We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Hart Hotel

Traveller (187)
Room & Suite (62)
Dining (39)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The White Hart Hotel is a Public House which boasts 55 newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms (October 2015). All are non-smoking and inclusive of full English breakfast and FREE PARKING. (THE HOTEL CARPARK DOES NOT EXCEPT LWB Vans, Large vehicles, Campers & large commercial vehicles. The hotel is an old 'Coaching Inn' built in 1356! And is situated in the City Centre within the old city walls. There was an extension built on the back for 32 of the rooms in 1971 (These rooms have lift access). However the remainder rooms including the suite are located in the 'Old Part' above the Inn (These involve stairs and no lifts.) This part is a 'listed'property as the building is an 'historical place of interest' due to its part in Medievil history. The Pub boasts a large 'Chargrill Menu' concentrating on Steaks, Burgers & traditional pub classics to suit all tastes. There are 2 bars. The 'Tap Bar' is open 7 days a week and is traditional 'Olde Worlde' pub still with all the Medieval fixtures & fittings that has lots of fine Real Ales to choose from. And a 'Cider Bar' that opens at weekends and was newly refurbished in October 2015 & is where breakfast is served every morning. The pub also boasts an exclusive 'Secret Garden' very popular with couples. It's ideally situated to enjoy all the city has to offer, from its famous Gothic Cathedral, The Quay & the Princesshay shopping centre.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast Available
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
1,090Reviews
314Photos
8Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 391
  • 471
  • 141
  • 48
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The receptionist was very welcoming and cheerful and checked us in easily and also sorted out our query regarding the car parking - it is free for guests so no need to get a ticket. The car park notice board says to get a ticket and then produce a copy to get the amount taken
Read more
Response from Whitehartexeter, Manager at White Hart Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Hi NiceNise. Thank you for your comments we value your feedback and we will look into this matter as we are disappointed that your stay was not up to standards, We hope you give us another chance in the future. Kind Regards, Jamie
Read more
We visited last Aug. The staff are very friendly and genuinely care. The pub had great food and a real British warm atmosphere. Overall, a great experience and we would definitely recommend and go there again next time we're in Exeter.
Read more
Response from Whitehartexeter, Manager at White Hart Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Hi Collins, Thank you for your time to leave a review, We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Jamie
Read more
Booked with friend for 2 nights to follow football team. Very friendly staff, always happy to help or give advice. Fabulous 600 year old quirky building, very clean and comfortable rooms with pub and restaurant on site. Real ales and good food at very reasonable prices. City
Read more
Response from Whitehartexeter, Manager at White Hart Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Hi Alan, Thank you for your positive review, We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon, Kind Regards, Jamie
Read more
Since the carver ended, Sunday lunch is not as good. The food is served at your table and is clearly not cut from the joint. Very disappointed. Won’t go again. Standards being lowered. A shame. Good atmosphere though
Read more
Response from Whitehartexeter, Manager at White Hart Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Christoskelton, Thank you for your feedback I am sorry that you feel this way, we always appreciate feedback from customers to improve. Kind Regards, The White Hart Team
Read more
We decided to have a Xmas social here. The place was packed but we were welcomed in a friendly way by a lovely Scottish lady. We were waiting on a few more people to arrival and not once did she rush us to get our meals served. The food was top notch, we had the Xmas 3 course.
Read more
Response from Whitehartexeter, Assistant Manager at White Hart Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Lisa, thank you very much for our feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a good time and you want to come back this year. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Janina
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
Bathroom
Photo provided by managementWhite Hart Hotel
Double Room
How Clean is Your Bed.?.?.
inside Your Duvet
PreviousNext
12345613
Not to my knowledge and I have stayed there quite a few times
0 votes
Hi, we are not selling any drinks after the bar closes, but there is a Costcutter just across the road which is open 24 hours. Hope that helps!
1 vote
Show all answers
I didn't have an iron in my room, but I'm sure the staff would get one for you, the staff were soooo helpful whwn I was there!
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi If you ring & book direct there are 6ft doubles.
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi There is a Dry Cleaning business right by us and they also do a washing service. We do not offer this service ourselves but it is a short 20 meter walk to store.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"Any room in the new wing."
"Only eat in the restaurant did not book a room"
"Previously stayed in the new bit, which was quieter."
"ask to see if there is a quiet room"
"Ask not to overlook the car park"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$68 - US$108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
white hart exeterhotel white hart
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandExeter
NUMBER OF ROOMS
55
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing