We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Hotels.comUS$83*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,421 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,406: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
 Click to rate
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Room freeezing cold on arrival. Radiator off. Tried to turn on but heating off so had to slerp fully clothed. Big chip also out of bath. Cpmplaoned to receptipn on morning at 8 am and 11.00 both times told no one vto deal with my complaint. Promised an email which was never received! Obvoously don't care about customers.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank osullh
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I booked a double room for 2 nights as was attending Chester Races. I was allocated room 118 "studio room" which when I entered I found was actually a disability room which I had not requested nor did I require. I was told that I could not change rooms...great! If I could have changed hotels I would but cost prevented...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracey F
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel in good location just off freeway and adjacent to bus stop into the city. As with other Mercure properties in England our room upgrade is not to a larger size room, only robe and slippers and Nespresso,however Lisa was very efficient and offered to us the Too of the room suite for 20 pound. This room met all our...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 524phillipo
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Dinner £110 This included calamari, very boring and plain Thai curry with no bean sprouts , no bamboo shoots, rice was not jasmine as advertised, I had a burger, passable, Bottle of Pinot Cheese board three cheeses two of which we think we're the same, and two glasses of Rioja at £12 each, Room was fine just don't eat at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stopped for 1 night with my wife. Great deal for £99. Dinner for 2 and breakfast as well as bottle of wine in the room. Used the pool and sauna/steam room a couple of times. Overall a clean hotel, easy check in, use of the spa and pool. Food was good. Drinks at bar on the expensive side, £13 for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ianmcgawley
Stratford On Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice room, plenty of space. I had booked the other Mecure in Chester by error, thinking that I had booked this one as it was on my way home after a shopping trip at Cheshire Oaks. Fortunately for my party we were met by Lisa on reception who was more than helpful, who contacted the other Mecure Hotel and explained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy S
Bethan J, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mandy, Thank you so much for your lovely review! I am glad we were able to assist and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Lisa will be very pleased she was able to help - me too! I hope you will visit us again very soon, Kind regards, Bethan Johnston General Manager

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for 1 night and there is very little to fault. Check in was quick and easy. The lady who served us told us where everything was, and about the leisure facilities. We used the pool and hot tub which was lovely. Was very quiet when we went so mainly had the pool to ourselves. Ordered room service which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Polly W
Bethan J, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Polly, Thank you for your 5 star review and for all your positive feedback. It sounds like you had a lovely break away. I am pleased my team looked after you and that you enjoyed the food. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Bethan Johnston General Manager

Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I recently visited Chester on the occasion of my son's 21st birthday (who is at the University). Unfortunately, the date co-incided with the first day of Chester races hence the rather over priced room rate which I thought was rather unfair. The hotel is comfortable if not slightly tired. The bar prices are expensive. The staff are extremely courteous and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bull20
Bethan J, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bull20, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to the hotel. Chester during the May races certainly does result in higher rates due to overwhelming demand, however there are still good deals to be had. If you are visiting again next year, or before, feel free to contact us direct and see what...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Overnight stay, 10 min taxi drive to town centre. Comfortable hotel, decor a bit old but good amenities and a terrific garden. Very good breakfast. An ideal wedding venue. Staff very helpful with good interpersonal skills. Ample parking and cold fruit flavoured water at reception was most welcomed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hermione M
Bethan J, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hermione, Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review following you stay. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed breakfast and the garden and that you found my team to be very helpful. Kind regards, Bethan Johnston General Manager

Manchester
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having read some of the previous reviews of this hotel I was somewhat unsure. I need not have been. I booked Sunday night into Monday, booked half board as I could not be bothered going into Chester town centre to eat at night, plus I wanted to use the Hotel facilities to the full. Agreed that Sunday will be more...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank manchestermondeo
Bethan J, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review

Dear manchestermondeo, What a lovely review, thank you so much! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and used all the facilities we have to offer whilst you were here and had a trip into the beautiful city of Chester. Thank you for your kind comments about my team, I am very aware they are my greatest...

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (115)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
3.1 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#26 of 44 in Chester
2,024 reviews
3.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,597 reviews
2.4 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
2.5 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.6 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Modern Hotel in spacious grounds located in quiet suburb overlooking famous Abbots Well. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Address: Whitchurch Road | Christleton, Chester CH3 5QL, England (Formerly Ramada Jarvis Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $115 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Chester
Chester Ramada
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chester
#12 Business Hotel in Chester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Grasonville, Maryland, United States
over a year ago
3 months ago
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Blackpool, United Kingdom
9 months ago
birkenhead
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upstairs, and dont choose a "studio room" as very basic”
TraceyF127, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Good size rooms, good size family bathroom”
mandys863, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at rear will overlook the fields.”
manchestermondeo, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Go to another hotel”
BathBunn, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to deluxe room try and get a dinner deal”
Danwalsall, 2 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$83* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$83
AMOMAUS$166
Expedia.comUS$83
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates