We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hallmark Inn Chester

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hallmark Inn Chester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

892 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hallmark Inn Chester
See the most recent reviews
Showing 880: English reviews
middlesbrough
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Room 304😠 dark small window Breakfast not great Full English beans dried out, sausage greasy, no fried eggs, mushrooms watery. Staff pleasant and friendly Would not stay again - shame Chester lovely city good restaurants

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GorettiMiddlesbrough
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear Goretti Middlesbrough Thank you for taking the time to post your review and please accept my apologies that you did not have a favorable experience, but thank you for your comments on the team, we hope that you will return to Chester and hopefully stay with us again to allow us to provide you with a superior experience. Kind...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 May 2016

Where to start?? Well you get what you pay for and I guess for Chester this was not bad. I picked it as it was near the station (and if you elect to stay here just be aware it is right at the station end of the road, and not down the far end as a post code pointer arrow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank watfordpip
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear WatfordPip Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies that you did not have a favorable experience, I have passed your points raised regarding your room maintenance issues to our housekeeping manager to review and address as quickly as possible I have also contacted the company that oversee the student accommodation to pass on your comments. Once...

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2016

The service at this hotel was excellent. The room was clean but definitely dated but fine for a bed for the night. Good location. 10 minutes leisurely walk to centre of town. Very close to the train station. Breakfast was average. Had better but had a lot worse too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline A
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear Caroline A Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and we are very pleased you enjoyed yourself, we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2016

On arrival we were greeted , by a young man who was abrupt and totally indifferent to us [4] guests. After form completion we went to our allocated rooms , ours was dark and dingy the mattress had a large stain on it and the decor [wallpaper ] was peeling off of the walls. We were given another room with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michael w
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear Michael W Please accept my apologies that you didn't enjoy your stay and I am very disappointed to read you had more negatives than positives during your stay. I have passed your points raised regarding your room cleanliness to our housekeeping manager and the maintenance manager to review as soon as possible and make good the issues you encountered....

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 6 May 2016

put in small supposedly double room very dirty mould on shower curtain bathroom dirty hairs in bed builders outside walk out of bathroom full view of builders staff very unhelpful couldnt be bothered for the price it was very bad breakfast luke warm

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pownalllynn
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed with friends and wedding party at bank hol weekend, had a great stay. For a small ish hotel in a listed building, the wedding set up looked stunning, we have taken masses of photos to share with other friends and on Facebook. The whole place is quirky, old, unique, I loved it. The staff really made the visit, couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jodiexxx123
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear Jodiexxx123 Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to welocming you back to the hotel for another stay. Kind Regards

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2016

After reading the poor reviews on TripAdvisor I wasn't expecting much. My husband and I stayed for one night on 28 April on a Groupon deal. We arrived a little early and checked in with no hassle. Our room was ready about 30 mins later. We were in room 125 which was on the small side and although it could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheFridayNighters
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear TheFridayNighters Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed the Groupon offer, we hope to welcome you back again to the hotel. Kind Regards

Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Excellent location so close to rail station. Car parking not easy. Bedroom rather small, bathroom cramped, old fashioned shower. Breakfast good but cold plates. Staff helpful and fairly cheerful. If you have a problem, ask and they are very informative and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear Helen J Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future Kind Regards

Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

I wish I'd read the reviews before booking this hotel. The room was small & grubby, the toilet seat was loose & the decor was poor. There was no toilet roll & the toiletries were of short supply. We stayed in room 202 the view was of the fire escape etc. it must of been warm there as pigeons were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandyb1969
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear MandyB1969 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our property. On behalf of myself and the entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Customer satisfaction is very important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements and checks to ensure we offer...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2016

We were a party of sixteen ladies celebrating a 40th Birthday. Our triple room was a disgrace. The dust was weeks old, not just days. In desperate need of decorating and updating. We could have put up with that, but the cleanliness was not acceptable by any standards. We asked for the duty manager and were told he was not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank reetb
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear reetb Thank you for your review and please be advised that there has been a response under seperate cover sent, but once again we offer our apologies. Kind Regards

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (168)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.0 km away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#40 of 45 in Chester
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
627 reviews
1.4 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
1,964 reviews
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hallmark Inn Chester is a great value stay in a fabulous position within the historic city of Chester, located two-minutes walk from the train station. The hotel offers a range of comfortable bedrooms and excellent customer service. This Green Tourism Gold Award winning hotel is the perfect venue for coach trips, conferences and meetings. Pay and display parking really close by. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn Chester

Address: 63 City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $77 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and Priceline so you can book your Hallmark Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hallmark Inn Chester staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Leyland, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Preston, United Kingdom
11 months ago
PONTYCLUN
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hallmark Inn Chester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look at a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles davenjay, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 104 nice room but the bedroom above had very squeaky floorboards,also they forgot to empty bins on one day .”
 of 5 bubbles G8484JPmarias, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Hotel is just a stones throw from the station although we didnt hear any trains in the morning the traffic could be heared”
 of 5 bubbles 287denysg, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check the room out first!”
 of 5 bubbles 91elainem, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay at another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles NDrel, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5