We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chy-An-Albany

Booking.comUS$146*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Chy-An-Albany
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

914 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 890: English reviews
Start your review of Chy-An-Albany
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We took a group of 12 for an art appreciation trip. The staff were friendly, the rooms comfortable, the restaurant is excellent, the location is good; about 10 minutes walk from the centre. Everyone enjoyed it. Good value, I would definitely go again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BobPedley
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms are recently renovated. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Meals were reasonably priced and excellent quality. A short walk to the train station and only a 10 mins walk to the town centre. Would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Friar65
South West England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Chy-An-Albany hotel is located on the hill overlooking St Ives, and a 10 minute walk to the town centre. The view from the front deck, of the sea is very nice, although to cold to sit outside on an Autumn day. If you are fortunate to get the front two tables at breakfast you can also share these views....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AvidTraveler12
Sarah S, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review

Unfortunately the weather is something we are just not able to control … if only! The dining room has a few tables that have views over the bay and so sometimes there can be a wait for these as they are always popular with our guests Staff are here to help all our guests at all times of day and...

Portland, Maine
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited with a walking group. Room had a great view and was large and comfortable - great value for the money. Location is quiet but a short scenic walk down to the Port. Breakfast was good but eggs served only one way - fried sunny side up. Unfortunately staff seemed unhappy with our presence and were certainly not eager to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elizabeth S
Sarah S, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review

Your group was very much welcomed at the hotel by all members of staff and we did our utmost to cater for the special request of an early cooked breakfast I am disappointed that you did not find the staff eager to please you our staff normally receive great praise and comment to their friendliness and helpfulness I will be...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Easter weekend stayed 3 nights. We arrived as the sun set, ate a delicious meal in the restaurant....so good, we decided to eat there again the next night after a Penzance/St Michael's Mount day exhausted. The rooms are not fancy but the most restful sleep facing the garden side. A great stay, no complaints with very pleasant staff. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mel T
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

11 of my oldest and closest friends all turned 40 years old this year so we decided to all meet up in St Ives. We luckily managed to find the Chy An Albany that could accommodate all 12 of us. The rooms are spacious, with TVs and free wifi. The breakfasts are delicious with many options: English breakfast fry-up is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James R
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Reception good when we arrived. Our room rather small (no sea view) but more than adequate. Evening meal very good. Breakfast up to standard. Staff always attentive and ready to help. Good location, sea views from some of rooms.Shops and sea front not too far away for physically abled, but not so easy for those less mobile. Overall, highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 3 nights here and were made very welcome by the reception staff. It's quite a small hotel but ideal for a short break. We had a room (fairly basic but very clean) with a sea view which was lovely especially in the sunshine. There's a steep uphill walk from St Ives town, takes about 20 minutes but I'm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline F
Toronto, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff were friendly, rooms were clean but Oh, so tired. The furniture hails from the 1950'2/60's with no real effort to update anything. It was expensive for what we got. I had a single room which was so small you could barely swing a cat. We had spent the previous 3 nights at The Queens Hotel in the middle of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GaelConnop
Leek, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just got back from four nights at the Chy Albany Hotel, we had a deluxe room which was enormous with the biggest bed I have ever seen!! Large bathroom and a huge patio over looking the sea with table and chairs. The room had just been decorated and a new carpet. Our room, in fact the whole hotel was spotless...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lorraine G

252 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (182)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (39)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.1 km away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 km away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
215 reviews
1.4 km away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 km away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Price Range: $146 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chy-An-Albany staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Chy-An-Albany staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Garden side was very peaceful; cannot comment on view side”
327melt, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Sea view just lovely”
PaulineF307, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“definitely not a single.”
GaelConnop, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“The little extra for a deluxe room is well worth it.”
LorraineG205, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a sea view room”
Foxtrot10, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$146* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$146
Agoda.comUS$145
LateRooms.comUS$146
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates