We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pied Bull Inn

PricelineUS$68*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$80*
US$68*
US$80*
US$68*
US$80*
US$68*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Pied Bull Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

556 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Pied Bull Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 552: English reviews
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Firstly.. This pub is a good pub... It's got it's own brewery on site and the black bull is a sublime pint. My biggest gripe with the place is one simple thing, if you drink here after dark, it's like having a pint in your fluorescent bulbed kitchen at home... It has no atmosphere as a consequence...If they changed this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheCestrianBloke
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed our award winning porter. In terms of lighting it is a great idea that you suggested but due to the age of our building and some features being uneven we keeps the lights on for health and safety precautions. That being said i would like to...

Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Love the beer garden ,superb ,could do with an extra waiter for drinks not just for food ,being disabled would be a great bonus ,not just for me but for all customers ,what would it take for one of the bar staff to come around and ask ,if you would like another drink ,benefits larou D customers and the pub!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Howard C
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and of course your feedback. We like to have positive feedback so that we can discuss it and improve our business so i would like to thank you for that. We at the Pied Bull are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Stayed here in a twin room with a friend ideal location . Only point is the stairs i had specifically stated a first floor room wasnt booked that way luckily they did change it for us and after that the place was clean beer garden beautiful asset and staff friendly. Would definitely stay there again .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased that we were able to switch your room to accommodate you. I am pleased that you would visit us again and we look forward to seeing you next time you do come.

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Bang in the centre of Chester, this location was perfect for our stay. The staff in the pub were welcoming and very pleasant throughout our stay. However we were in room 17 on the ground floor next to what was described as a quiet side street, which for two of our three nights it was but the third night it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SB51GAB
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback that you have provided to us. I am very pleased that the Pied Bull team were very accommodating upon your stay. Unfortunately from reading this i notice that you didnt have the best nights sleep which i presume was another resident trying to find there bedroom. I can only apologize that you were...

Newcastleton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We called for a drink and found a gem, clean, attentive staff and a good drink. Liked it so much we went back the next day, and as its a brewery as well we tasted a couple of the brews, lovely, no expert but tasted nice. Just like being in a very clean pub.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theportmans
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review. I am very pleased that you got to experience some of our home brewed real ales and found them enjoyable. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Chester.

Wales
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Stayed as part of a bridal party. Staff serving food.in the evening were lovely and efficient. Rooms were beautiful however extremely hot- fans were provided in some rooms but not all. The rooms facing the front were also extremely loud with people outside and traffic. Very lovely place however I do feel it is rather expensive for what it is,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E2401
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time spent with us. Due to the age of the building we do our best to inform people of front road noise in particular rooms via our website, it is also mentioned upon check in. With the heat we also do our best to provide customers with fans...

Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Regret choosing it Hot stuffy room they called a double small cramped my husband very tall banged head on beams not enough milk coffee tea in room Food over priced lots of steep bumpy stairs need to be careful using them Also out by ten on a bank hol is a bit tight

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moduar
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we appreciate it as always. I am sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy your visit with us at the Pied Bull. As you are probably aware the Pied Bull is the oldest coaching house in Chester so we pride ourselves in keeping features original such as the stairs leading to the bedrooms and the...

Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and stayed in the family deluxe room. The rooms were beautiful and pristine especially the large bathroom. The food is delicious and the staff are lovely. The prices to stay here are very reasonable. I Will definitely be staying there again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte87xx
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review we at the Pied Bull really appreciate it. I am happy that our Pied Bull team made your stay with us enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Very enjoyable stay here last May my wife and I stopped here for 2 nights. Very interesting old pub that brews its own ale!! The only regret I have is I missed the quiz night as it seemed brilliant!!! We had breakfast included which was nice and it's nicely located jus out the centre for it being quiet at night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karlos S
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your visit with us at the Pied Bull and found us to be in a convenient location within the city center. We hope to see you again soon.... But be sure not to miss out on the quiz next time.

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

We visited the Pied Bull for lunch recently during a visit to Chester. We had been before and had enjoyed the beers from their brewery. These did not disappoint. The food was not as good as I remember. My husband had 16-hour braised shin of beef which he said was very good. It came with carrots and potatoes and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boaterlady
davep08475, Manager at Pied Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback. I am very happy that you came back to visit us and i hope that you will again so that next time you have food here you can leave happy and pleased with your dining experience. I can only apologize that the nicoise salad was not up to the standard that we aim...

214 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (60)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.9 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,052 reviews
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.6 km away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
1,087 reviews
0.5 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Pied Bull Inn

Address: Northgate Street, Chester, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $127 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pied Bull Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Pied Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pied Bull Hotel Chester
Pied Bull Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pied Bull Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
uk
over a year ago
11 months ago
Lincoln, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Pied Bull Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only dined here”
807shellyf, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“do not get a front room as it's very noisy at night (I stayed at #9).”
dianek159, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a bigger double room in the main pub”
Papagayo12, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check it has been cleaned thoroughly”
Unhappy276, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay in room 9.”
kimbobl81, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$68* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$68
TripAdvisorUS$68
Expedia.comUS$80
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates