We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Great Western Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

776 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Great Western Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 758: English reviews
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2016

We have stayed at the great western a few times this time (March 2016) my partner was taken poorly the staff helped with ambulance, reassurance everything and on our return 1 day later they had upgraded us to a peaceful sea view room so great western staff thanks your all stars

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We all hope that your partner is feeling better. We are so pleased that you appreciated everyone’s support when you needed it, when someone is a guest in the hotel we firmly believe that we treat them as we would a member of our own family or a...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

The staff were really friendly and location was great, just across the road from the train station which was great after our long journey. The room had a really nice sea view, only downfall was it was so hot in the room and throughout the whole hotel but was nice to have the window open and listen to the sea....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georginacolombo
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We had a really busy Easter as the road to the beach re-opened on Good Friday and it was fantastic for the team to see the restaurant full again. I am pleased you were able to enjoy the terrace, the weather let us down a little, although it was beautiful on the...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Booked in February for a 4 day break on 17 March. Phoned hotel direct as i wanted to book a specific room. Told by receptionist this room was available and wouldn't be a problem. Arrived at hotel to be told i had been given a totally different room on a different floor. Room turned out to be ok but not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dannyman2015
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dannyman, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry we were unable to give you your requested room, we do try to allocate a requested room wherever possible, but on some occasions due to maintenance issues or a previous guest extending their stay, it is not possible, apologies if you were not advised of...

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2016

First time being at cornwall.. was given a lovely size room, staff was all friendly from check in to check out, really helpful. Bed was really comfy, we did not try food from here as we eat out the two nights we stayed here, amazing view! Would stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank misstflannigan
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, hopefully this will not be your only visit to Cornwall. The beds in our premium and superior rooms are handmade in Plymouth, and many guests comment on how comfortable they are. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Manchester England
Reviewed 14 March 2016

This was our 2nd time at this hotel and we was lucky enough to be given a free upgrade to room 217 which is 'The Honeymoon Suite' The room was quite large with 1 lovely big window which gave the room a great deal of light. Also a side window. The Bathroom was big with a full size bath and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josephine31
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with again. Room 217 does have an exceptionally good panoramic view, with the harbour, Great Western Beach and the coastline to the east all visible from the windows. Many of our guests in this room choose to have breakfast in their room and sit in the window watching the day unfold below....

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2016

What a pleasureable experience from check in to check out we had a lovely room, bed was specially comfy, we had 1 evening meal which was lovely and breakfast for 3 days which was very good quality and service from staff was outstanding.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beverly J
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The team here work hard to ensure our guests have great service throughout their stay and it is always lovely to receive a review that shows we have succeeded. I am please you liked the breakfast, we cook it freshly with local ingredients and we believe it does make a...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile

I will just let the photos do the talking Luckily we recieved a refund But after emailing the management as requested by receptionist we haven't had a direct response from them. Dirty sheets, iron burns in carpet, horrible furniture, dirty kettle, dirty phone Just horrible

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrsWilliams1987
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our housekeeping team work diligently to ensure the highest levels of cleanliness in our rooms and I’m sorry you feel we did not achieve the standard you required. The linen on our beds is freshly laundered and changed during a guests stay, we have arranged to replace the...

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with my partner in February. Check in was great, also parking at the hotel was nice an easy for £5. Location is great only a few minutes walk from the town. We stayed in the premium room which was recently refurbished and was great. Everything was new. Bed was so comfortable and the sea view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fordy2001
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

It seems from your review that you had a lovely stay with us. We enjoy a great location, close to Newquay town centre, but still relatively quiet. Our premium rooms are have been refurbished to a high standard and have coastal views of the harbour, coastline, sea or beach, all have handmade Vi-Spring beds. We do provide toiletries in the...

Daventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2016

I came back here again and the views are spectacular and the food great. I always come to this hotel as it is very friendly and has the big screen for the rugby. Well situated for the coast path which I love exploring

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris504019
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us again, we are always thrilled to welcome back previous guests, it confirms to us that we are getting it right! This year the big screen has already been busy with the rugby, and will also be showing the European football tournament and coverage of the Queen’s 90th birthday celebrations – something for everyone. If...

Great Finborough, Suffolk
Reviewed 3 March 2016

had a fantastic 2 night stay, my wife and i relaxed to the max. Staff were friendly and very helpful, food was fresh and delicious and the sea view was awesome, especially at dawn and dusk - Fantastic

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iain P
BDMay, General Manager at Great Western Hotel, responded to this review

You clearly had a lovely time! We love to get reviews with adjectives like fantastic and awesome. We are lucky to work in such an amazing part of the country, and when we have guests that share our enthusiasm it just makes it even better. If you are looking for an excuse to stay again, the sunsets in June and...

489 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (257)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Other (95)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (165)
Viewed
Bridal - Honeymoon Suite (23)
Viewed
Premium Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (19)
Viewed
Superior Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.0 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 38 in Newquay
1,254 reviews
0.2 km away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.6 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.5 km away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#9 of 38 in Newquay
855 reviews
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Price Range: $63 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, UK - Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#16 Family Hotel in Newquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Great Western Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Great Western Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Talk to the reception team before you book - they couldn't be more helpful”
 of 5 bubbles davidwenban2017, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a sea view!”
 of 5 bubbles LynnM2012, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back overlooking the sea are the best rooms.”
  • A great way to spend Valentine's Day 2017
 of 5 bubbles armchairlfc, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“It is worth paying the extra to get a sea view”
  • Wonderful view from our room
 of 5 bubbles RJonesy_78, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The sea view rooms are quiet, freshly decorated and have views of the bay.”
 of 5 bubbles jellyfish_7, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5