We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ye Olde King's Head

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ye Olde King\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

387 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ye Olde King's Head
See the most recent reviews
Showing 384: English reviews
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

The staff at this hotel made the stay enjoyable otherwise we would have been disappointed. The room was clean but exceptionally noisy with traffic all through the night and only single glazing. The bathroom window would not shut and looked as though it hadn't been finished with no blinds or curtains. The shower had inadequate flow and you couldn't get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anitad168
OldeKingsHeadChester, Manager at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this review

Hi anitad168 Thank you for reviewing Ye olde kings head. We appreciate any feedback from customers, I'm glad to know the staff made your stay enjoyable, we pride ourselves on good customer service and I'm pleased to know the staff delivered on this. In regards to your other comments, water pressure is a constant problem for us, but being a...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Renouned for being one of UK's most haunted Inn's, boasting 13 active spirits in 6 of the 8 rooms. The booking was a last minute booking through Booking.com. The rooms look amazing from the pictures, very warm and welcoming..I'll book here I thought... Arrived at the hotel, greeted by Damien at the bar and shown us to the room...I must...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AbsentDave
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Let me tell you first what they get right at the Kings Head. The cooked breakfast was exactly what I would have expected: piping hot, well cooked, well-presented, delicious and prompt. The ensuite room was clean and warm and with the breakfast included made for a very good value night's stay. A friendly welcome and helpful staff made for an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
OldeKingsHeadChester, Manager at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this review

Hi Andrew F Thanks for taking the time to review Ye olde kings head. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, especially your comments about the breakfast and the service from the staff. We are always striving to improve the hotel and I take on board your comments about the wifi and decor. We look forward to...

Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017

So glad we called in at The Old Kings Head for lunch the building is very old but welcoming,it was warm and cosy with a pleasant dining area.our food was very good especially the steak pie which was accompanied by a selection of vegetables and home made chunky chips.The staff were very welcoming and service was very good I look...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
OldeKingsHeadChester, Manager at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this review

Hello Mark, Thank you very much for your lovely review of our inn. Its great to hear how much you enjoyed your meals with us and also the service. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Boyd

Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We stayed for a couple of nights between Christmas and New Year. Parts of the stay were excellent, other parts not so good. Good points: - Building is fabulous, full of character and old world charm - Staff are very friendly and helpful - Location, right in the centre of Chester about a hundred yards from the shops Disappointments: -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anne M
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Beautiful, half-timbered building with friendly, knowledgeable staff who run it and the tavern on the ground floor. The hallways, etc. are of course old with wonky angles and a bit narrow; this is good if you're into old buildings but not if you like new, modern places. We like old buildings, and this was very cozy and charming. There are,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cassandra D
OldeKingsHeadChester, Manager at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this review

Hello Cassandra, Thank you very much for your review of Ye Olde Kings Head. Its always a pleasure to hear that people have enjoyed their stay with us. We always strive to keep things as authentic as possible whilst still offering modern amenities. i will be sure to pass on your compliments to the rest of the staff and we...

crewe
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

SUPER service very helpful and the food and beer where good price and very good quality will definitely be back. We had the beef burger and a couple of pints of Guinness also a tea, latte and a sticky toffee pudding for the driver.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Swob T
OldeKingsHeadChester, Manager at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this review

Hello Swob T, Thank you very much for your review of the kings head. Its always a pleasure to hear that people plan to return to us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best, Boyd

Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

A Staff are lovely. Hotel is small and quirky. Lovely and cosy had a great nights sleep. No sign of a ghost or if there was it must of been a friendly one! Breakfast which was included was delicious. Partner a veggie and his breakfast was fantastic according to him. Definitely worth a visit and will be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
OldeKingsHeadChester, Manager at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this review

Hello Laura, Thank you very much for your review of the Kings Head! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return, Cheers, Boyd

South Wales
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

I ate here today after walking the walls of Chester. We had steak pie, fish and chips and chicken burger. Exceptional food with a lovely roaring log fire. A great start to my Christmas eve stroll / drink around Chester.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeCfromEngland
OldeKingsHeadChester, Manager at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this review

Hello Mike, Thank you for your review, it's always a joy to hear that people have enjoyed their visits to our inn. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the chefs. Cheers, Boyd

Reviewed 20 December 2016

The staff are fab and the food delicious comfortable clean and great atmosphere beware of old beams tho specially when having a few to many lol local to every thing shops and restaurants recommend this stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
OldeKingsHeadChester, Manager at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this review

Hello Donna, Thank you for your review of our inn. I will pass on your compliments to both the front of house staff and to the chefs. Hopefully see you again soon, Cheers, Boyd

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
1,987 reviews
0.1 km away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 45 in Chester
1,033 reviews
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
614 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.5 km away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kings Head is a traditional Inn built in 1622 on the west side of Lower Bridge Street. The Inn is a few minutes walk down hill from the Cross. The name refers to when King Charles stayed at the nearby Gamul House during the English Civil War. Since buying the business in March 2012 the current owners have spent thousands of pounds trying to bring the Ye Olde Kings Head back to it's former glory. In November 2012, the property had an extensive refurbishment throughout the bar and restaurant areas, every ensuite bathroom was also replaced and redecorated to a high standard. There are currently three completed refurbished rooms, by mid December 2013 they expect every bedroom to be finished. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ye Olde King's Head

Address: 48-50 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Price Range: $112 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde King's Head 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ye Olde King's Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde King`s Head Hotel Chester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ye Olde King's Head staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Herts
Wigan, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Ye Olde King's Head staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Even though we had a road-facing room there was little noise at night.”
 of 5 bubbles StephenV97, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a front room and were not bothered by noise at all.”
 of 5 bubbles _b_durbar48, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“this is a civil war aged inn, all the rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles mick8620uk, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Be careful if above average height, low beams!”
 of 5 bubbles r0bb029, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't have a front room which overlooks the road.”
 of 5 bubbles anitad168, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5