We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 77: English reviews
Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I can only speak from experience. We have now used this hotel on three occasions as our daughter is in her first year at the uni & we have used it as a base to visit her, mainly because it is the nearest hotel to campus & because it is very centrally located citywise. It more than meets your average...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sallyMonaghan
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sallyMonaghan Thank you for your constructive feedback - it is lovely to see that you enjoy the Hotel's location and newly refurbished bedrooms. With all of the benefits of our city centre location (access to transport, shopping, restaurants and bars) also comes the associated noise with being in the centre of town. I hope that you will continue to...

Naples, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

Parking ok but £10! Reception welcoming. Rooms on floors 4&5 hard to get to. No lift and streep stairs. The bedroom was so tight couldn't even get the chair from under the desk! Breakfast buffet fine, took ages to get tea and coffee.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin W Thank you for your constructive feedback - by the sounds of your description it seems you booked one of our cosy double bedrooms - these are smaller in size than our standard double rooms, but at a discounted rate are suitable for the budget concious traveller. It is great to see that you loved our city centre...

Egham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Opposite Exeter Central station in heart of Exeter City Centre (note the busier St Davids station is about 10-15 mins walk downhill away). Grand old hotel on front/reception that has been fully modernised to Mercure brand. I was very happy with room, comfy bed, plentiful storage/surface space, good lighting, large tv, excellent bathroom. Very good buffet breakfast (very slow clearing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Surrey361
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Surrey361 Thank you for your honest feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel. It is great to see that you liked our newly refurbished bedrooms - we are getting some lovely feedback about them and you have pointed out all the key things our guests love. I hope we can welcome you back soon Kind regards Craig Findleton...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall the stay was good it's just on the very first night when my colleague and I were checking in and my colleague specifically required a room that is not at the end nor right next to the lift. The receptionist I think her name is Leslie was not very friendly and assigned a room right next to the street...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kristixu
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kristixu I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with the service provided on arrival at the Hotel and note your comments in Chinese about the staff member concerned. We normally receive great feedback about the customer service that we provide at the Hotel, and indeed some great comments about Lesley and I am sorry that it does...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Right opposite Exeter CENTRAL train station. About 12 minutes walk from Exeter ST. DAVID station. Very convenient hotel for the city centre. Comfortable, warm hotel. Excellent breakfast. Although the floors were a bit creaky - even in the newer part. If we go back to Exeter, this will be the hotel we will stay at.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Geoff S Thank you for your lovely feedback about your recent stay at the Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel. I hope that we can welcome you back soon Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel if you want to be in the centre of town, parking is £10 a day if you can find a space in their car park which we usually do. Rooms have been revamped and bathrooms modernised, beds are comfortable and staff are extremely helpful. We didn't eat at the hotel as there are any number of wonderful places...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DebsDorset
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DebsDorset Thank you for your lovely comments - it is great to see that you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms and loved our city centre location - we are right in the heart of Exeter and I'm pleased you found some great local places to visit. I hope we can welcome you again soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL...

Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visiting family in Exeter we booked into the Mercure Hotel. We had a Privilege room costing £120, breakfast was not included and neither is parking; the cost to park your car overnight is £10. Personally, I think this should be included in the price of your stay. The room was a good size, great, comfortable bed (I paid extra for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen M Thank you for your lovely feedback - it is nice to see that you enjoyed the Privilege room and loved the new King size bed. Unfortunately as we have limited carpark spaces we are unable to include the carpark in the bedroom price as we are unable to guarantee that a guest gets a spot. With our...

Yelverton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SAEick
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Rude general manager who thinks that customers should understand terminology they use within the hotel. How would I be able to know that advanced purchase bookings are not eligible for cancellation or amendment? All I wanted is to stay on another occasion even if it meant that I need to pay extra.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerdagru
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gerdagru I am disappointed that you have decided to state your dissatisfaction on multiple websites about the fact that you are unable to cancel or amend your advance purchase booking - particularly after as stated on the phone you have previously benefited from the discounted rate, with the same terms and conditions on previous stays at the Hotel. For...

Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent location near central station and easy trivia links to Exmouth or Torbsy. Well located for city centre resturants and shops. Service was very good. The standard room was a little small but good. No need to use the car during our stay which was a bonus

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cefn b
RougemontExeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cefn b Thank you for your great feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel - we are a great base to explore Exeter and the surrounding area and our location right opposite Exeter Central Station helps exploration within minutes! I hope that we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.7 km away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,515 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
826 reviews
0.3 km away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
589 reviews
0.4 km away
St. Olaves Court
St. Olaves Court
#26 of 31 in Exeter
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel is a classical Victorian hotel in Exeter city centre, close to the cathedral and directly opposite the railway station. The Mercure Exeter Rougemont has local attractions including the Castle and Rougemont Gardens within easy walking distance, with other attractions including stately homes, theme parks and the racecourse a short drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Address: Queen Street, Exeter EX4 3SP, England (Formerly The Rougemont Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: $114 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rougemont Hotel, Exeter Hotel Exeter
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Totnes, United Kingdom
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't book single occupancy - you'll be in a shoe box!”
, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Parking on site is limited, so I recommend you arrive early if possible, and costs an extra Ten Pounds for an overnight stay.”
MargaritaDevon, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ensure you are on floor 2-3.”
martinwM8032JW, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The fourth floor is quiet (no street noise) but hard to access”
rbgs, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 133 privilege room”
jaybri1622, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5