We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Berties Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Berties Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Berties Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 71: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews I was almost dreading my trip however it ended up being perfectly ok. I booked because I was looking for a budget place to stay in Newquay and it delivered exactly that. Yes it's dated and probably needs the carpets replacing, but if you're looking for somewhere cheap to rest your head it's perfect....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rhiannon1992
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

Don't do it!!! The floor looked like it made multiple sick piles on it that hadn't been cleaned properly. Among other things. List is pretty endless. Went out for a meal and we're in good spirits before we opened the door. Dare not take my shoes off let alone get in the bed. Appalling state.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank helenanellie
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

Book berties lodge with booking.com, what a big mistake, the website made it look very nice but we was very disappointed with what it turned out to be. Check-in wasn't until 3pm, but our coach arrived in Cornwell at 7am, so we went to the hotel and everything was in darkness. We went into the hotel next door where the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank XDLisaWarnerXD
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Upon our arrival to Bertie's lodge, we walked to the deepest, darkest depths of the Victoria hotel and found ourselves in a semen stained pit of Bertie's doom. Only to find an unmade bed that smelt of bacon cooked in urination, the television was amazing! If it wasn't for the snapped plug socket and the broken remote. There were stains...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Katie A
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

As we lay here in bed contemplating why on earth we had chosen Bertie's lodge we thought about suicide but luckily enough the mould on the window cill was enough to put us off jumping out. We arrived late after a long and gruelling journey, upon arrival we attempted to enter Bertie's lodge where it was sign posted but the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank amyb07
Ivan C, General Manager at Berties Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Amy, thank you for your report and i am sorry that you were disappointed with your room/stay. I do remember speaking with your partner and am disappointed to see you have made no mention of the upgrade option i offered, once i was made aware of the problem and felt a long drive home before your planned trip to...

Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

On arrival the hotel lobby was alright, outdated but reasonable, other than the very strong smell of chlorine. And that is the nicest thing I have to say. My friend booked it online as it was cheap, she had read all the other awful trip advisors but stayed optimistic and thought how bad could it really be? WORSE. After you...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Katie G
Carma
Reviewed 6 November 2015

I got in to Newquay off the Megabus from Bristol (that's a whole disaster story in its own right - a five-hour drive through the night on a decrepit coach with even less legroom than Megabus's usual low standards, a driver who could hardly have cared less for the comfort of his passengers...). I hauled my luggage up through the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Huw G
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

Best place to stay with a group of friends for a night out had the best time. Staff really laid back and helpful. 30 quid deposit was a shock as didn't read that anywhere and there is no where to park. Also one plug socket in our room which made it difficult for 8 of us to charge phones etc....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tawnee W
England
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

My wife and I spent 13 nights here in one of the en suite double rooms to celebrate a milestone birthday. We honestly could not have asked for more from Berties Lodge. Owners/Senior management should be very proud of all their staff from front of house management to housekeeping. Nothing was too much trouble, staff cheery and polite and all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank invisiblehelper
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015

I understand the negative 1 or 2 star reviews. There was mold in the corner of the room and it did smell of damp. However for a group of 8 lads at 20 years old who wanted to stay in Newquay over the summer for 2 nights to go bodyboarding and out into the town it did the job. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElliotJames

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.0 km away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#28 of 39 in Newquay
52 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#20 of 39 in Newquay
354 reviews
1.9 km away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#30 of 39 in Newquay
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#15 of 39 in Newquay
750 reviews
0.0 km away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
3.8 km away
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms

Additional Information about Berties Lodge

Address: East Street, Newquay TR7 1DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Price Range: $47 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berties Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Berties Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berties Hotel Newquay
Berties Motel Newquay
Berties Lodge Newquay, UK - Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Berties Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms are dorms with bunk beds so best to ask.”
 of 5 bubbles hannahcD4680WW, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Bring a sleeping bag”
 of 5 bubbles martinfS9304JE, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Choose the best room and book somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles Josie546, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't go there filthy”
 of 5 bubbles margaretsL2866WQ, 4 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Don't go to Bertie's”
 of 5 bubbles philp460, 4 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay