We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gipsy Hill Hotel

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gipsy Hill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

469 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gipsy Hill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 464: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came here for a 2 night stay and it was fantastic. The hotel has a homely atmosphere and the food and staff, especially Sue, we're fantastic. Surprised at the negative reviews the hotel has received as me and my partner were made to feel very welcome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Polarquake56
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked this hotel online in error. I realised my mistake within a couple of minutes so immediately contacted them to advise them and ask if they would refund me the full payment I had made. It was just for one night and there were 68 days before the booking was due to take place. I was informed that it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jan S
NightingaleExeter, Front Office Manager at Gipsy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

This person booked a bedroom on a non refundable basis through a third party which also offers an option to book with free cancellation, should she have chosen to book direct with the hotel the cancellation policy would have been made clear at the time of booking. We did offer this person the opportunity to move the booking to an...

Liskeard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I have just stayed at the Gipsy Hill Hotel for three nights where I was running training sessions for 12 people at a time (six half-day courses across three days so around 70 participants in all). The location is very convenient being on the edge of the city and close to the M5, and the accommodation is comfortable and clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petekennard65
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a two night break, on arrival were asked to pay up front,which I refused, given room in annexe, they call the coach house, no sound proofing very noisy, we could hear the guy above having a pee. A poor quality buffet breakfast was offered. We didn't stay the second night. This is not a hotel if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paul t
NightingaleExeter, Front Office Manager at Gipsy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that Mr Turness did not enjoy his stay with us. Our hotel is sited over 3 buildings should Mr Turness have expressed on check in that he would have preferred a room in the Main part of the Hotel we would have endeavoured to have met his wishes. I do not belive our breakfast is...

newcastle-under-lyme, staffs
Reviewed 20 March 2017

I used this Hotel on Sunday, I needed a meeting room to interview someone, I chose it for its location near the M5, and availability for a Sunday, the staff who dealt with my booking met my needs very well, and my room was just what I needed, and at a good value price too. I didn't get much chance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john b
Torpoint, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

I managed to get a late deal on booking.com and was only staying one night as I had a gym class in the morning. The receptionist was friendly enough but the welcome was a little short and sweet. No mention of wifi etc. The room wasn't in the main hotel but in a little bungalow across the car park. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daddybear101
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

What a lovely little gem this place is. Yes its a little dated but who cares. Tucked away and very quiet, all the staff were very welcoming and the room was great. Such a comfy bed. Breakfast was insanely nice (apart from the black pudding). When we checked out it almost felt like we leaving our parents house. We will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rolo1981
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Lovely place to stay, amazingly helpful staff, friendly atmosphere, The staff went above and beyond to make us comfortable and we're very helpful. The room was spacious and clean and a comfy bed. Will definitely be staying again if I ever need to stay in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mich86y
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We stayed in the bungalow the room was clean...The staff were very helpful and even made us takeaway bacon sarnies the morning we had to leave. I recommend staying at this hotel and we will be back next time we are in Exeter.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mxch2017
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017

This is an ideal place to escape from the stress but close to the M5 and not going to break the bank. The staff are delightful, food excellent and the rooms are pleasant and comfortable. Oh, did I mention the views that even with hurricane Doris still looked great. They even have a special room for people with a dog....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StrawberryBT

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
10.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
4.1 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
481 reviews
4.3 km away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
4.9 km away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Exeter's best kept secret hotel The Gipsy Hill Hotel is surrounded by three acres of beautiful landscaped gardens and is a taste of the Devon countryside mere miles away from the vibrant & historic, Cathedral city of Exeter. You are guaranteed a warm welcome from our friendly and efficient staff right from the moment you arrive, till the moment we wish you a safe journey. With two free car parking spaces per room and free Wifi, The Gipsy Hill really is a home from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gipsy Hill Hotel

Address: Gipsy Lane | Monkerton, Exeter EX1 3RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: $95 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gipsy Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gipsy Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exeter Best Western
Best Western Exeter
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gipsy Hill Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Bournemouth, United Kingdom

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Gipsy Hill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask at the hotel , they have a good variety of rooms”
johnb741, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Premier room has a bay window and best views”
StrawberryBT, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stayed in two rooms and both excellent but room no.1 was exceptional”
susanwK7739HJ, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms were perfect and quiet.”
823olivern, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Discuss your needs with the very helpful Staff”
RayQ924, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5