We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sandbank Holidays

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sandbank Holidays
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sandbank Holidays
See the most recent reviews
Showing 99: English reviews
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We spent a week in a very modestly priced chalet. The facilities were good for the price (fairly decent kitchen, comfortable living/dining area etc.) and the location was very nice - a good beach within walking distance, the town of Hayle close by and several popular tourist locations such as St Ives, Penzance and St Michael's Mount within easy driving... More 

Helpful?
Thank Immanuel K
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your accommodation and the location and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Clean apartment, very welcoming and friendly and perfect for the nearby beaches of Gwithian and godrev. Dominique was very helpful, especially with my booking. The only negative I have is the entrance to Sandbanks which needs a mirror on the opposite side of the road as the exit is very difficult due to lack of sight.

Helpful?
Thank timd1270
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review - we're glad you enjoyed the accommodation and the local area. Just to let you know that you can use the Atlantic Coast caravan park exit next door to us instead as it is easier to see the road - we do inform our guests of this via... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Wonderful hospitality in the perfect location. A short stroll to a great restaurant. Perfect for Coast Path walkers or anyone tired of holidayers in crowded Cornwall towns. Beautiful garden for super outdoor breakfasts.

Helpful?
Thank Vanwalkers
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and the local area and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Just arrived home after a most GLORIOUS week at Sandbank, amazing facilities in the apartment. Ours was named 'PORTHMEAR', One double, one twin bedroom. They have thought of everything you need to start your stay off, from dishwasher tablets through to loo roll and everything in between. We made a most welcoming hot drink with biscuits, while we took in... More 

Helpful?
Thank maizyboo
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review and kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your accommodation and the local area and we hope you come back to visit again next year. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

I booked this place because I fell in love with the photos it looked lovely,couldn't be more wrong ,loose plug sockets,no mirror by plug for blow drying hair,floor so dirty had to wash feet if you walked barefoot,balcony was so dirty couldn't sit on it ,sofas ripped cushions,wardrobes smelt of body odour and dirty,also doors off in one room and... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

We are a small family run business and while we are not perfect, we pride ourselves on dealing with any issues that may arise, for example, on an occasion where a guest had booked a smaller apartment than they were expecting on booking.com, we were happy to upgrade them to one of our premier apartments. We go out of our... More 

St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

My husband, mother, 16 month old son & recently I stayed in the Porthcurno apartment for 5 days. Unfortunately we were visiting a sick relative at Treliske hospital, so our booking was very last minute. Dominique was really helpful and managed to accommodate us and our two dogs at short notice. The price for 5 days was very competitive in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tonksie34
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We're glad you enjoyed the location and views from your apartment and would recommend us to others. Usually we do recommend alternative apartments when there is more than two guests, however at short notice we only had the one apartment available. Thank you for your feedback regarding the... More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

So I guess I should start by saying I was in a one bedroom, upstairs apartment. our group of 10 people were divided amongst three different apartments and majority of this review will be based on mine which was the smallest. To decide if sandbank is right for you first of all you need to decide what it is you're... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank philtemple
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologise for the issues you encountered and are currently planning for the redecoration of this apartment. We have fixed the issues with the lamps and heater and thank you for bringing them to our attention. We're glad you enjoyed the local area and hope you will come back to... More 

Level Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed in one of the garden bungalows that we have previously stayed in. The accommodation is getting very tired and perhaps a little overpriced. The kitchen is very mismatched and the cupboard door was almost hanging off with the cups and plates in. We stayed in the front bedroom, it felt rather damp at night and the sheets also felt... More 

Helpful?
Thank RachGary12
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear of your disappointment during your stay with us, however we wish you had brought these issues to our attention during your stay so we could immediately fix them. We can not help to improve our guests stay if we are unaware that there is an issue. However, we thank you for your feedback and will be... More 

Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We have just come back from a lovely relaxing stay. Excellent accommodation very clean and modern in a fabulous location. I can not recommend this enough, We are even planning our next visit. Great location for touring Cornwall and easy to reach beach, pubs and shops. I would recommend to anybody, we didnt have children with us but the play... More 

Helpful?
Thank halliwelllynda
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review - we're glad you enjoyed the accommodation and the local area. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2016

We chose to stay here for a week after reading the reviews and looking at photos. On arrival we were shown to our accomadation through the hallway which had a smokey/musky smell. On entering our apartment there was an awful musty smell. We opened all windows and French Doors and even the bedding smelt. I have thrown out better quilts.... More 

Helpful?
Thank CandP83
sandbankholidays, Front Office Manager at Sandbank Holidays, responded to this review

When you came to reception to hand in your key, you were asked by management if everything was okay with your apartment, to which you replied that it was fine and you were leaving early for another reason. Had you made us aware of the issues during your stay and that you were unhappy, of course we would have been... More 

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
5.7 km away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.5 km away
Premier Inn Hayle
Premier Inn Hayle
#1 of 3 in Hayle
570 reviews
6.3 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
6.2 km away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 22 in St Ives
789 reviews
6.2 km away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#4 of 22 in St Ives
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the eastern side of St. Ives Bay, we are ideally located for that quiet Cornish getaway. We are a small family-owned site of Apartments and Bungalows set in peaceful landscaped gardens, and nestling in acres of grassy sand dunes close to three miles of beautiful beach that stretches from Hayle to Godrevy Lighthouse at Gwithian. All our accommodation is spotlessly clean and well-equipped for your self-catering holiday, and our large gardens and play area provide a safe environment for children. Surfing, cycling, fishing, and boat trips can all be accessed locally, and there are plenty of good pubs and restaurants around for good food and ales. Paradise Park, Flambards, Lost Gardens of Heligan and The Eden Project are all within an easy drive from Sandbank. From public gardens to golf, cliff-walking, visiting family fun parks or simply relaxing on the beach, there is something to entertain the whole family on your Cornish break. We are also one of the few remaining sites that welcomes dogs, plus their well-behaved owners, and ideally located close to countless attractions and stunning beauty spots. Open March to October. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandbank Holidays

Address: 51 Upton Towans | Gwithian, St Ives TR27 5BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Price Range: $60 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sandbank Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandbank Holidays St Ives, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sandbank Holidays staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Wauchope, Australia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sandbank Holidays staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room with the garden views and small balcony!”
 of 5 bubbles markD2573OJ, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room on the ground floor and you have your own little patio”
  • Great garden for the children to play in
  • Bungalow, Porthpyran
  • Ground floor apartment, Porthcollum
 of 5 bubbles 19Joan50, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Porthmeor recently refurbished to high standard ”
 of 5 bubbles snowwhite8602, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“Take a warm jumper for chilly evenings - there is a heater but not as effective as the central heating I'm used to.”
 of 5 bubbles 31susieb, 10 Sep 2015 | Read review
“appartments with ground floor garden access ideal for parties with pets, otherwise chosse the 1st floor appartments”
 of 5 bubbles murrayGmunden, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay