We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

957 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 924: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2015

Comfortable hotel opposite the station and just a short walk from the cathedral and shopping area. Staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful, and the breakfast was lovely. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leelu1989
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leelu1989 Thank you for your feedback - It's really great to see that you enjoyed the service provided by the team and loved our new-look breakfast! I hope we can welcome you back soon Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER craig.findleton@thistle.co.uk

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2015

This hotel has interior character and is ideally located for the centre of the city and its attractions. The foyer and lobby areas are spacious and airy with plenty of comfortable seating. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful at all times and were keen to assist guests with the provision of maps and advice etc. As noted in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephenw825
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephenw825 Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Hotel. We are really pleased that you had a pleasant stay and I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2015 via mobile

A beautiful hotel in the city centre with a great potential however. Not all rooms are equal despite the prices being equal. If you you are booking for friends and want to ensure they are happy I recommend you check the rooms. The parking is really lacking and leaves a lot to be desired but luckily here are council car...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jimlillie
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JimLillie First of all I would just like to say on behalf of our team congratulations - I hope that your wedding went well. As a Victorian Hotel, we do have a variety of rooms which are all different sizes. We do alter the prices for different size rooms, however no two bedrooms are exactly the same which adds...

Reviewed 24 April 2015 via mobile

I stayed midweek, and found the hotel to have a very pleasant appearance inside and out - a very traditional look with very spacious bedroom accomodation. The reception team were very helpful, as were the staff in both Drake bar and restaurant at dinner and breakfast. Car parking is charged at an additional £8 a day but that was reasonable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison J
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alison J We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and found the rooms to be spacious and the staff very helpful. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Reviewed 21 April 2015 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in this hotel when we came to Exeter to get engaged. The hotel staff were very friendly and the room was very spacious and well kept. Upon getting engaged we came back to a lovely card from the hotel congratulating us which was really lovely

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elliott B
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elliot B On behalf of my team I would like to congratulate you again on your engagement. I do know that the team were excited to see that you became engaged whilst staying at the Hotel and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2015

I've stayed here a couple of times now when visiting Exeter and as a place to stay it's quiet given it's location and it is very well placed for town and the train station. The room I had this time was clean, well presented and exactly what I was expecting. My only real complaint about the hotel is parking -...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bronzehouse
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SteveGo Thanks for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Hotel. It is good to see that you had a great stay. We try to be as open and transparent with guests in terms of the size of our carpark and that due to the size is on a first come, first serve basis. As...

Saltash, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2015

We really enjoyed our weekend there and we were on a course. We tied in the course and a bit of evening entertainment and had a great time The room was clean however the bed was very uncomfortable and quite stuffy. We could not open the window without the noise of the kitchen's extractor fans working away. The hotel itself...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bobseastendcafe
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BobEastendCafe We are really pleased to see that you found us to be a good Hotel, although I am sorry that you had a poor experience with our bed. I would be most grateful if you could possibly contact me with details of your stay so we can look into your comments further. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER...

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2015 via mobile

I stay at this hotel at least 4 times a month and have to say it never fails me. The reception staff are well informed, friendly and efficient, the rooms well appointed, the food is also good for both dinner and breakfast. The hotel is ideally located for Central station, and cheaper to park than the NCP if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank buzz1981
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Buzz1981 Thanks for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. It is great to see that we are your Hotel of choice in Exeter! I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2015

Stayed for first time visit in Exeter for the weekend.Hotel is in great location right in the city centre and is right opposite Exeter central rail station.On arrival we were given the wrong room we had booked but it was changed with no problem at all.Hotel itself is very nice although car parking space is very limited.Room itself was nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben19732014
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ben19732014 I am really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and that the team managed to sort out the room allocation with minimum disruption to your stay. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2015

Everything about our stay at the hotel was great. The team on the front desk were great, professional and very friendly - and were brilliant on the detail - even providing an Easter Egg for my daughter. We stayed for a birthday shopping and food trip, housekeeping also provided chocolates - little details that show a sense of individuality and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dave M
Thistleexeter, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DaveM Thank you so much for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Hotel. It is great to see that you enjoyed your Easter break with us and it is nice to hear that your daughter enjoyed her Easter egg! I hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards Craig Findleton GENERAL MANAGER

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.7 km away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.8 km away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#15 of 31 in Exeter
1,079 reviews
0.3 km away
ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#10 of 31 in Exeter
1,369 reviews
0.6 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#9 of 31 in Exeter
751 reviews
0.3 km away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#11 of 31 in Exeter
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel is a classical Victorian hotel in Exeter city centre, close to the cathedral and directly opposite the railway station. The Mercure Exeter Rougemont has local attractions including the Castle and Rougemont Gardens within easy walking distance, with other attractions including stately homes, theme parks and the racecourse a short drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel

Address: Queen Street, Exeter EX4 3SP, England (Formerly The Rougemont Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: $108 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rougemont Hotel, Exeter Hotel Exeter
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles cliffna, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“consider the noise when booking at the front the club rooms are really nice but the one in stayed in was front facing”
 of 5 bubbles buckrogers5, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask about refurbished rooms”
 of 5 bubbles CornwallLily, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor front facing rooms offer views of busy area around station while being very peaceful”
 of 5 bubbles jamieben, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay.”
 of 5 bubbles NicholasL296, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay