We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Anchorage

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Anchorage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 109: English reviews
Start your review of The Anchorage
 Click to rate
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Perfect location for enjoying everything St Ives has to offer. A very friendly welcome and a lovely room despite it being the smallest. Breakfast was the best we've had anywhere we've stayed before. I would give this a five star rating if toiletries and hair dryer had been provided as stated on the website. I didn't bring my own and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rodneyandjones
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Just enjoyed two nights here. Danielle directed us in and was excellent. Breakfast was fresh and tasty. The beds were very comfortable. Everything was very clean and pretty. The location being just yards from the water in the harbour was perfect for us. Car parking, as it is almost everywhere in St Ives, is minutes away in a public car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eve P
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Wonderful B & B, really quaint in the heart of St Ives. We were in Room 1 at the top of the Anchorage & had views of the harbour & sea which was perfect. The room is nicely done out, very clean & a comfortable bed. It was small but ample for our needs. The stairs up to it were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We stayed at The Anchorage for a birthday weekend. Both staff members were extremely helpful and friendly. We had the last room available and it was very well appointed with everything we needed, even wine glasses. It was clean and warm and cosy. The only very minor thing was that the bed was a little on the hard side but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Refs123
Paignton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Another great stay in The Anchorage, a lovely B&B in the heart of St. Ives. We chose room 3 which from previous experience has everything you need for a comfortable stay. It is always spotlessly clean with fresh towels and linin. The tea and coffee facilities were very welcome and were refreshed every day. The B&B itself is ideally located...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevan D
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016

The Anchorage is a lovely B&B in the heart of St. Ives, our room (3) had everything you would need for a comfortable stay. The tea and coffee facilities were very welcome and were refreshed every day. The room and in fact the whole building was lovely and warm which was very welcome after coming in from a bracing walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BekC62
Workington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This place has it all great location great room room 2 with its own entrance great choice and friendly staff at breakfast we loved this place so much we've booked again for next year didn't really want too much as this is my top find to date they even arranged parking for us which was God send thanks again for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank steejillforster14
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Was a beautiful b&b in a perfect spot , room was quint and clean . Shower room was clean and tidy , no issues with room at all . As a couple that have young children and need to get up early for them , plus early for work , we were very disappointed that the breakfast slot was only...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Becky R
anchoragestives, Manager at The Anchorage, responded to this review

Dear Becky, I'm rather confused by your review and would like to take this opportunity to give my record of events: Firstly, my website clearly states that breakfast is between 8:30am and 9:15am every day. On arrival you bought it to my attention that you had not read this. However, I still tried my best to accommodate your requirements. On...

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

We have just returned following a four night stay at The Anchorage and we generally loved it. Do not try and find it from the train station as we did, the taxi firm told us they had nothing for over half an hour and that it was a 5 minute walk - trust me, it isn't. If arriving by train,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nidgehammer
leicestershire
Reviewed 24 April 2016

We stayed at the anchorage last week and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The room was spacious very clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and the host Danielle was very friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend this B and B. We are regular visitors to St. Ives and the Anchorage is in Downalong very close to the beaches....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank judeapplemac

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.8 km away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
901 reviews
0.5 km away
Atlantic Heights
Atlantic Heights
#13 of 106 in St Ives
434 reviews
0.4 km away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#9 of 106 in St Ives
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast
2.4 km away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#19 of 106 in St Ives
141 reviews
0.4 km away
Trevose Harbour House
Trevose Harbour House
#1 of 106 in St Ives
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Anchorage is nestled in the picturesque, old world section of St. Ives, close to all amenities. All four bedrooms, three of which are en-suite, are full of character and charm, with TV/DVD, hairdryers and beverage tray. Breakfast is freshly cooked using local ingredients. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Anchorage

Address: 5 Bunkers Hill, St Ives TR26 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Price Range: $133 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Anchorage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage St Ives, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Anchorage staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Northampton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Anchorage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you find it difficult to climb stairs then they have got a room with it own access on ground level.”
BekC62, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“some one who can sleep with noise and isn't to tall. the room was clean and just what some one would like for night life and eating out.”
528brendad, 26 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Check with Danielle as to which room might suite you best.”
541susan, 26 Mar 2015 | Read review
“My room 4 is a small double which I occupied on my own with the proivate bathroom a few steps across the landing, which was no problem even during the night, all large doubles are en suite.”
juliebH8734KW, 5 Feb 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in room 1 at the top of the house with narrow steps leading up. If you have any mobility problems then ask for one of the other rooms.”
Makingtrax, 15 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5