We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Show Prices
#7 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,924 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,861: English reviews
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015

I booked via a comparison site and was specific about what I wanted...Twin not double, high floor not low, quiet room away from lifts, doors stairs etc.... To be sure I got what I wanted I emailed a copy of the booking direct to the hotel and received a reply from a human. Also double checked that the hotel still...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank max7654
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Max 7654, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive review of your recent stay at the Mercure Exeter. I am deeply disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your, or indeed our, expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies. Rather than address all of your concerns in a lengthy e-mail I would welcome the...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015

The location of the hotel is excellent for activities in Exeter and nearby. We had a privilege room on the second floor overlooking the car park (which was quiet and no noise). The room was not as big as I had hoped for as it was a privilege room but it was well decorated and the bathroom (with shower) was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mags999_12
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mags999_12, Thank you for leaving such a positive review on TA following your recent stay at Mercure Exeter. I am absolutely delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and I will pass on your compliments to Aldric who will be absolutely thrilled to have been mentioned in this way. I hope to be able to welcome...

Southern England
Reviewed 29 June 2015

The hotel is easy to find, with a good sized car park which is a little expensive at £12 per night, but very convenient and secure. Nice spacious reception area, with friendly and helpful staff. We stayed for three nights, in a standard twin room. The room had comfortable, good quality beds and linen. The duvets, however, were a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayare14
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jayare14, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Mercure Exeter. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us an do hope that you will visit us again. I am sorry that you found our breakfast price rather expensive for those that have smaller appetites - we do offer...

Melbourne
Reviewed 29 June 2015 via mobile

Lovely to have real eggs for breakfast and such a wonderful variety for the breakfast buffet. Felt spoilt for choice! One of the waiters, a Spanish man, is lovely and enthusiastically welcoming and helpful. Rooms are comfortable and the bath/shower gel provided is really nice. Only thing is there is moisturiser and 3-ply toilet paper on the ground floor public...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GratitudeTravels
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear menad38, I am delighted that you took the time to review your recent stay with us at the Mercure Exeter and thrilled that you had such an enjoyable breakfast. I will ensure that Aldric, who looked after you, has sight of your lovely comments. He will be over the moon! I do hope to be able to welcome you...

London, England
Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

Me and my other half stayed here for 2 nights and found the hotel very nice. Our room and the hotel were nicely decorated and the staff very friendly. The gym and spa are just the right size and the on site parking was one of the reasons we chose the hotel. It is also very close to the city...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vonvon149
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear vonvon149, It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Thank you for your recommendation - I do hope it will encourage others to visit us in the future. I hope to be able to welcome you back the Mercure Exeter in the not too distant future when we will ensure your...

Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

I'm disappointed at the service we revived here. My nearly 80 yeah old grandmother came down for the weekend to visit and booked in advance over the phone and requested to have a room with a bath and windows as she has breathing problems. We arrive and they booked her into a room on the ground floor near to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ella M
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ella M, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent at the Mercure Exeter. I was disappointed to hear that your grandmother experienced a number of issues with the room and its comfort. Please accept my sincere apologies for this. We operate a very robust maintenance and housekeeping programme throughout the hotel and this instance it appears...

Manchester
Reviewed 27 June 2015 via mobile

I visit Exeter regularly and have stayed at numerous hotels and from a business point of view I think that the Mercure is an excellent option. The best wi-fi I've had at an hotel, very good quality breakfast, very helpful and friendly staff. Only complaint would be no bottled water in the rooms and the shower flooded whilst using both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sa6dba
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sa6dba, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review following your recent stay; and with such a great headline! My sincere apologies for the issues that you experienced with the shower. I will be sure to pass your comments to the maintenance team for their immediate attention. I do hope that you will visit the...

St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2015

A great hotel to stay in, walking distance to the city centre, ample parking on site, good clean hotel, friendly staff, food very good but plenty of local places to eat, close to everything you need in the City centre and reasonable prices.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael I
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael I, I am delighted that you had such a positive stay while with us at the Mercure Exeter. Thank you for taking the time to review us. I do hope that you will visit us again in the not too distant future. Best wishes, Amy Gleadow Operations Manager

Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2015

We were a party of six celebrating Father's Day ( three days after the event). As we had enjoyed Mother's Day at the hotel a month or two ago, we had hoped for a similar experience but were disappointed, not in the food or the service, but in the lack of atmosphere. Our table was in side room and we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sunnyley
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sunnyley, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience in The Gatehouse Restaurant. I am sorry to read that the restaurant lacked the atmosphere you had experienced on Mother's Day but I am pleased that the service and food met your expectations. I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you...

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2015

We were made very welcome and our room was wonderful including the bed and bedding. The bathroom was very roomy and had everything you could need. We ate at the hotel in the evening and had a wonderful meal. Breakfast was buffet style with load of choice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 9elliot999
Fiona D, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 9elliot999, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Mercure Exeter. I am delighted that you had such a positive experience and I do hope that we may be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Best wishes, Amy Gleadow Operations Manager

247 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (178)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.7 km away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
0.1 km away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
1,197 reviews
0.7 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
829 reviews
0.9 km away
Queens Court
Queens Court
#13 of 31 in Exeter
590 reviews
3.3 km away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 star city centre hotel which is a great base for exploring the devon coast & dartmoor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel

Address: Southernhay East, Exeter EX1 1QF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: $153 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Southgate Exeter
Mercure Exeter
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book a Superior (or Privilege) room for king size bed, instead of the Classic, which only has a classic double bed.”
990juditv, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“View of the Cathedral and rural Devon a nice touch”
andreacV5144NH, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All clean and comfortable”
ChesterLeStreet, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Cathedral view side are quieter”
michelle2306, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear are quieter”
113maureend, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5