We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

New Inn

TripAdvisorUS$87*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$87*
US$87*
US$87*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
New Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 179: English reviews
Start your review of New Inn
 Click to rate
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a disappointing time in this hotel. We had booked a double room with en suite through an agency a month earliier and when we arrived we were told we had to share a bathroom - no en suites left. We were told they had a lot of problems with this agency. Secondly although there was supposed to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMH57
kent
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This 300 year hotel is not corporate its been owned by the same family. The walk down from the car park is breath taking. The hotel is friendly and food was hot, bedrooms are lovely and comfortable with plenty of hot water. Have suggested having the breakfast up in the visitors center so you dont have to walk up the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blueboytwo
Stawell, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were lucky to get a room at the New Inn over Easter..... Fantastic room, very comfortable and warm. Great dinner and a very good breakfast. The New Inn is full of character..... Friendly staff and patrons in the small bar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glennysr
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Half way up (or down) the pedestrian-only Clovelly hill stands the New Inn. We stayed in a room with a delightful balcony and were blessed by weather that allowed us to sit out with the tea we had made with the room facilities. The room was on the small side but full of character, especially with the small patio door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving lovely feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My traveling friends and I stayed at the New Inn. My wife and I visited the hotel forty-four years ago. Clovelly and the New Inn really hadn't changed. The rooms are still comfortable, the bath rooms up dated. The Inn and the town of Clovelly were truly made for each other.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TeePee43
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for leaving us some lovely feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Plymouth
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was pleased with the price we paid here and I think we got what we paid for. The shared bathroom option was cheaper, and we didn't see another person in the annexe on the opposite site of the road where our room was. The room was basic and the carpet needed a good clean but otherwise it was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda_mobile
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us lovely feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad you like our food and breakfast. We do hope to welcome you back to Clovelly again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was a pitstop on the coastal path in which we sought warmth, wifi, and a good meal. We got wifi. While the chilly breeze through the open was slightly irritating, the lady behind the bar did close it eventually. Unfortunately, guests would constantly leave it open when accessing the garden at the rear, leaving the dining area breezy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chillgrim
leicester
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped for 2 nights in the hotel part , the accommodation was clean and food was very good, with breakfast setting you up for the days walking. I would say that although got a bit of a captive market was reasonably priced and would recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brightsideup
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend us.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Don't expect anything too flash at the New Inn. If you like things a little bit rumpty you won't be disappointed. And I mean that in a nice way. We had the family room (room 1 from memory) at the New Inn which was tastefully furnished. Bathroom was very dated but clean and spacious. I found our queen bed very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Su V
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback, we do appreciate all feedback and work to improve our service any way we can. We do hope to see you again.

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We stayed for one night at Hamlyns B&B which is across the road from the New Inn and run by them. Avoid if you can, standard is around the hostel level, but at B&B prices, the New Inn itself looks like a better prospect, you take your breakfast in their restaurant, I had a boil in the bag kipper, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, single rooms in the New Inn are charged at £40.00 not £80.00. The £80.00 is for a double room. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, but are pleased you enjoyed Clovelly itself.

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clovelly
0.2 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clovelly
529 reviews
14.0 km away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
359 reviews
9.4 km away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bideford
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bideford
52 reviews
20.7 km away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
592 reviews
14.3 km away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about New Inn

Address: High Street, Clovelly EX39 5TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Clovelly
Price Range: $137 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — New Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Clovelly
New Inn Clovelly, UK - England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from New Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Aix en Provence
Aix en Provence

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from New Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The village is extremely quiet at night so any room would be good.”
glennysr, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“En suite costs more”
Linda_mobile, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The village has a very steep hill , be aware.”
johnmover077, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 6 for a solo person”
Penguin1234, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stunning location”
SimonW565, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$87* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$87
PricelineUS$87
LateRooms.comUS$87
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates