We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Anchorage

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Anchorage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 105: English reviews
Start your review of The Anchorage
 Click to rate
Paignton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Another great stay in The Anchorage, a lovely B&B in the heart of St. Ives. We chose room 3 which from previous experience has everything you need for a comfortable stay. It is always spotlessly clean with fresh towels and linin. The tea and coffee facilities were very welcome and were refreshed every day. The B&B itself is ideally located...

Thank Kevan D
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016

The Anchorage is a lovely B&B in the heart of St. Ives, our room (3) had everything you would need for a comfortable stay. The tea and coffee facilities were very welcome and were refreshed every day. The room and in fact the whole building was lovely and warm which was very welcome after coming in from a bracing walk...

Thank BekC62
Workington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This place has it all great location great room room 2 with its own entrance great choice and friendly staff at breakfast we loved this place so much we've booked again for next year didn't really want too much as this is my top find to date they even arranged parking for us which was God send thanks again for...

1Thank steejillforster14
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Was a beautiful b&b in a perfect spot , room was quint and clean . Shower room was clean and tidy , no issues with room at all . As a couple that have young children and need to get up early for them , plus early for work , we were very disappointed that the breakfast slot was only...

3Thank Becky R
anchoragestives, Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear Becky, I'm rather confused by your review and would like to take this opportunity to give my record of events: Firstly, my website clearly states that breakfast is between 8:30am and 9:15am every day. On arrival you bought it to my attention that you had not read this. However, I still tried my best to accommodate your requirements. On...

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

We have just returned following a four night stay at The Anchorage and we generally loved it. Do not try and find it from the train station as we did, the taxi firm told us they had nothing for over half an hour and that it was a 5 minute walk - trust me, it isn't. If arriving by train,...

1Thank Nidgehammer
Reviewed 24 April 2016

We stayed at the anchorage last week and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The room was spacious very clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and the host Danielle was very friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend this B and B. We are regular visitors to St. Ives and the Anchorage is in Downalong very close to the beaches....

1Thank judeapplemac
United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2015

We had room 2 allocated on the ground floor outside with separate entrance. Lovely cosy hideaway very convenient to downtown St Ives. Staff friendly,nothing too much trouble, all our needs were met. Own reserved parking which is a bonus. Good breakfast with local produce. We will return.

2Thank MisterIncredible1
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2015

Just had a wonderful 3 night stay at this little treasure of a b&b. We stayed in room 4 the smaller of rooms, spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. The separate shower room is across the very small landing, sole use for this room which was no problem probably making this the biggest room in this quaint cottage. The owner was...

1Thank Jacko-Snow
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2015

This is a perfect B&B for easy access to the harbour beaches trips etc. We stayed with Chris on our first trip here who is a hard act to follow but Danielle, Mary, Jane and Caitlin (and not forgetting little Ellie) who made our visit as equally a pleasure. They are perfect hosts food was always hot and more than...

1Thank Noonie46
Hastings, East Sussex
Reviewed 6 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in August. The room was really comfy and great value in high season. Staff were friendly and helpful. Delicious breakfast with lots of options. This B&B is great for couples and friends. Maybe not great for late risers as breakfast finishes at 9.15! But as its a very small B&B this is to be expected....

1Thank killakellers

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (23)
View from Room (5)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.8 km away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
133 reviews
0.4 km away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#9 of 107 in St Ives
154 reviews
0.0 km away
Poldhu Guest House
Poldhu Guest House
#92 of 107 in St Ives
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast
0.5 km away
Atlantic Heights
Atlantic Heights
#12 of 107 in St Ives
432 reviews
0.3 km away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 107 in St Ives
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Anchorage is nestled in the picturesque, old world section of St. Ives, close to all amenities. All four bedrooms, three of which are en-suite, are full of character and charm, with TV/DVD, hairdryers and beverage tray. Breakfast is freshly cooked using local ingredients. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Anchorage

Address: 5 Bunkers Hill, St Ives TR26 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Price Range: $120 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage St Ives, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Anchorage staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Northampton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Anchorage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you find it difficult to climb stairs then they have got a room with it own access on ground level.”
 of 5 bubbles BekC62, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“some one who can sleep with noise and isn't to tall. the room was clean and just what some one would like for night life and eating out.”
 of 5 bubbles 528brendad, 26 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Check with Danielle as to which room might suite you best.”
 of 5 bubbles 541susan, 26 Mar 2015 | Read review
“My room 4 is a small double which I occupied on my own with the proivate bathroom a few steps across the landing, which was no problem even during the night, all large doubles are en suite.”
 of 5 bubbles juliebH8734KW, 5 Feb 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in room 1 at the top of the house with narrow steps leading up. If you have any mobility problems then ask for one of the other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Makingtrax, 15 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5