here too so definitely a place where the slightly more mature don't feel too old.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise T
John L, Owner at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Denise, Thank you very much for your reviews about our Friday nights and music, we are glad you thought our venue was 'lively' and we hope you had a brilliant night! Thanks again,

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Admittedly, I appear to have had a different experience to some reviewers, but unlike some of the reviews, this is primarily (solely) for the hotel (although I would point out that the bar was perfectly fine whilst I was there, and the staff very pleasant). The hotel itself is fabulously located right in the centre, with the only real downside...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank James A
John L, Manager at The Commercial Bar & Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. You were correct when you stated that Monday's are quiet, much quieter than the weekend that is for sure! Your comment concerning the lack of music has since been resolved and we have music throughout the bars daily. We have also passed on your lovely comments to...

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.4 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
627 reviews
0.3 km away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,556 reviews
0.3 km away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 45 in Chester
1,029 reviews
0.7 km away
The Boathouse & Riverside Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury accommodation, a wide selection of drinks, the warmest of welcomes, the liveliest of atmospheres in the most exquisite of locations… ‘…A gem hidden in the heart of Chester…’ We have five beautiful double en-suite rooms, including a luxury 'Lord Byron suite', each with a book of poetry written by their namesake for your enjoyment during your stay. We have 3 high quality entertaining bars serving traditional ales, fine wines, superb spirits and fabulous cocktails. We attract a fun-loving clientele from 18-80, especially at weekends when our renowned resident DJs spin their collective mix of disco-dancing tunes. We will always ensure you are made to feel very welcome at the Commercial and we provide something for everyone, every day of the week! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Commercial Bar & Hotel

Address: Northgate Street | St Peters Courtyard, Chester CH1 2HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $112 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Commercial Bar & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant Hotel Chester
The Commercial Bar, Restaurant And Hotel
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Commercial Bar & Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
11 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Commercial Bar & Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away at weekends”
 of 5 bubbles leew218, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms great loud music can be herd every room so don't like this don't stay”
 of 5 bubbles tobydog, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Did not stay in rooms only went to dine”
 of 5 bubbles archiealleni2016, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Keats is above the live music area so pick another if you go to bed early.”
 of 5 bubbles DuncanLlandudno, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There are some nights where there is music going on....probably check when booking...if that's likely to be a problem.”
 of 5 bubbles allanmiller2, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5