We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Belgrave

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Belgrave
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Belgrave
See the most recent reviews
Showing 174: English reviews
wigan
Reviewed 24 May 2015

Myself and 5 friends stayed 23 May 2015:and although the hotel is dated the rooms were clean, linen and towels were also clean and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they were very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay very comfortable. Wouldn't hesitate staying again.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kath p
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again

Reviewed 14 May 2015 via mobile

Avoid this hotel I'm in the process of making a claim with my credit card company as Mr Sharma took unauthorised payment and when challenged about became rude and aggressive (very easy to do over the phone doubt he would be face to face) I spoke to a very pleasant and helpful lady called Cathy about the problem and I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Skooby1010
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

We did explain to you on the telephone that money would be taken if you did not cancel the room. We were not advised of any cancellation so we took payment as this is our policy

Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here on the Saturday of the Easter Weekend. We found the staff lovely, so handy for the train station and city centre. We really enjoyed our cooked breakfast in the morning it was lovely and real value for money. We have recommended it to all friends and family and are planning on coming back soon...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessicastewart
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and look forward to seeing you again

Grasmere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2015

After reading other reviews on the belgrave in Chester I was in two minds weather I wanted to stay here.im GLAD I DID. I cant believe half of what people have put on here just to be nasty. I arrived at 2 pm on Saturday and was welcomed with a smile from a lovely lady on reception.my room was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baggy4711
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and hope to see you again

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2015

Located a couple of hundred metres from the station and with on street parking limited to one hour during the day, your faced with a £6 cost for using one of the station car parks. It is a pleasant walk along the canal and through the wall by the cathedral to get into the city. The staff were very pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mgtHants
Reviewed 30 March 2015

All I can say it was disgusting, bathroom carpet was dirty, walls dirty, rude staff when made a polite complaint got told it was our fault things were wrong with room, couldn't wait to leave, won't be staying there again unless it gets new owners and make over

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sparkie25
Reviewed 29 March 2015 via mobile

I have stayed in many hotels and this has got to be the worst. It was awful, there was no mirror in the room, only in the shower room with no plug sockets near by. The shower room had a mouldy stained carpet and the shower was either scolding hot or freezing cold, when I tried to turn the nob...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paula J
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

You get what you pay for at this hotel: it's cheap, very close to the station and has a quirky charm. And cheap. The restaurant and foyer are clean and tidy with lots if painted black beams in the walls and character (which I like). The single room I had was 'compact and bijou' but was sufficient, if slightly garish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S1AX
Penrith
Reviewed 29 January 2015 via mobile

The reviews of this Hotel really upset me. They show no understanding of that very true saying 'you get what you pay for'. I found the hotel to be somewhat better than I expected given the price. I have paid only £2s less for a hostel before! The rating is based on the price and , in terms of value...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom G
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind review. Hope everything went well. Hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 22 December 2014 via mobile

Complete utter disgrace! I would love to no how the local council is allowin this place to trade?? Oh and i will be contacting them. Not going to go in full detail has i am so stressed after the weekend there. The smell was unbelivable. staff!! Well they got a JOB! In a complete hole!! Please dont waste ur hard...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Deakin A

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 km away
Lloyds of Chester
Lloyds of Chester
#44 of 44 in Chester
331 reviews
0.0 km away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#39 of 44 in Chester
913 reviews
9.7 km away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#35 of 44 in Chester
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
1.3 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
649 reviews
0.2 km away
The Ormonde
The Ormonde
#53 of 79 in Chester
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Belgrave

Address: 61 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $74 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Belgrave 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belgrave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Belgrave staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Belgrave staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Internet is not available in all rooms but near the reception on the ground floor.”
jimmyf471, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“go somewhere else”
EdinaCloud, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rear rooms were very quiet”
805christinem805, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“wi fi not availabe in rooms only in the public areas”
Satchel08, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“take ear plugs and ask in plenty of time for aquiet room you may be lucky”
desperate_9, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5