We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

New Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
New Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 173: English reviews
Start your review of New Inn
 Click to rate
leicester
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stopped for 2 nights in the hotel part , the accommodation was clean and food was very good, with breakfast setting you up for the days walking. I would say that although got a bit of a captive market was reasonably priced and would recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brightsideup
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Don't expect anything too flash at the New Inn. If you like things a little bit rumpty you won't be disappointed. And I mean that in a nice way. We had the family room (room 1 from memory) at the New Inn which was tastefully furnished. Bathroom was very dated but clean and spacious. I found our queen bed very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Su V
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night at Hamlyns B&B which is across the road from the New Inn and run by them. Avoid if you can, standard is around the hostel level, but at B&B prices, the New Inn itself looks like a better prospect, you take your breakfast in their restaurant, I had a boil in the bag kipper, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, single rooms in the New Inn are charged at £40.00 not £80.00. The £80.00 is for a double room. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, but are pleased you enjoyed Clovelly itself.

Minehead
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. We were not disappointed, it was a charming b&b and full of the history of Clovelly. It has been kept in keeping with the village. Parking is situated up at the vistor centre and you simply let them know there that you are staying at the New inn which includes your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Walking T
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you can appreciate things are in keeping with the village. We do hope we can welcome you back to the New Inn in the near future.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It's not cheap at £32.50 for a single room, our first night was in Westwood Ho at Mayfield b&b for £36, it was pure luxury! So the come down was harsh!, shared toilet and shower (not hot!) mould on walls, no TV, only a small Lamp for whole room... a very basic room! Over the road in the main Inn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review, we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. The main New Inn Hotel is £40.00 per night for a single and £80.00 for a double. We do appreciate all comments.

Exeter
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for two night anniversary break. Loved the hotel although the hill can be a challenge, especially after the massive breakfast they give you. Food was good and tasted home made. Have booked to return !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank truespirit41
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the New Inn.

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

An extremely hotel staff from start to finish. Our room no 7 was very clean and well fitted. Great food during our two night stay. We were a group of eight and all of us enjoyed our stay. A special thank to the barman.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnmover077
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. We are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us here at the New Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back to the New Inn in the future.

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We really enjoyed our short break in Clovelly at the beginning of December. What a superb location. The village is incredible and the walks around fantastic. You need good shoes and patience but it is very worthy. Staff was really nice and the pub cosy and welcoming. A place to come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lola N
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It would be lovely to welcome you back at any time.

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We stayed here for one night after 10 mile walk, arrived with our spaniel extremely wet. The staff were extremely helpful and our room was very quaint and welcoming. The food is good quality pub grub and the locals were very friendly. The breakfast was really tasty in the grand dining room, good value for money would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 97rose
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us. Dogs are always very welcome here at the New. We hope to see you again in the future.

Bridport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Popped in for a coffee, probably the worst coffee ever sampled. The whole place seemed run down and still in the sixties. Such a good location but no vision on how to attract customers. Pity. Better to walk down to the Red Lion on the harbours edge.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Malcolm H
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this review

We are so sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to the New Inn. We are an old traditional Inn and like to stay in keeping with the village.

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clovelly
0.2 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clovelly
520 reviews
14.0 km away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
356 reviews
9.4 km away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bideford
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
#7 of 12 in Bideford
41 reviews
20.7 km away
Hebasca
Hebasca
#1 of 9 in Bude
589 reviews
14.3 km away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about New Inn

Address: High Street, Clovelly EX39 5TQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Clovelly
Price Range: $116 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — New Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Clovelly
New Inn Clovelly, UK - England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from New Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Aix en Provence

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from New Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The village has a very steep hill , be aware.”
johnmover077, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 6 for a solo person”
Penguin1234, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stunning location”
SimonW565, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 has a lovely balcony with a seating area.”
minibreaksrule, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet as village is car free”
848kated, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5