We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

New Continental Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
New Continental Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

435 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 419: English reviews
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice stay , only problem was parking, after paying we had to park in pavilion car park, due to lack of spaces, as had Christmas parties on , also the quest's in the next room decided to have a long conversation at 2.30 am until about 4 am . But will stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicky075
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed at the New Continental for just 1 night, I was not expecting much as I had heard from someone that it was a bit shabby. But we were pleasantly surprised, the main reception was very nice and the bar was busy. We went out for a Christmas party but there were 3 going on in the hotel. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harvey P
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel is in great location. Car parking only 3 pounds and we were allowed to park for over 24 hours. Room was lovely and clean with a modern bathroom. Swimming is a nice extra small but lovely just fine for a little dip. Breakfast was fine , however not loads on your plate for the price. The buffer was in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarySaint
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for one night as we had a Christmas party here. Room was spacious but dated, but comfortable. Did not have breakfast so can't comment but it was offered. Check in is from 2pm and check out is 11am, so we had plenty of time to get ready for the party.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kat1932
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very poor vegetarian main course. Extremely small portion of Mediterranean vegetables with no accompaniments. A few courgette, aubergine strips with a tomato sauce. Tasty and would have been a nice starter but I left the table hungry. Very disappointing and poor value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcb152
Elinor E, Manager at New Continental Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are so sorry to hear that your experience with us wasn’t as we would have hoped and that you left the evening feeling unsated. We go through a long process of development with our Christmas menu and the Mille Feuille was a really popular dish...

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed as attending a gig at the Pavilion's. The hotel is in an Ideal location as just behind the pavilion's. Friendly staff and very clean room and was very quiet considering it is very near to union street. Would definitely visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gibletts
Elinor E, Manager at New Continental Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your feedback. We are so thrilled that you had a good stay with us and we can't wait to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The staff we came across on reception were all lovely & very helpful! We couldn't fault them in anyway. The room service was also very speedy & satisfactory. But the hotel needs some love putting into it, everything feels very dated, old and a little dusty! Our room had a trouser press!? What's that about. No complimentary toiletries, bin in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicecp123
Elinor E, Manager at New Continental Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate your time and always find it so useful to hear comments that help us make experiences better for our guests in the future. We are so thrilled that you found staff to be lovely and helpful that means so much to all of us. Thank you. You are right, we...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on purpose to support the fact that it is NOT a chain of hotels, and hence independant. Staff were VERY friendly and helpful. Only complaint was the room was very hot, even with the heating turned off. They swapped my room next day and much better and nicer also ! Breakfast is amazing as so much choice, kippers,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angus and Carol... S
Elinor E, Manager at New Continental Hotel, responded to this review

WOW! Thank you so much. We are so proud of being the largest, independent, family run hotel in a city we are blessed to call home; so having your comments and hearing you chose us because of this means so much. Thank you. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you...

Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for the one night, 9/11 Rm 507, on a deal, in order to attend the Pavilions. Very comfortable room and bed, heating worked and adequate shower facility. Staff were excellent on check in and at breakfast the next morning. Breakfast was great. Ideal location for; Pavilions, The Hoe, shops. Would use again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DW516A
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is nice, looks like it recently had a face lift (this doesn't extend to the rooms). Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was quiet, as requested, but very hot despite having the radiator off. The room was also very big but the TV was so small it was barely viewable from the bed (not that we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan Q

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
1.3 km away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,019 reviews
0.5 km away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
542 reviews
5.5 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,675 reviews
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Plymouth
Holiday Inn Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The New Continental Hotel is the largest independently owned hotel in Plymouth. Located in the centre of Plymouth, adjacent to the Plymouth Pavilions - the hotel is the perfect location for business and pleasure.At the New Continental Hotel we seek to offer affordable luxury. We aspire to create an individual, personal and comfortable environment. This is provided with a passion that comes from a family tradition steeped in the hospitality industry and odd eccentricities from being custodians of a grade II listed building that is over 150 years old.Our team is at the heart and soul of the New Continental Hotel and is integral to providing guests with a quality hotel service and being flexible to cater for individuals needs.Step from the bustling centre of Plymouth city into the quiet relaxation of our newly refurbished reception, lounge and Roma Bar. All have been designed to offer a combination of peace and calm ambience in which to read, work and share a drink or snack with colleagues and friends.If you are planning to stay or just visiting our health and leisure complex, sampling the delights of the new restaurant and bars or attending a function for a special occasion, we look forward to meeting you and ensuring your time with us is everything you want it to be. ... more   less 

Additional Information about New Continental Hotel

Address: Millbay Road, Plymouth PL1 3LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: $122 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Continental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your New Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Continental Torquay
New Continental Hotel Torquay
New Continental Plymouth
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from New Continental Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Walsall, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from New Continental Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room's opposite wetherspoons noisy as on main road so can hear shouting and loud music when window is open”
 of 5 bubbles nicky075, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“if you like a COOL room make sure you can adjust the heating to OFF !! Duvet is plenty warm.”
 of 5 bubbles angusandcarolines, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“309wasfineExcept for a low beam but managed to overcome this some might find it a problem”
 of 5 bubbles B5356IJteresac, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“My room was over reception and on the road these can be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles jones955, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“high floor better”
 of 5 bubbles mrnormal, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay