We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Penzance

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

774 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Penzance
See the most recent reviews
Showing 742: English reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Very warm, friendly staff, with a second floor room providing a very comfortable night's rest. Room provided a good range of amenities, including good coffee, truly a rarity in a hotel room. Fine breakfast spread, and an enjoyable 2 nights stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you for your lovely review and we are very happy you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you next time.

Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2015

Excellent hotel and superb food compliments to the chef. Very nice touches in the room such as a Nespresso machine ideal as a pure coffee lover. My wife also wanted to adopt the bear! Very friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. Only managed to stay one night but cannot wait to return when hopefully will be able to stay longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rumps68
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you for your excellent review. Your comments are really appreciated and will be passed onto the team. We are all looking forward to welcoming you next time for, what we hope, will be a short break. Its yet another beautiful, sunny, calm and warm day here is in Penzance, and the views are particularly spectacular.

Morgan Hill, California
Reviewed 31 October 2015

A hotel with beautiful views sitting on a hill. Staff was very welcoming and friendly. View from the room was wonderful especially as the moon rose. Nice appointments to the room. Parking can be limited. An amazing value for the quality of the hotel and service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rogersequest
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Many thanks for your amazing review. We are very happy you had a great stay with us here in Penzance and enjoyed visiting West Penwith. Looking forward to welcoming you next time.

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

Arrived on a Friday afternoon for a 4 night stay. It is worth pointing out that the car park is very tight and on a steep hill with only a few parking spaces. We where greeted by a very pleasant receptionist and given a tour of the hotel and shown our room . Which was of a good size with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Billiis1958
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you for taking the time to post your superb review. It was our pleasure to welcome you and it makes us very happy you had a comfortable and enjoyable short break with us. We look forward to you visiting us again soon and trust you had a safe journey onward.

Reviewed 29 October 2015 via mobile

Arrived early and room was ready for us. Room was lovely if not as stated superior( the bath panel had a crack in it ). The staff are very friendly and helpful. The bay resteraunt did lovely food. I would recommend this hotel. Close to town and harbour and overall really very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nerys M
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a very nice stay and enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and location of our hotel. Your comments have been noted and we look forward to welcoming you next time.

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Our Son and family gave my husband a night with a meal for his birthday. Every thing about this small hotel is lovely .The staff are great nothing too much for them. All the little touches like complimentary coffee and cake in the drawing room. We came last year and I'm sure we will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley R
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you for your lovely review and we are happy you loved the little extra touches we provided for you. We hope to see you again soon.

Horley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2015

We had a voucher for two nights, cream tea and 3 course meal. Everything was excellent The dual aspect large room had amazing views, good coffee maker and was clean. The cream tea with a glass of bubbly was good and the 3 course dinner was excellent. All staff worked hard. We were out of season (October) so the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Horleys2014
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, thank you for your great review and glad you had an excellent stay and enjoyed all the services we provided. We look forward to welcoming you next time.

London
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Good location a short walk from the main town, up a residential street. Converted from two large period houses, the hotel's rooms have been refurbished to include modern bathrooms, but the bedrooms themselves, though comfortable, lack any "wow" factor. The staff who dealt with us were good; breakfast well cooked and substantial with plenty of choice. We ate dinner in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelmeistersLondon
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2015

The team at the hotel were polite, friendly and professional. We had upgraded to a superior room, which did not disappoint. Lovely view from our windows. The walk in shower was perfect for our needs and the toiletries supplied were of a high standard.We both like having the use of our own coffee machine.The hotel, rooms and restaurant were spotless....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
Kehribar, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Penzance, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your positive review and what a lovely friend you have! We are pleased the team provided you with an excellent service and glad you enjoyed the little touches in your room. We look forward to welcoming you next time.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 October 2015

We booked a room here last minute and thought we had a pretty good deal. Although the bed was comfy we did not get much sleep. We constantly had to listen to the restaurant music, the TV from the neighbours and non stop door banging. When we point it all out during our check out the response we got was;...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Villasteph

357 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (181)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (149)
Viewed
Beach (8)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
St Cuby Classic Double Seaview Room (21)
Viewed
St Mewan Superior Double Seaview Room (25)
Viewed
St Piran Superior Double Seaview Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
1.2 km away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
433 reviews
1.4 km away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
209 reviews
7.3 km away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.2 km away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
801 reviews
9.7 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
10.1 km away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Bay Restaurant
The Bay Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 Star independent Town House Hotel. Converted from 2 Edwardian merchant's houses and perched on a hill overlooking the busy Penzance waterfront and harbour. 25 individual rooms over 3 floors with warmth, comfort and service a priority. Open all year with a 2 rosette restaurant - The Bay Penzance - Ideally situated for all the sites of West Cornwall from The Lizard to St Ives and the Isles of Scilly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Penzance

Address: Britons Hill, Penzance TR18 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Price Range: $204 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Penzance 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Penzance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Penzance staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Delray Beach, Florida
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Bristol, United Kingdom

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Penzance staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 18 has lovely open views to the harbour and sea.”
Shuttersister, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had room 18 and the view was amazing”
bethieb2015, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No.2 on ground floor has a spacious wetroom and also a seperate dressing room with ironing facilities provided.”
104gilb, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“pay extra for sea veiw”
prossersonia, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view of St Michael's Mount”
CarolB981, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5