We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Barrowfield Hotel

Show Prices
#11 of 39 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Barrowfield Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

705 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Barrowfield Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 704: English reviews
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Was given a double bedroom which we were told when we booked that you would be able to get a travel cot in, yes you would get it in but could not walk around the bed. They supplied a travel cot but was not suitable for a child to sleep in as the base had no padding what so ever....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank clarelou123
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Barrowfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Barrowfield Hotel. In response to your comments: After the initial complaint about the travel cot we bought 2 new travel cots and replaced it with one of these. We do not provide bedding for travel cots as it can leave us liable if anything happens to the child. We...

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We visited the hotel for a week. We were in room 309 which was a family room. Unfortunately they had put the kids bed right under a window that pushes and opens outwards and a child could easily climb up on the bed and onto the windowsill and fall out 3 storeys up! Luckily our little lad is 7 and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Spirabelle
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Barrowfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Barrowfield Hotel. Please accept our apologies for the layout of the bedroom and bathroom. We do have an on going maintenance programme to keep the fixtures and fittings up to standards and I will make sure that the hotel are aware of the issues you found in your room....

Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in, my room was shabby and run down as is the whole place. Food was terrible. My stay was part of a coach trip and most of our group felt the same. Glad to go home. (NEVER AGAIN)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Basil S
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Barrowfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read now that you did not enjoy your stay at the Barrowfield Hotel and hope that you made the team aware of your issues during your stay.

Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

As a family of four we stayed at the barrowfield hotel for a week and had a very enjoyable stay. The staff are very friendly, the bar, pool, dining room etc very good, the rooms are basic but very clean, the parking is limited but on road parking can be found about 50 yards away, the local is also excellent,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon N
Lisa B, Guest Relations Manager at Barrowfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of your stay at the Barrowfield Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Value for money stay with Daish's coach holiday. Good food, friendly staff. Especially our comedy act waiter, who had all of the guests in stitches. Nice entertainment area and very reasonable bar prices.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anthonymalik
Lisa B, Guest Relations Manager at Barrowfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of your stay at the Barrowfield Hotel. We are very glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016

lovely hotel in a nice position. friendly staff we really enjoyed our stay, enjoyed the indoor swimming pool and spa,in all we would stay there again and so far we have never been disappointed in any of the daishs hotels we have stayed in

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johncolledge63
Lisa B, Guest Relations Manager at Barrowfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of your stay at the Barrowfield Hotel. We are very glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

birmingham
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Went on a late booking with Daishs to this hotel, as it was heavily discounted not sure what to expect, journey down in a new coach was swift, just over four hours not including stops, from West Midlands, as a result had an extra afternoon in resort, the weather was great, the hotel check in was swift, allocated a room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kateshill
Lisa B, Guest Relations Manager at Barrowfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of your stay at the Barrowfield Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2016

This is our 5th visit to the barrowfield and once again staff didn't fail us .. Pleasant , polite and very helpful. The only downfall this year was the weather was against us and it did rain almost every day.. It would of been brilliant if the hotel catered for such days and ha some kind of afternoon activities for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mandy4460
Lisa B, Guest Relations Manager at Barrowfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at the Barrowfield Hotel. We are very glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us despite the weather and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon when the sun is out.

torbay devon
Reviewed 8 August 2016

I found the food very very disappointing indeed the vegetables hardly existed grey coloured new potatoes grey coloured sprout if you ask for chips you might be ok or there was mashed suede one night... but it was tasteless and certainly not home cooked .........there was no fresh fruit anywhere and no plain yoghurts. had noticed the sweet flavoured yoghurts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susl
Lisa B, Guest Relations Manager at Barrowfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Barrowfield Hotel. We are sorry to read that you did not find the food to your taste. The vast majority of our guests do enjoy the food we serve and regularly leave excellent comments on the questionnaires we ask our guests to complete. We hope you made the waiting staff aware of your...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Just returned from a five day break at the Barrowfield Hotel We cannot fault this hotel everything first class including our waiter James. Newquay is a beautiful place and even though it was raining two days we enjoyed watching the surfers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norman S
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Barrowfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of your stay at the Barrowfield Hotel. We are very glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
2.6 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#7 of 39 in Newquay
1,207 reviews
2.8 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.1 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 39 in Newquay
920 reviews
3.0 km away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 39 in Newquay
826 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Barrowfield Hotel is ideally situated just 200 yards from the seafront yet close enough to the beautiful beaches of Lusty Glaze, Tolcarne and the rugged Cornish coastline yet only a five minute walk to Newquay's Town Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Barrowfield Hotel

Address: Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Price Range: $90 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barrowfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Barrowfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrowfield Hotel Newquay, UK - Cornwall
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#12 Family Hotel in Newquay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Barrowfield Hotel staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago
oxford
over a year ago
Herts
over a year ago

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Barrowfield Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“205 was great with good maid service”
 of 5 bubbles 639mickw, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No 2. 107. All very roomy.”
 of 5 bubbles 190michaelv, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the south side have mainly sea views”
 of 5 bubbles 935barryh, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“corner g/f rooms apparently need additional heating but hotel only to pleased to give you mobile heater to boost.Just ask reception”
 of 5 bubbles grahamc899, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“higher floor his quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles grandad1946, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay