We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crowne Plaza Chester

Show Prices
#11 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Chester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,558 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Chester
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,526: English reviews
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2015 via mobile

We recently stayed here for about the 5th or 6th time, always for short breaks away to recharge! Excellent location right in the city centre, ideal for shopping or just wandering. We always book an executive room with access to the club lounge. This is so relaxing and the inclusive drinks and canapés in the evening are really good value...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MicknSarah
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I appreciate that you keep choosing us when returning to Chester, it shows our team is doing a good a good job in consistently delivering great customer service. We are looking forward to see you again next time. Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Reviewed 28 October 2015 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, staff extremely friendly. Rooms were spacious and comfortable! I can recommend the food, we had room service and there was plenty of choice, delivered hot to the room and was delicious! Had a lovely night sleep and a fab day walking around the gorgeous Chester town the next day!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Youngmumandwife
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It's lovely to see you've had an amazing Chester city break with us. I will pass your kind comments to our food and beverage team, they will surely appreciate. I hope you'll return again soon. Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2015

We had two nights here last week. Great time. Rooms were superb, wifi in room to. We are HIG members and they had a lounge for us to use with free drinks all day and evening. The ambience of the hotel is super. Restaurant was superb. Food excellent. Staff very friendly. Ok have to pay £7-50 a day to park...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. Thank you for your loyalty and I am glad you have managed to advantage of our executive lounge too. Looking forward to see you again soon! Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Lower Compton
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Arrived Friday afternoon with my fiancé to be met by a fabulous member of staff on the front desk her name was Kerry and she couldn't have been anymore helpful. Asked if we had time to look round Chester gave us a map and guide, recommended a fabulous restaurant Siam Tepan-Yaki and that certainly lived up to expectations. After unpacking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miggins90
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It's always amazing to see a review like yours, many thanks for taking the time to share it. The staff members you mention will be delighted to know they have done so well when I pass on your compliments. We will be happy to welcome you again next time you're in Chester. Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Birmingham
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Very pleasantly surprised when arriving at this hotel. The hotel is so easy to find, car parking and check in was a breeze. We had a super king room (room 149) and the bed was very impressive, huge in fact. The room was immaculate with nice little touches, tea, coffee, hot chocolate a nice selection of biscuits, sparkling and still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jetsetter073
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your superb review, it sounds like the only downside to your stay was the pillows. We do provide softer and even feather pillows at request so please do not hesitate to let us know next time you're staying with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations manager

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

Booked last minute to come for a surprise for my boyfriends birthday, when we got to check in the receptionist had upgraded our room and gave us some chocolates and two free drinks at the bar because he saw it was his birthday. The facilities are very good, I had a very comfy undisturbed sleep in a lovely room. Wish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missrpotter
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your fantastic review and thank you for choosing us to celebrate this special occasion. I am glad we did not disappoint, and hopefully we will see you again shortly! Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2015

Stayed here for two nights lovely hotel. The staff were very friendly the rooms were spotlessly clean with everything you need. Excellent breakfast and service. Shops bars and restaurants all within walking distance. A very enjoyable visit would definitely visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linda s
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It's great to see you were impressed by our location and that you appreciated so many aspects of our hotel. Thank you for considering returning in the future, you will not be disappointed. Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager

Toulouse, France
Reviewed 23 October 2015

I liked the place. The reception is inpeccable even if there is a waiting line at 8pm. Clientele is mainly business customers. The bar and lounge are rather relaxed and confy. really appreciated the Plaza burger even if we had to wait more than hour for it :) They were aware it and offered us the drinks as compensation. On...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PewdiPie
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind review. It goes to show that our guests appreciate the effort our team is putting into making everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible. Thank you for understanding that even when things go a little bit wrong we do everything we can to turn it around, and I am glad we managed to do...

Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2015 via mobile

This hotel was suppose to be a carefree break away, it turned into a nightmare and I would never use this hotel ever again and will be contacting the chains head office. We were promised a room of decent size with nice views, what we got was a rabbit hutch sized room overlooking the car park. We where then given...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jasonml1973
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am very disappointed that we have clearly failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. We would like to think we offer competitively sized bedrooms however due to our city centre location this comes with certain limitations. In regards to our breakfast times we offer an extended breakfast until 11.30am only on...

Leek, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2015

We stayed in this Chester Hotel for 3 nights again as it suits our needs and is extremely close to the town centre and convenient for all areas. Check in was swift and efficient as always. The staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient. The room and public places were clean well lit and gave a warm feeling. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive S
gm_cpchester, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Chester, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What a fantastic review! Thank you for sharing it here. I am glad we got it right, and you won't regret choosing us again next time you are in Chester. Kind regards, Peter Gregory Operations Manager

367 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (56)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (107)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,987 reviews
1.2 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
8.1 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.4 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
1,969 reviews
0.8 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Chester, perfectly located on the edge of the city with panoramic views of the city and Welsh hills. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting all the historic sites of Chester, including the Roman walls, amphitheatre and Chester Cathedral. Renowned not only for its Roman heritage but also for its beautiful architecture, the shopping rows' many restaurants and inns are all just minutes from the hotel. With 160 bedrooms featuring stylish decor and amenities, with an option of upgrading to our club rooms, some with stunning views overlooking the famous Chester Racecourse and the Welsh hills. All bedrooms are fully air conditioned with elegant fabrics and furnishings creating a calm yet fresh environment. Crowne Plaza Chester is the number one choice in Chester whether you are here for business or pleasure. The hotel has a varied selection of conference and meeting rooms (11 in total) many with natural daylight, which can accommodate from 600 to as few as 4 guests. The Kings Suite interlinks to the Chester and Malpas Suite to give an ideal venue for exhibitions or large social events. Our dedicated conference team will ensure events run smoothly from the start. Our Club Moativation Health & Fitness Club including indoor heated pool, 24hr room service, onsite car parking and all areas of the hotel fully equipped with wireless internet makes us the perfect place to stay when visiting Chester. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Chester

Address: Trinity Street, Chester CH1 2BD, England (Formerly Chester Moat House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $156 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Chester 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crowne Plaza Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Chester Hotel Chester
Chester Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Chester
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Chester staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
Leigh, United Kingdom
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
6 days ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Chester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't think the location of the room has any benefits/drawbacks”
 of 5 bubbles barney1954, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were on the first floor and it was nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles susanj813, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher the better, views are great! There are plenty of rooms so maybe say something if you're put in the disabled room.”
 of 5 bubbles Gazza346, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“As a Chester resident I cannot comment about the bedrooms but the public rooms are of a good quality.”
 of 5 bubbles Clynnog, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the rooms on the race course side have the best views”
 of 5 bubbles caravan3838, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5