We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hallmark Inn Chester

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hallmark Inn Chester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

915 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hallmark Inn Chester
See the most recent reviews
Showing 903: English reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

I have just spent four nights during the week in this hotel as part of a business booking whilst working in Chester. My room was ok, the decor slightly dated and the bathroom was something out of the early 1980s! However whilst it was a bit tired, it was clean and functional. The flatscreen TV was good and the tea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dindda
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear Dindda Thank you for your comprehensive review, myself and my team will look into all of the areas you mentioned and will use your feedback to make sure all areas are improved. We hope you will stay with us again to allow us to provide you with a superior experience. Kind Regards

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016

check in was fine although we came with friends and they had moved them across the road into the queens hotel, which was a bit frustrating. however when getting to the room we discovered that we had been put in a twin room even though we had requested a double, upon speaking to the staff at reception who told us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank makeupqueen89
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear makeupqueen89 I am disappointed to read you had more negatives than positives during your stay. I have passed your points raised to our housekeeping manager to review and check that the toppers are in place for the zip and link beds that are in our rooms. I am pleased to read your comments regarding our staff as we do...

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2016

Great location and friendly staff. Considering the location, right next to the station, the £75 for a twin bed room was quite reasonable. It was clean and tidy and if the rooms were a touch small and the beds a tad hard - hey- what do you expect for £75?

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PJ B
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear PJ B Thank you for your review and hopefully we will welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

Booked two night stay I wished I had looked at reviews first so let that be a lesson to every one Room 230 was my first room small room not nice at all cobwebs hanging off ceiling . Electric cable hanging off wall near kettle . Wall paper over sink looks like some one took a Stanley knife to it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear Nick P Please accept my apologies and I am very disappointed to read your review your stay. I have passed your points raised regarding your room to our maintenance manager to review as this is unacceptable, all of our rooms must be maintained to a professional standard and checked prior to check in. I have also passed your comments...

Wirksworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Stayed at the Westminster at the weekend booked through the Groupon deal. We were happy with the 10 minute walk into the centre of Chester and found the location spot on. Arrived Friday afternoon and were checked in efficiently by the Reception staff. Tickets for the free drinks were given as well as information on breakfast times. We were given...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Karon69
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear Karon69 Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and tank you for your comments, I shall pass these onto the the team. We look forward to welcoming you again to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2016

Arrived at the hotel , which does look very nice downstairs , staff at reception very polite and helpful. However when we saw our room we were disappointed . Room very small and not very clean , there was black mold on the bathroom window , the room looked very tired and needs some TLC . The bathroom window ,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank john h
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear John H Thank you for completing a review following your stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests...

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2016

Booked in Saturday, reception average. Room 2 is awful. It's like they ran out of rooms and stick me in a cupboard. Carpet awful, chipboard furniture, sink cracked, dark and dreary. However, bed comfy, sheets clean, priced cheaply. Tried to have a rest before going out but guys having loud discussion few doors down. Lounge playing music bar showing footy...at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CleighM
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear CleighM Thank you reviewing your recent stay at our property. On behalf of the entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction and comfort is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to make some improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for other guests in...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2016

Stayed here during December 2015, We found the hotel staff very helpful and welcoming. The room was a reasonable standard although bathroom curtains were only net curtains but otherwise good. The bar area was again a good standard with comfortable quiet areas. We had our evening meal elsewhere but breakfast was very good. The hotel could do with some updating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil1161
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear Phil1161 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and we hope you will visit us again in the near future. Kind Regards

Orpington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

Booked this over holiday inn Ellesmere Port. Low price, so I should not have been surprised by felt BW meant it would offer basics. Room smelt if sewage, but they changed room when we complained. They gave us Exec room. This smelt better but was so tired - creaking floors, rusty radiator, basin that took 5 mins to drain and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blueflag2015
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear BlueFlag2015 Please accept my apologies that you didn't enjoy your stay and I am very disappointed to read you had more negatives than positives during your stay. I have passed your points raised regarding your room cleanliness to our housekeeping manager to review as soon as possible. Hopefully you will return once our full refurbishment programme is over allowing...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

We spent Friday and Saturday here on a deal. We enjoyed our stay but this hotel could offer so much more, the bar area was cold and dark with a TV showing darts & no music, we asked the bar man to put some back ground music on. The rooms were OK clean and comfy, it's in a great position...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toddy5156
General M, General Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this review

Dear Toddy5156 Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and your stay, we are happy you enjoyed it and hope you will return again. Kind Regards

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (168)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.0 km away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#41 of 44 in Chester
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
649 reviews
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,575 reviews
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hallmark Inn Chester is a great value stay in a fabulous position within the historic city of Chester, located two-minutes walk from the train station. The hotel offers a range of comfortable bedrooms and excellent customer service. This Green Tourism Gold Award winning hotel is the perfect venue for coach trips, conferences and meetings. Pay and display parking really close by. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn Chester

Address: 63 City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $80 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hallmark Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hallmark Inn Chester staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Leyland, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Preston, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hallmark Inn Chester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 101 was quiet”
crystalle2017, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“find another hotel”
GillianO945, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Wi-fi may be better on lower floors but not sure to be honest.”
grahamb1961, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I would ask for a room with views next time”
I1015NRgarym, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Take some teabags if you like a decent brew!.”
223shirleyw, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5