We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

975 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 942: English reviews
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Great location easy to find arrived late pain to park had to off load bags and go down the road to multi story parking had to be out by 8 next morning or pay by chance managed to park in hotel car parking which was great room clean but hot even with fan on all night great helpful staff maybe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eileen M Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay at the Hotel. It is nice to see that you enjoyed the location, clean rooms and friendly staff. We are constantly looking at ways to improve what we offer to our guests and will definitely look at the possibility of mini fridges when the Hotel is refurbished. Kind regards...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2015

Good location, it is opposite the central station in Exeter and looks at one time to have been a station hotel, very grand and regal looking. Staff were friendly and efficient, rooms were clean and of a standard you would expect. In places the hotel is a little tired looking, Parking is limited and charged at £8 per night. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David M Thanks for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Hotel. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel, in particular our central location. We are in the process of carrying out an ongoing improvement programme to ensure that the bedroom product matches the friendly service that our staff...

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2015

As I use a wheelchair, our entrance to the hotel was by a very unsatisfactory metal ramp. We had an aplogy from the receptionists and were told that a better ramp was on order. For our 4 night stay we managed the ramp situation by my getting out of the chair and walking up or down the steps while my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley R
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shirley R Thank you for your constructive feedback on your recent stay at the Hotel. It is great to see that you enjoyed the Hotel's central location and indeed your stay in our suite. As we are a Victorian Hotel we do have areas of the Hotel which do require the use of some steps to access the rooms....

Telford
Reviewed 20 June 2015

A nice hotel - we stayed around xmas as it was a perfect location for shopping trips around the city. Our room was great - we chose a family room and it was huge! Generally clean and a really lovely breakfast. Not a great night sleep though as there was a function at the hotel that night so very noisy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsShephard
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Shephard Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay back in December. As you were stay was during the Christmas period, I think you would have stayed during some of our Christmas parties. We do try to ensure that guests attending the parties are given rooms right above the function rooms so that guests are...

Reviewed 15 June 2015

We had a fantastic night for a birthday celebration dinner in the Derby. The room set up was perfect. The food was excellent and all the staff were helpful and professional especially Molly who was great. Would highly recommend the hotel for a private function or party.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia W
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julia W Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent birthday party at the Hotel. The Derby is a lovely function room for special occasions and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your party with us. I hope that we can welcome you again soon to the Hotel. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Melksham
Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on a business trip and was thoroughly disappointed. The hotel has very limited parking, and is extremely dated. The welcome was warm enough but then it's a fair trek to the rooms, through many doors and down various corridors. In the room, the bed was fairly uncomfortable...you could feel the springs in the mattress....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James N
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James N Thank you for your honest opinions of your stay at the Hotel. As a Victorian Hotel we are not a stereotypical chain Hotel, so our Hotel has a lot of character and our bedrooms are different shapes and sizes. We are open and honest about the size of our carpark, luckily being a city centre Hotel means...

Reviewed 13 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed at this hilariously rated four star hotel in June for a wedding. The reason I say hilariously is because it should be rated two star maximum. Inside the room is great, until you realise there is absolutely no air conditioning and the room is very very hot, even in cold weather. Opening the windows fully doesn't make a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sean B
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sean B Thank you for taking time to provide your honest feedback on your recent stay at the Hotel. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately we do not have air-conditioning in our bedrooms, however we do have portable fans in the rooms which are used to moderate the temperature, which having checked your room,...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2015

Stayed again June 2015 for a night. Ideal for shopping and train station. We had a room this time on inside of building with the fan outside, very loud and as it was warm louder as needed window open. But the staff are very friendly and I think room location is pot luck, I would return again as we enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A2BTraveller34
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear A2BTraveller34 Thanks for your third review detailing your stay at the Thistle. It is great to have you returning back to the Hotel and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay again. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2015 via mobile

Check in was simple but I wasn't advised how much parking would be. They only notified me on my check out. I got an easy night sleep, the hotel had a function on but I wasn't disturbed. The breakfast was good, there was a good selection. I came back and there was a bird in my rooms. As I wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evie T
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Evie I am sorry to see that you are disappointed that you were not informed about the carparking charge. As mentioned on other reviews on this site, we ensure through all of the online booking agents, including our own Thistle.com and welcome email that carparking is charged at £8 over night and is on a first come, first serve...

Reviewed 9 June 2015 via mobile

This has to be one of the noisiest hotels I have ever stayed in. You can hear all the noise from the room next door, walking round on the creaky floorboards, conversations, the hair dryer, even things being put in and take out of the wardrobe is very noisy. You can hear pretty much everything. I was woken at 5.30...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Binky1234
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Binky123 I so sorry to see that you were disturbed by the noise in the Hotel. Although your comments are not stereotypical to the majority of our rooms, as a Victorian Hotel some guests find the traditional floorboards as quirky. I have asked our Housekeeping team to look into your comments of being able to hear other guests put...

123 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.6 km away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.8 km away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
1,115 reviews
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed
0.6 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
764 reviews
0.3 km away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel is a classical Victorian hotel in Exeter city centre, close to the cathedral and directly opposite the railway station. The Mercure Exeter Rougemont has local attractions including the Castle and Rougemont Gardens within easy walking distance, with other attractions including stately homes, theme parks and the racecourse a short drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Address: Queen Street, Exeter EX4 3SP, England (Formerly The Rougemont Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: $113 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rougemont Hotel, Exeter Hotel Exeter
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front of hotel 2nd floor was OK in terms of access and noise but was rather small”
 of 5 bubbles 745ruthh, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“get a room on the first 2 floors”
 of 5 bubbles 86nigelt, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't accept Room 103 - it looks out onto a brick wall.”
  • Bedroom
  • Bedroom
 of 5 bubbles rosecrystal, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 204 and didn't have any problems. Drawers for storage, even bedside cabinets rather than tables would be useful”
 of 5 bubbles DreamCatcher103, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay clear of the twin rooms above”
 of 5 bubbles JAPCornwallUK, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay