We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel du Vin Exeter

Show Prices
#15 of 31 Hotels in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Expert photos
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,079 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,068: English reviews
Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Stayed for a short mid week break part business part pleasure. Arrived after a very early start and long meeting. No parking to be had ... ok not a big deal then asked for a glass of Malbec at the bar ... sorry haven't any for a week don't know the code??? Ok I'll have a glass of Sauvgnon Blanc...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grainne H
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

An interesting room configuration, quite spacious with separate toilet, shower and bath. Nice grounds with a spa on site too. Very friendly staff. 5 minute walk to cathedral and shops. It's a shame it was winter as I would have liked to have visited the pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samanthac264
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Still our favourite place to get a coffee with the Sunday papers. Relax in the conservatory all day with excellent service of fires and free WiFi. Hot chocolate highly recommended and the afternoon tea looks marvellous. Thank you for bringing up the standard of hotels in the city which has been slipping for a long time now.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sushibat
Guillaume L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this review

Thanks you so much for your feedback. I am really glad that we are able to make your Sundays a little more special with a great place to relax and read the Sunday papers. Make sure your try our great Sunday Lunch. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Guillaume

Hants, UK
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Having stayed in the Hotel du Vin Winchester a few years ago we were very disappointed with our stay at the Hotel du Vin Exeter. It is a large impersonal business hotel in the city centre. The bedroom and bathroom were small, the rooms were airless and hot, and the bath took about 20 minutes to run! The best thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kilntravelers
Guillaume L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback and latest review. I am disappointing that you did not enjoy your stay as much as we would have liked. The hotel is a beautiful conversion of the old West of England Eye Infirmary or otherwise referred too as the "WEE I". It has wide Corridor and is an imposing red brick building....

ENGLAND
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were visiting Exeter to catch up with Family,were recommended to go To Hotel Du Vin to eat. Had a truly wonderful meal made even better by staff,our Waiter was Will, very courteous and cheerful ,this is someone who obviously enjoys his job and likes meeting people. We will recommend to friends and Family,will have to make sure Will is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PENANGMAN
Guillaume L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this review

Thank you for kind comments and feedback. Will is extremely pleased that he has made your evening that little more special. We look forward to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards Guillaume

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

When we arrived by taxi I thought the building looked nice from the outside so was looking forward to getting in. When you walk in the fires are roaring and it is all cosy. I found the reception area interesting, it was a room with a long desk plonked at the end of it where the receptionists bend down to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Clare-pea
Guillaume L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this review

Dear Clare, Thank you for your recent review and feedback. The reception is currently a temporary solution whilst we are in transition. Apologies you felt like you were walking into a polling station. I can assure you that our plans for 2017 we deliver a fantastic welcoming reception. I am sorry that the room was not heated for you, we...

Warminster, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a night here as a bit of a treat, as other HdV hotels I've stayed in have been brilliant - this failed to hit the mark on many levels. Arriving quite late, and not knowing Exeter, I was directed to the car park over the road, which was full. I phoned for advice and was directed to a car...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jon E
Guillaume L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this review

Dear Jon, Thank you so much for your review and feedback. We do advertise that we have free parking and we also mentioned that we have a limited amount of parking 12 spaces including 2 for blue badge holder. It is a reasonable amount of spaces and allocated on a first come first serve basis. Blue badge holder spaces can...

exeter, devon
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Rang last minute to ask for a booking for 14 when we were let down elsewhere. The events team could not have been more helpful and the staff on the night were equally welcoming and helpful. Food delicious and no request re special menus/extra items was too much trouble. Thought prices were good value too for the quality received. Will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigsalExeter_Devon
Guillaume L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this review

So glad we were able to accommodate you last minute! Please rest assured that I have passed on you comments to the team. They are over the moon! Thank you again for such kind feedback. Kind regards Guillaume

Reviewed 1 week ago

I had the miss fortune to stay at this over priced hotel where the staff lie ! Not only the cost of the room over priced and tatty I left expensive balmain reading glasses and my electric 299 pound tooth brush I phoned 20 miles down the rd they went straight to the room and told me they had found...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marilyn P
Guillaume L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this review

Dear Marilyn Thank your for your review. Please contact me directly so that i can deal with this personally. guillaume.lesage@hotelduvin.com. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards Guillaume Lesage

Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived after being stranded in Exeter with our electric car on a slow charge on a dark Wednesday night with our little dog & two hours to kill. You welcomed us & we had a very relaxed meal in the bar with a glass of a very good New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc. Our dog also greatly enjoyed her specially...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shboreham
Guillaume L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Exeter, responded to this review

Thank you for your latest review and comments, so glad you were able to enjoy the comfort of our Bar & Lounge during last trip to Exeter. So glad we were there to welcome you and look after you and your dog. We strongly believe that it's the little things that matters! We hope that you will have the chance...

390 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (50)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (259)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (27)
Viewed
Feature Room (31)
Viewed
Feature Room Garden View (27)
Viewed
Feature Room Super King (29)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Regular Double Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Single Room (21)
Viewed
Superior Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
0.1 km away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
0.4 km away
ABode Exeter - Temporarily Closed
0.8 km away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#10 of 31 in Exeter
1,366 reviews
0.3 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#9 of 31 in Exeter
751 reviews
0.2 km away
Southernhay House Hotel
Southernhay House Hotel
#23 of 31 in Exeter
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Magdalen Chapter combines old and new to create a stunning contemporary hotel. Service and quality are to the highest standard where integrated interiors and technology make your stay it’s most enjoyable. Situated close to the sophistication of Exeter’s centre, it's an ideal place to stay for a city break or to further explore Devon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Exeter

Address: Magdalen Street, Exeter EX2 4HY, England (Formerly The Magdalen Chapter)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Price Range: $183 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Exeter 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Vin Exeter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Exeter
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin Exeter staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Upminster, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Boyton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin Exeter staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try to pick a room at another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles JonE607, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There is a lot of traffic at the front of the hotel but sound insulation is very good.”
 of 5 bubbles Barry707, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go in our room - Room 004 as it was ground floor and faced the car park so curtains had to be constantly closed for privacy!”
 of 5 bubbles Emma2707, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in room 213”
 of 5 bubbles 170AndyH, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Each room varies greatly. Some overlook busy main road.”
 of 5 bubbles lisahB6719KH, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay