We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 78: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
 Click to rate
Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had an excellent 4 day stay here in early April. The hotel's location is ideal for exploring Exeter on foot and is just across from Central Station if you arrive by train. We came by car and had read previous reviews about the shortage of on-site parking available and the cost of using the nearby multi-storey. After a bit of...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K1532ZGlindab
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear K1532ZGlindab We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel during your recent visit to "The Big E". It is lovely to continue to get great feedback about our refurbishment and how everyone loves the comfy beds! I hope that we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Bournemouth, Dorset
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend with a friend and had a great time. Service Was great, all staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel was amazing inside and modern rooms. Only a few minutes walk into town for local restaurants and a great location for seeing Exeter. Only downside is the car park is very small, so if there's a wedding...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nai55
About Hotel's Favourite Review
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nai55 Thank you for the lovely feedback about your recent stay at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont. It is lovely to see that you enjoyed your stay and were able to park at one of the nearby carparks from the Hotel. I hope that we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Fantastic and enjoyable evening - would thoroughly recommend it and can't wait for the next one. The staff were very friendly and the evening was very well organised. The meal was tasty and hot and the staff were very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _lisagloster71
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear _lisagloster71 Thank you for your lovely feedback about the recent Murder Mystery evening - I hope that you managed to guess who done it? I hope that we can welcome you back to the Hotel soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

County Durham
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked here for a five night stay for 2 adults on a flexible rate, however when checking my confirmation I realised it had only been confirmed for 1 adult to stay. I then sent an e mail to have the booking amended. After receiving 4 different confusing replies, the booking for 2 adults was eventually made. To my shock the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CYP_12
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CYP_12 Thank you for your honest feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay - in particular the compimentary upgrade to a Privilege room, which is indeed larger than our standard bedrooms, but also has additional features such as 48" TV, Nespresso coffee machine, bathrobes and slippers and fridge....

Totnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I last stayed here back in 2010 when it was still owned by Thistle and what a turnaround! Beautiful if small double room, bed was really comfortable and the shower was the best Ive ever had in a hotel! If only premier inn had showers like this! One of the best improvements for me personally has to be the abolition...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phoenix_rollins
RougemontExeter, Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear phoenix_rollins Thank you for your lovely feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel. We are all delighted to see that you have enjoyed the recent refurbishment of the Hotel and liked the new changes as part of our transformation into a Mercure Hotel. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Reviewed 1 week ago

Don't! I use this hotel for business and as a returning customer have had my loyalty rewarded with a room the size of a shoe box and terrible treatment by other (male) guests at the bar. Just because I booked single occupancy it doesn't mean I deserve a room that a normal sized adult can't actually unpack their suitcase in....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sara M Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the size of your room. As a Victorian Hotel we have a variety of room sizes which are available at different prices. We have looked in your booking and your company booked you in a standard single room. I appreciate if you have...

Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Mercure Rougemont charged my credit card twice for my stay 30 days apart. When I rang to sort no one was available to talk to me. Still awaiting a call back many hours later. Contemptuous customer care

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisfZ7021PC
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear chrisfZ7021PC I am extremely sorry that we were not able to resolve your issue in a speedy manner. I understand that you have been in contact with my assistant and he has resolved the situation to your satisfaction. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We spent the Easter Bank Holiday here & had a great time. The hotel was lovely with clean & comfortable rooms. The staff were also very helpful & friendly. Location was perfect too. Dead opposite Exeter Central & a few minutes walk from the High Street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Claire L Thank you for your feedback about your recent Easter break. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and loved our new bedrooms. I hope we can welcome you back soon Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On first impressions the hotel seems lovely and quite grand and a good base for Uni and train station The lady on reception had no record of my booking but luckily another off duty member of staff managed to find it, so check in was lengthy. The room was very small and quite clinical. Parking if you can manage to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cindy W I am sorry to see that you were disappointed with your stay. As a city centre Hotel we are situated right in the heart of Exeter which has its benefits of being close to a wide variety of restaurants and bars and also comes with the associated noise. To try and minamilise the noise, we have double...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A quality venue very proficiently run. Mercure are a professional outfit and given the size and location of the hotel do well. Parking is always at a premium. it has 98 well appointed rooms, great if you need a central location in Exeter itself. Drakes Bar is comfortable, it has contemporary surroundings servings drinks, snacks and light meals. Dinner 19:00...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MargaritaDevon
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MargaritaDevon Thank you for your lovely feedback detailing your recent stay at the Hotel. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay and also enjoyed Drakes Bar too. I hope we can welcome you back soon Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.7 km away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,525 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
827 reviews
0.3 km away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
590 reviews
0.4 km away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#26 of 31 in Exeter
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel is a classical Victorian hotel in Exeter city centre, close to the cathedral and directly opposite the railway station. The Mercure Exeter Rougemont has local attractions including the Castle and Rougemont Gardens within easy walking distance, with other attractions including stately homes, theme parks and the racecourse a short drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Address: Queen Street, Exeter EX4 3SP, England (Formerly The Rougemont Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: $114 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rougemont Hotel, Exeter Hotel Exeter
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Totnes, United Kingdom
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't book single occupancy - you'll be in a shoe box!”
, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Parking on site is limited, so I recommend you arrive early if possible, and costs an extra Ten Pounds for an overnight stay.”
MargaritaDevon, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ensure you are on floor 2-3.”
martinwM8032JW, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The fourth floor is quiet (no street noise) but hard to access”
rbgs, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 133 privilege room”
jaybri1622, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5