We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Idle Rocks

PricelineUS$221*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Idle Rocks
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

366 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Idle Rocks
See the most recent reviews
Showing 363: English reviews
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

From arrival to reluctant departure, this place, the location, the rooms, the food, the service - hell even the weather - was faultless. Relaxed Cornish hospitality with a touch of class. What a stunning hotel with possibly the most beautiful view in the UK. Dont waste a moment more considering other places to stay - book this place now! We'll...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Louise, Thank you for your wonderful review following your start with us. It was a pleasure to read and thank you for your great advice! We look forward to welcoming you back again. Best wishes Paul Goodwin, Manager

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Location,food and staff exceeded every one of our expectations! We left a little heavier but feeling we had made many new friends. We will find an excuse to return very soon as we did not have time to take advantage of their amazing cinema. Thank you Paul,Rachael and Sid and all of your happy team.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gchod1981
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this review

Dear gchod1981, Thank you for your review following your stay with us and for the great advice. I'm so pleased your enjoyed everything and it was our pleasure to look after you. I will certainly pass on your thanks to the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Best wishes Paul Goodwin, Manager

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

My other half and I had a couple of nights at this lovely hotel during February half term. Our room was fabulous with a view across the harbour. The decor throughout was of a very high standard with exquisite attention to detail, and the bed and bathroom were of the highest order. Our visit was made all the more enjoyable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy7691
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Andy and Sue, Thank you for your wonderful review following you stay with us. I'm delighted to read how much you enjoyed your room and that you were looked after well by my team. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes Paul Goodwin, Manager

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Exquisite, is the word I would use to describe this hotel. On arrival, we were greeted warmly and from that moment on, nothing was too much trouble. The beautiful decor is contemporary with a subtle coastal theme; a roaring log burner added warmth and a homely touch. It was such a relaxing space to read or simply take in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherineloly
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Mark and Catherine, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us for a special birthday. It was wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your time and that you were looked after well by my team. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in the future. Best wishes Paul Goodwin,...

Oxfordshire. UK
Reviewed 20 February 2017

My wife and I have just returned from a three night stay at this astonishing hotel. The hotel itself is perfection; everything is presented to the highest possible standard and has a very relaxing atmosphere. Its location just above the sea wall is fabulous with sea views from most rooms and all of the public areas. The food in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LotusOxfordshire_UK
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Alan and Jan, Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the hotel, bedrooms, views and especially the food. It is also a pleasure to read that my team helped to make your stay enjoyable and I will pass on your special thanks to Kirsty and...

Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Having stayed at The Atlantis, The Mondrian, Soho House, The Zetter and Dean Street Townhouse in the last year I feel like I've been lucky enough to experience some amazing hotels. The Idle Rocks is not an amazing hotel. Its a hotel that thinks its five star. Its not. Its a hotel that can't get a soft boiled egg right....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lee M
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Lee, Thank you for your review following your stay with us in August 2016. Clearly some time has passed since your visited and as you can see from more recent reviews, guests seem to be enjoying a much more positive experience. That being said, we take all feedback seriously and I would still appreciate the chance to talk to...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with a wonderful team. The attention to detail is magnificent and the staff were all so welcoming and helpful throughout our 3 night stay. The food and drink selection was perfect and we even enjoyed tea and scones on arrival. The breakfast selection was one of the best ever. The views are very special with the harbour just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bailois
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Baillois, Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us for Diane's birthday. I'm delighted to read how much you and your wife enjoyed everything and especially that she enjoyed a special birthday with us. We hope to see you both again. Best wishes Paul Goodwin, Manager

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017

This hotel has been decorated in a modern, stylish manner. On arrival the relaxed friendly staff will make sure you are looked after. Our room overlooked the water and was fantastic. Seriously you could not getter a better sea view looking right over the harbour with the local fishing boats bobbing up and down. We slept with the door open...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terrye T
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Terrye, Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your room, the views, the tasting menu and wines. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly consider these when changes are being made. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes Paul...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Spent New Year 2016 at the Idle Rocks. Not the largest or the most expensive but simply the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Beautiful stylish and interesting decor, spacious bedroom (sea view bedroom) and bathroom, food was consistently exceptional but what made this hotel our favourite was the truly exceptional staff. Professional, friendly, helpful individuals who seemed genuinely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patriciapurcell1957
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Patricia, Thank you for your wonderful review following you stay with us over New Year. It was delightful to read and I'm so pleased that you enjoyed everything and my team looked after you so well. Next time you are looking to book please contact me directly on paul@idlerocks.com and I will be sure to look after you with...

Reviewed 15 January 2017

We spent 2 nights at the hotel between Christmas and New Year 2016 and I can honestly say it was one of the best places we have ever stayed. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were made to feel at home by each and every one of the wonderful kind and helpful staff. Room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola F
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this review

Dear Nicola, Thank you very much for writing your review, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay between Christmas and New Year and especially how my team looked after you and made you feel at home. When you are thinking of staying again please contact...

219 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (193)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (97)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.5 km away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
594 reviews
4.9 km away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
456 reviews
0.2 km away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
149 reviews
10.9 km away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
842 reviews
4.3 km away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Idle Rocks has the most enviable location in St Mawes, overlooking the harbour with views across the River Fal to Falmouth. Our 19 bedrooms, most with stunning vistas over the bay, have been thoughtfully designed, each having their own unique identity with fabulous fabrics and decor that leave you in no doubt that you are by the sea. After a long day lazing on the beach, our south facing terrace is the perfect place to relax, have a long drink, and watch the world go by. You may even see your dinner being landed on the harbourside.The Idle Rock's restaurant, run by our head chef, Guy Owen, is a celebration of Cornwall; showcasing a range of fabulous produce that has been sourced locally using only seasonal fresh ingredients. In many cases it will have been swimming right on our doorstep only a few hours earlier and while the food is of the very highest standard our setting is very relaxed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Idle Rocks

Address: Harbourside, St Mawes TR2 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Price Range: $319 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Idle Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idle Rocks Hotel
Idle Rocks St Mawes
The Idle Rocks St Mawes, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Idle Rocks staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Idle Rocks staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It is a 5 hour train ride from Paddington station in London...but well worth the trip ....Cornwall is beautiful!”
dorygeo, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Day visit only”
JudithM678, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Harbour view rooms are superb. Open the windows to hear the Ocean lapping soothingly.”
paulbraithwaite, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“choose a bath with a view!”
gchod1981, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are fabulous”
LotusOxfordshire_UK, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$221* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$221
Booking.comUS$221
Orbitz.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates