We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sandbank Holidays

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sandbank Holidays
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 99: English reviews
Level Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in apartment 11 which was a premier apartment. The accommodation was all ready for us when we arrived at 11 am. The apartment is nicely decorated. The bathroom is clean and modern with bath and over head shower. The living room and kitchen are big and spacious. Kitchen is like new with large fridge and freezer, oven, kettle,... More 

Helpful?
Thank RachGary12
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for returning to Sandbanks this year. We're so glad you enjoyed our Porthmeor apartment and its amenities and the local area and we hope to see you again in the future. More 

Rotherham
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Highly recommended for all dog owners. Sand dunes only a minute away to take your dog for a walk each morning.What was great was new sheets and duvet cover provided for second week of our holiday were usually anywhere else they make them last 2 weeks. Nothing was too much trouble for owners to do anything for you. It is... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank atwallis7
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments - we're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again next year! More 

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

As advertised, the room was spotless. The welcome was warm and friendly and the apartment was great. Economy 7 heating was great although not really needed as the weather was fantastic. The only reason it's not 5/5 is the sofa bed was not very comfortable to sit on and the hot water tank was not big enough to fill the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Smith1967
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your feedback regarding the sofa bed - we will be dealing with this as soon as possible. The walk across the dunes is definitely good exercise and you can't beat the views! We do recommend having change for the car... More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2016

stayed in portpixie it had evey thing you need if you want to be self catering.lovely self contained garden.only a few mins from the sand dunes and the beach.dogs welcome that was a bonus booking for next year.

Helpful?
Thank June W
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again next year. More 

1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Easily found the place......friendly staff that leave u too it.....accommodation spotlessly clean....no smells as ive read in previous reviews....I stay in lots of hotels apartments and b&b's nationwide with being a electrical contractor....and I have a high standard of living and expectation....everything I needed was to hand for once....brilliant place,comfy and quiet,I highly recommend this place!!!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Brian G
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We're so glad you enjoyed the accommodation and we hope to see you again soon. More 

1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Just back from a great few days at Sandbank. The apartment had everything we needed, was comfortable, with a lovely balcony. It was perfect for a stay for a few days and at a good price.The owners were very helpful and friendly. Sandbank is near the sand dunes for lovely walks and a few minutes drive to an excellent surf... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hilary D
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review - we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the local area and we hope to see you again in the future. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We decided to use Sandbank Holidays and cannot say we left disappointed. They were very accommodating - we travelled from Norfolk and the apartment was made ready early. The apartment is very well located to beaches and Hayle town. In fact I would say the beach at Hayle was better than the one we went to in st Ives. My... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rayner123
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed the accommodation and the local area and thank you for your feedback of the apartment - we will ensure these issues are dealt with as soon as possible. We hope to see you again in the future. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

My family and another two families stayed here at the beginning of August. Ourselves and one other family had the 2 bedroom bungalows overlooking the beautiful gardens which were well looked after and accommodated the children really well, was very peaceful. My brothers family stayed in a two bedroom 1st floor apartment with a balcony. We felt that the accommodation... More 

Helpful?
Thank HayleyJArthurs
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you and your family enjoyed your accommodation and the location and many thanks for your feedback regarding the bungalows - we will certainly be freshening them up and replacing the gates and outdoor furniture. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you... More 

Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2016

The location is excellent for adventure around the North Coast of Cornwall. The apartment we had was comfortable and warm with basic amenities. Unfortunately the accomodation was not as clean as we expected and had that aroma of pet smells. We did realise that pets could stay before we booked. Many things were old and the flat could do with... More 

Helpful?
Thank markD2573OJ
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review - we apologise profusely that you felt the apartment did not meet your expectations and have ensured we have brought this issue to the attention of our cleaners. We're glad you found the apartment comfortable and enjoyed the local area. We are in the process of refurbishing our apartments - if you were to come... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We spent a week here with our family in July, we were in a bungalow & ground floor apartment, they made an effort to put us near each other. Yes it maybe wasn't first class but it was clean and had all the amenities that we needed. We loved the garden,it was safe for our young grandchildren to play in... More 

Helpful?
Thank 19Joan50
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and the local area and we hope to see you again in the future. More 

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
5.7 km away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.5 km away
Premier Inn Hayle
Premier Inn Hayle
#1 of 3 in Hayle
570 reviews
6.3 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
6.2 km away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 22 in St Ives
789 reviews
6.2 km away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#4 of 22 in St Ives
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the eastern side of St. Ives Bay, we are ideally located for that quiet Cornish getaway. We are a small family-owned site of Apartments and Bungalows set in peaceful landscaped gardens, and nestling in acres of grassy sand dunes close to three miles of beautiful beach that stretches from Hayle to Godrevy Lighthouse at Gwithian. All our accommodation is spotlessly clean and well-equipped for your self-catering holiday, and our large gardens and play area provide a safe environment for children. Surfing, cycling, fishing, and boat trips can all be accessed locally, and there are plenty of good pubs and restaurants around for good food and ales. Paradise Park, Flambards, Lost Gardens of Heligan and The Eden Project are all within an easy drive from Sandbank. From public gardens to golf, cliff-walking, visiting family fun parks or simply relaxing on the beach, there is something to entertain the whole family on your Cornish break. We are also one of the few remaining sites that welcomes dogs, plus their well-behaved owners, and ideally located close to countless attractions and stunning beauty spots. Open March to October. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandbank Holidays

Address: 51 Upton Towans | Gwithian, St Ives TR27 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Price Range: $60 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sandbank Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbank Holidays St Ives, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandbank Holidays staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Wauchope, Australia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sandbank Holidays staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room with the garden views and small balcony!”
 of 5 bubbles markD2573OJ, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room on the ground floor and you have your own little patio”
  • Great garden for the children to play in
  • Bungalow, Porthpyran
  • Ground floor apartment, Porthcollum
 of 5 bubbles 19Joan50, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Porthmeor recently refurbished to high standard ”
 of 5 bubbles snowwhite8602, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“Take a warm jumper for chilly evenings - there is a heater but not as effective as the central heating I'm used to.”
 of 5 bubbles 31susieb, 10 Sep 2015 | Read review
“appartments with ground floor garden access ideal for parties with pets, otherwise chosse the 1st floor appartments”
 of 5 bubbles murrayGmunden, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay