We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

530 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 522: English reviews
Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Made to feel welcome on arrival, all staff were accommodating, polite and courteous throughout the duration of our stay. Afternoon tea was lovely plenty to eat and the half price bubbly was a real treat, the hotel itself sits in beautiful surroundings, we sat and had our afternoon tea in the garden in the warm sunshine. The room was lovely,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kerry b
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kerry, thank you for your wonderful review. I'm pleased your birthday treat exceeded your expectations and we all look forward to welcoming you back very soon. kindest regards

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2015

I arrive have 2 bags, suits and shirts on hangers about 5metres from door with young lady in front of me she looks round when going through door but obviously decides not to hold it open for me. Thought it was rude, I go in and can't believe to see she is a member of staff!!! Not much smiling going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy B
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jeremy, thanks for your review. I will take your comments on board where relevant; especially with smiley staff.

Ferndown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Room was ready when we arrived (1.30) so checked in straight away. Receptionist friendly and helpful. We were in room 7 which was slightly dim - nicely decorated, clean and lovely ensuite. Exeter City centre is a good 20 minute walk but there are bus stops right outside the hotel. First evening we ate in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Paul, thanks for your lovely review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to be welcoming you back very soon. kind regards

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

Booked this as a romantic weekend away with the other half and we were somewhat disappointed. The room decor was tired and I feel did not match the appearance of the rooms displayed on line. The bathroom was attractive but hot water was sporadic. Breakfast was chaotic due to understaffing, and our cooked breakfast on the first morning was cold....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IWJones
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr Jones, thanks for your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and would like to thank you for your observations.

Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Stopped here for 10 nights for a local business course. The two different rooms I stayed in over the 2 weeks were clean, with nice bathrooms. Towels and bedding changed on regular basis. Laptop safe was a bonus. However the dated bare brickwork in the rooms could be updated. The food was a real let down. If you were only...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank L45key
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Gary, thanks for your review. Your comments and observations will be reviewed accordingly.

New York
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

The hotel was in a great location and has that old style look about it. The room was compact but suited our needs for the night. We walked into Exeter and had a pleasant evening. The room was well located and comfortable and we slept well on the first floor. Breakfast was fine with our order being cooked on request...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trevor C
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Trevor, thanks for your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and would be happy to return. Hope to be welcoming you back soon.

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2015

Room was OK, a little tired but met the needs for the two week stay (business stay for a course locally). The hotel itself was also tired looking generally, particularly for its 4 star rating. The main issue for the group I stayed with was the inconsistency with the catering. On several occasions food that was witnessed as being very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MCS14
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review

Dear MCS14, thanks for your review. Your observations are appreciated and will be reviewed accordingly.

Sleaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2015

Slightly tired, with limited, expensive menus. This place could compete with the normal business overnighters, but feels like they're aiming to make as much profit as possible this year without thinking about next. Room ok, staff friendly enough but always looking pressed for time, food acceptable but pricey. Look elsewhere

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mick D
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mick D, thanks for your review.

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 September 2015

I would just like thank the Buckerell Lodge hotel for a wonderful week end 12/9/15. Although this year we were only a small group the hotel and all the staff made us feel special. We had a lovely visit with excellent meals and service from all the staff concerned. All our group were very happy, thought the Hotel was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank puffaqueen
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review

...and thank you very much Puffaqueen! So pleased you all enjoyed your reunion.

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Booked two rooms, one single and a twin on a Friday evening and after a long journey we were looking forward to a comfortable stay. Unfortunately this hotel didn't meet our expectations. The first thing, there was no telephone in the room. We were told it had broken and it was replaced within an hour. Next, there were no towels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail S
John M, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Gail, thank you for your comments and observations. I'm sure your next trip will be a good one.

259 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (29)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (160)
Viewed
Amenities (4)
Viewed
Executive Bridal Suite (26)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Single Room with Shower (17)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (23)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
1.6 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,444 reviews
2.0 km away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
2.2 km away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#5 of 31 in Exeter
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
6.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
1.5 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just a mile from Exeter City Centre, surrounded by mature trees and 4 acres of landscaped gardens the hotel has easy access from the motorway and ample free onsite parking. Good quality restaurant, bar meals and room service is available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge

Address: Topsham Road, Exeter EX2 4SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: $94 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Expedia so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckerell Hotel Exeter
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“some low numbers have access to the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles SGP_Kent, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If disabled or with mobility issues, book a room on the ground floor. If single don't expect too much.”
 of 5 bubbles peterg805, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some ground floor rooms have direct access to the garden with patio doors”
 of 5 bubbles hazel449, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Head for the far end of the building - the modern extension, by the fire exit”
 of 5 bubbles Mandersabroad, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back as the hotel is very near the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles najllib, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5