We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Great Western Hotel

Cliff Road Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE England
Visit hotel website
E-mail hotel
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Room Service
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Wheelchair Access
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Ocean View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Price:10% off room rate
Location
Full view
98Great for walkers
Grade: 98 out of 100
191Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
36Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews (1,012)
Filter reviews
990 results
Traveller rating
426
330
131
53
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
426
330
131
53
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews premium room steam bar sea view overflow car park parking space cornish breakfast per day fantastic views booked this hotel water pressure lovely room stayed here for one night fish and chips lick of paint the cliff comfy bed tolcarne beach
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 990 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have spent several lunchtimes and evenings here , sometimes with food and sometimes food and drink , the location is second to none with easy access from the main road and sitting on the clifftop between two beaches. The menu changes regularly and the specials...More

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Yamy66
Hotel's Favourite
Reviewed May 18, 2018 via mobile

Staying here for 3 nights away with my partner . Havent been dissapointed , greeted with friendly staff where nothing was too much hassle , the room we have booked is a delight the bed one of the comfiest i have had , the sea...More

Date of stay: May 2018
1  Thank TheFoodie1989
Response from BDMay, General Manager at Great Western HotelResponded July 28, 2018

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our premium and superior rooms have lovely coastal views and handmade Vi-Spring beds, which are regularly commented upon by guests. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a last minute get away as a mini Honeymoon as my new husband is I'll so we can't go far or for long. Great room thou will be upgrading to their top room next time. Amazing sea views. Staff above and beyond what you...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank eddyeddedd
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had rooms overlooking the sea.Great views.Rooms were clean and functional with a kettle and teas and coffee.Always a life saver! The beds were exceptionally comfortable and the place was quiet at night.We didn't try the breakfast or dinner but it looked good.Staff were friendly...More

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank andrewhS1865IS
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights - the room was a standard and fairly small. We were in a room that looked out to the back of the hotel and sleep was disturbed by door banging from early morning. Creaky floor boards and the heating was too...More

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank CoopsnCookie
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
manicparrot1979
May 31, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from HobbitHJ | Reviewed this property |
It does have a lift on one side of the hotel which serves quite a few rooms, however alot of the rooms are via stairways. They are very good at accommodating wheel chairs etc so if restricted I'd ring and book or state you... More
1
Vote
nessy1954
September 19, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Archy28 | Reviewed this property |
Pub next door associated with the hotel.
1
Vote
Tabs2000
I left a review pointing out the terrible view from our room during our stay and you have pointed out that these are your lowest rooms and they are advertised as such regarding the views of staff quarters or the main road and we were offered a £30 upgrade for a costal view. Now I see you are quick to defend your hotel but could you point me in the direction as to where this is advertised on booking. Also in terms of what we were offered I put that in my review we were offered to upgrade the main issue was the lack of customer service from your front of house, it was basically computer says no with blank stares. My review was honest and I felt you only acknowledged the part where you could make it appear that you had offered a resolution. No your hotel didn't offer a resolution, I would have happily cancelled and had a refund, that wasn't offered and as I pointed out I feel these rooms are booked on a pre paid basis and non refundable because of the poor standard and the room does not reflect any photos that you advertise it as whether it's your lowest room or not.
September 4, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Mr_ben_83 |
Could have been worse, we paid for an upgrade (£40) only to find an attic room with a small window that overlooked the beach. Admittedly the view was nice but you had to go to the corner of the room to be able to see out... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"dont take 221 unless the guttering is fixed"
CoopsnCookie
4 weeks ago
Read review
"Don't expect good views with the basic rooms, go for the premium room although it may cost a little more"
docchiki
Oct. 2, 2018
Read review
"Ask for room 112"
Saintsfa
Oct. 1, 2018
Read review
"Choose the top range room."
_tonyshepherd2010
Sep. 9, 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$44 - US$119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
great western hotel newquaygreat western newquayhotel great western
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNewquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
64
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing