We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Queens Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Queens Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

433 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Queens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 407: English reviews
Kent
Reviewed 20 August 2015

The hotel has fabulous history and is in a great position on the sea front with free car parking at the rear. For me, this hotel isn't flexible enough for business travellers as the breakfast starts too late and the dinner finishes too early at 8:45 ( every others place shuts at 9:00 or 10:00pm - there is only 1...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MangroveMikes
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Mike, Thank you for taking time to review The Queens Hotel. Our meal times are tailored to suit those of our guests and, to previous experience, when we served food earlier or later - there was no-one to serve to. We're pleased that you found the service to be agreeable. The Queens Hotel is a traditional, family hotel and we...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015

I had made a long train journey from Nottingham , catching the Scillonian next morning. On entering the hotel , I was warmly greeted by friendly & welcoming staff. My room was very comfortable & really clean. I asked if I may order food as it was early evening by now, & chose a jacket potato with coronation chicken. I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Susan S
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Susan, Thank you for your review of The Queens Hotel. We are pleased that the level of service was what you expected, and more. At The Queens Hotel, we ensure that our guests are greeted in a courteous manner and that all their needs are seen to. We are also pleased that you enjoyed the food and slept well. The...

Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2015

My husband and I decided on the spur of the moment to go for Sunday lunch at the Queens Hotel and we are very pleased that we did. Having phoned ahead we were able to book a table ust half an hour before we intended to eat. On our arrival we were welcomed by the dining room staff and shown...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Casapod
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Casapod, Thank you for your kind review of The Queens Hotel. It seems that you enjoyed your Sunday roast in every aspect, and we are pleased that we surpassed your expectations. We look forward to entertaining you again. Nigel Pengelly.

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2015

The hotel was all and more than we expected. The room was delightful, the food excellent and the hotel staff were courteous and very helpful indeed. Nothing was too much trouble. We would recommend The Queens without reservation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Robert, Thank you for your kind review of The Queens Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the food and service most agreeable. We look forward to welcoming you again. Regards, Nigel Pengelly.

Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

Very expensive. Poor value for money. Doesn't look like it's been decorated since the 1970s. Room was very small and the bathroom was even smaĺler. Staff were friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was very greasy.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Suzanne C
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Suzanne, Thank you for your review of The Queens Hotel. The hotel is a traditional hotel, and is decorated each year. We are very busy in the summer, and the price you paid is the fair price you would pay for a seafront hotel in Cornwall. All our larger rooms are also booked way in advance, so a smaller room...

Reviewed 30 July 2015 via mobile

This hotel is clean, rooms were spotless but on entering the single room that I was in you can't help but think you were in your grandma house, the hotel really does need redone. Drinks in the hotel are crazy expensive, it's definitely worth the 20min walk to town to avoid this. Staff are professional , well turned out and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Simon, Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. The Queens Hotel is a traditional hotel, and so decor reflects this and so therefore is subject to taste. We don't try to be 'modern' in a lodge-hotel style, but focus more on customer care, service and cleanliness. I shall pass on your comments regarding the breakfast to the head chef. Regards, Nigel...

Marietta, Georgia
Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

My title sounds derogatory but it is not. This hotel was adequate for our visit to Cornwall. The location was perfect. We stayed for 4 days and were able to go in all directions easily to places we wanted to visit. There are not many hotels so close to the sea where you can open the windows and hear the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank kandn30068
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Kandn, Thank you for your review of The Queens Hotel. We are pleased that you liked the aesthetics of The Queens Hotel. The hotel is a family establishment that strives to adhere to the traditional values of good service and comfort. While there might be 'newer' hotels, we believe in sticking to British traditions and maintaining the ambience of a...

Soldotna, Alaska
Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

We arrived and the atmosphere was that of family. Very pleasant to deal with. The room was big and clean. The bathroom was very clean and spacious. The breakfast was very good with plenty of choices. They were very helpful with information about places to eat. The bartenders were funny and we enjoyed our conversations with them. They had a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank janern703
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Jane, Thank you for your wonderful review of The Queens Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our bar staff to be entertaining. We do try to make sure that all our guests are well looked after, and that you are truly accepted as one of the family. Regards, Nigel Pengelly.

Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2015

Room 26. Perfect sea view. Lift to the floor. Very comfy bed, nice size room with multi channel TV. Coffee and tea in the room. Good size bathroom with shower & bath. Plenty of storage for clothes and a newspaper delivered to your room every morning. With no kids around, you can chill out in this hotel. Plenty of guests...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave L
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Dave, Thank you for your exemplary review of The Queens Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Nigel Pengelly.

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2015

I was happy to pay a bit over the odds for a room with a view and it was a very good room. For the price £180 the breakfast should have been excellent. The cooked breakfast was okay but because of the heated containers all a bit watery. The poached egg I asked for came when I was halfway through....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janet p
Nigel P, Public Relations Manager at The Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Janet, Thank you for your review of The Queens Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Queens Hotel. With regards to the breakfast, we have spoken with our head chef who has pledged to investigate the breakfast provision and will be taking some of your comments on board. Regards, Nigel Pengelly.

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
1.2 km away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
774 reviews
0.3 km away
Beachfield Hotel
Beachfield Hotel
#2 of 4 in Penzance
209 reviews
6.0 km away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.4 km away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 87 in Penzance
313 reviews
0.4 km away
Artist Residence
Artist Residence
#6 of 87 in Penzance
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family run 3 Star Victorian hotel situated on the promenade in Penzance. 70 bedrooms - all en-suite enjoying pride of place in Mounts Bay with views of St Michaels Mount, Newlyn and the Lizard PeninsulaFree car parking, Free WiFi access and disabled access to the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Queens Hotel

Address: Promenade, Penzance TR18 4HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Price Range: $207 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Queens Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Devon
Essex, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Queens Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check there's not a visiting rugby club staying.”
AnselS, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Great views!”
kerryk745, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Well worth asking for sea view!”
simonew944, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view”
emmapD1686WD, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pay extra if you like a sea view but our room at the back was excellent.”
Blondiebooboo, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5