We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Innkeeper\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton
See the most recent reviews
Showing 225: English reviews
newcastle - UK
Reviewed 27 December 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Chesire Cat for two nights as part of a Xmas shopping trip to Chester. The pub / restaurant was very nice. A cosy setting with a good menu and bar. The accommodation was a big let down. Although the price was fairly good value for our two night stay I was left disappointed by the standard of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonnyaves
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Cheshire Cat, Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.

derbyshire
Reviewed 24 November 2014

Just arrived home from a 2 day break for my husbands birthday, we didn't want to come home. The room was very spacious, spotlessly clean and warm. Coffee and tea facilities & the toiletries were great, all in all could not fault one thing. We walked into Chester on both days which took around 40mins, lovely walk and we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bevnrich
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear that you found The Cheshire Cat, Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.

Singapore
Reviewed 12 November 2014 via mobile

Love the fact that there are only 14 rooms, which makes the place cosier than most. The excellent service stood out for me - especially when helping me to decide on which whisky! I love the home-made fish pie - prepared with lotsa love! Room is spacious enough to accommodate a family of 4 so that's lovely!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pongster
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to The Cheshire Cat, Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton and I have shared your comments with all the team. We have replied to you personally and look forward to taking care of you again soon.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 November 2014

Very welcoming staff on arrival, which continued in the bar and restaurant throughout two day stay. Impressed by large room / bathroom out in the annex very clean and comfortable. Intentions of walking by the canal for catherdral graduation cermony, but plan B was nearby park and ride due to heavy rain. Return leg took approximately 35 mins walking back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clive j
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton, responded to this review

May we thank you for your review, as we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Cheshire Cat, Innkeeper's Lodge Chester. We have replied to you personally and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Wirral
Reviewed 8 November 2014

We stay quite often especially during the winter months as they have lovely roaring fires. The food is excellent as are the staff, they are polite helpful and will accommodate most wishes which we find very considerate. We always stay in the same room which is 7 Outside and have always found it clean and comfortable. We look forward to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jchall2008
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Cheshire Cat, Innkeeper's Lodge Chester and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.

Preston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2014

This was a nice hotel, the service was good, the food was good and it was reasonably priced. The only thing that let it down was the continental breakfast, the choice was limited and there was no cheese or meat available. I would stay here again and recommend the place, but I would probably upgrade to the full english.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton, responded to this review

May we thank you for your review, as we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Cheshire Cat, Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton. We have replied to you personally and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2014

Booked just the one night,to do some shopping,booked a table for 7 pm,food was lovely,a few drinks after,before retiring to bed,Got up early as we had booked a train to Liverpool to see a show, The waitress at breakfast told us it would be easier by taxi and cheaper,thanks for the advice,returned that evening to pick up the car to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenniferroberts
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Cheshire Cat, Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2014

Our second visit to the Cheshire Cat and equally as good as the first.The staff are very welcoming and obliging. The inn is in a great spot, right next to the canal and the walk to Chester along the canal path is lovely.( about 3 miles). There is also a Park and Ride about half a mile away, as an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2,927,316
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Cheshire Cat, Innkeeper's Lodge Chester and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.

Conwy
Reviewed 19 October 2014

Stayed for one night, the room in the annex was lovely, went for a nice walk along the canal. We had dinner at the Cheshire Cat which was excellent, breakfast was good too. We will certain go again, my only request would be for softer pillows.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaneConwy
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Cheshire Cat, Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton . Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2014

We had fantastic service at the Cheshire cat.Nothing was too much trouble. We were staying there overnight because our daughter was getting married the next day, they made sure that our daughter had a room big enough to have her hair and make up done and told us we could stay there as late as needed.The evening meal was lovely,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonia m
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton, responded to this review

We are so pleased to hear that you found The Cheshire Cat, Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
33.3 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach Homes Chapel
3.8 km away
Grosvenor Place Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Rowton Court Hotel
Rowton Court Hotel
#34 of 79 in Chester
86 reviews
3.4 km away
Chester House Guest House
3.0 km away
Roseville Bed & Breakfast
Roseville Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 79 in Chester
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Of all the places to stay in Chester, this historic lodge has some of the best tales to tell. Built in Christleton on a key civil war battle site, the Cheshire Cat played a crucial role in World War II before being restored as a warm and welcoming hotel in the 1970s.The lodge's 14 comfy en-suite rooms are complemented by a cosy pub, which is dripping with rustic character and rural charm. Here you can enjoy seasonally inspired country dining together with a range of cask ales and well-chosen wines.There are plenty of things to see and do in Chester. Fantastic shopping, black and white medieval architecture, historic city walls and the famous Chester Racecourse are just a few of its many attractions. Children and adults alike will love Chester zoo or you can explore the weaving footpaths of the unspoilt Delamere Forest. West Cheshire is full of rolling hills, sweeping valleys and quaint market towns worth exploring. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton

Address: Whitchurch Road | The Cheshire Cate, Christleton, Chester CH3 6AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $107 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheshire Cat Hotel Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Innkeeper's Lodge Chester, Christleton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 5 has a small window which could be an issue in summer, there is no window in the bathroom.”
BMBGLB, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 5 has extra stairs up to room. Rooms 1 - 5 are above the bar so are accessed via stairs. Also in room 5, Mind You Head! Low Ceilings.”
, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do NOT accept a grond floor room. No 6 is particularly bad if the upper rooms are occupied”
clark249, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 14 is at the end of a row of rooms, the furthest from the adjoining pub and situated next to the canal.”
jameswI8473OX, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms inside are slightly bigger but all rooms comfortable.”
ell_son10, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5