We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Brittany Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Brittany Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Brittany Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 132: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Highly recommend this clean, tidy and welcoming B&B, Visit was topped off with a crackin breakfast, no skimping on quality, you even get Lurpak butter. The guest house is in an ideal location being easy walking distance to The Hoe, city centre and Barbican.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fatalhud
gibsongirl123, Owner at Brittany Guest House, responded to this review

It is very much appreciated that you took the time to leave your comments at the tripadvisor website and thank you for such a lovely review. We do all we can to ensure our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay. If you are ever in the Plymouth area again you will be welcome to stay in our home. Kind...

Penzance, Cornwall
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My wife and I had booked The Brittany, as we had a function to attend at the Holiday inn, a perfect location only 300 yards to walk. We had a very nice welcome and nothing seemed to be to much trouble. To be honest I had a bit of trouble with the shower and we're not duvet fans so our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LARTER1807
gibsongirl123, Owner at Brittany Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Guest House with Tripadvisor. We were sorry though to read that you had experienced a problem during your stay. The shower in question was only installed a month ago. We have checked it and found the flow to be good and hot, we are sure we would have been able to...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I stay at the Brittany on a regular basis. The owners, Janet and John are friendly and very welcoming. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and well equipped. The breakfast is excellent. Prices are very reasonable. I would highly recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wpjones1
gibsongirl123, Owner at Brittany Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at our Guest House, it is very much appreciated. You will always be welcome if ever you need accommodation in Plymouth again. Kind Regards From janet & John - Brittny Guest House

UK
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We have stayed here twice and won't be looking for anywhere else on our future visits to Plymouth. Janet and John have got it spot on. From the ease of booking to the delicious full English breakfast, our stays have been comfortable,quiet and relaxing. The guest house is in an ideal location being easy walking distance to The Hoe, city...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wilson080
gibsongirl123, Owner at Brittany Guest House, responded to this review

What a lovely review and thank you for taking the time to visit Tripadvisor and leave your comments. You are always welcome in our home. Kind Regards From Janet & John - Brittany Guest House.

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Wow what a great little find. We decided to book for 17th May for 3 nights, wish we could have stayed longer, we really felt at home, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spotless, a tray of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits, a bottle of water every day was provided. The breakfast choice was amazing. Ideally situated for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb H
gibsongirl123, Owner at Brittany Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review about your stay at our Guest House. We are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us. You will be very welcome to return if ever you feel like taking a break in Plymouth in the future. Kind Regards Janet & John The Brittany Guest House

London
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Brilliant stay. Go for the penthouse suite up in the roof, a little more money, but a lot more awesome. There is a seagull who thinks he is a pet... he's a charmer. Parking permits available for £2 if there's no room at the back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Quenby23
gibsongirl123, Owner at Brittany Guest House, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you didn't mind the friendly seagull who has taken up residence near the room. Thank you for taking the time to review our Guest House, we do all we can to ensure everyone has a comfortable and enjoyable stay. We hope to see you in the future if...

Manchester
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I’ve just got back from Plymouth I booked two rooms at the Brittany for two nights There is not a thing I can find to complain about clean worm and very friendly The breakfast is spot on with new Sausage from the local butchers If you’re looking for value for money then this is for you 100% THANK YOU

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leslie s
gibsongirl123, Owner at Brittany Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Guest House we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to greeting you again sometime in the future. Kind Regards Janet & John

Hamilton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We booked a couple of rooms at the Brittany for two nights in February. We were warmly greeted by Janet on arrival and shown to our rooms. The rooms were well proportioned and very clean and comfortable. All the usual hotel extras were there plus a few more that wouldn't be in an hotel, so were were more than happy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joxsters
gibsongirl123, Owner at Brittany Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at our Guest House. We do our utmost to ensure our guests have a comfortable, enjoyable stay and your comments are very much appreciated. Thank You From Janet & John Brittany Guest House AA 4*

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We were so grateful to find this excellent B&B.We had checked outof a truly appalling chain lodge and this Guest House offered us a room. Clean and warm with a king sizebed and spotless shower room.A welcome tray with coffee and decaf,tea, fruit tea,hot chocolate and shortbread biscuits. We opted for scrambled eggs (creamy and superb) and bacon from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2013

After checking reviews on Trip Advisor I contacted John via e-mail and booked for us a double room. When we arrived we got a warm welcome from John himself. He showed us our lovely room (number 4) which was just perfect with big window and spotless bathroom. The heating was on so it was warm and cosy :) Our bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peachy_1984

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
5.4 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,740 reviews
1.3 km away
Gallery Guesthouse
Gallery Guesthouse
#5 of 83 in Plymouth
209 reviews
0.4 km away
The Moorings Guest House
The Moorings Guest House
#21 of 83 in Plymouth
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#6 of 83 in Plymouth
261 reviews
0.0 km away
Caledonia Guest House
Caledonia Guest House
#16 of 83 in Plymouth
110 reviews
0.4 km away
Edgcumbe Guest House
Edgcumbe Guest House
#3 of 83 in Plymouth
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Brittany Guest House

Address: 28 Athenaeum Street | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Brittany Guest House Hotel Plymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Brittany Guest House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Brittany Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are comfortable we had to have one on the ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles deltham, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The metered (not expensive) road parking is free between 6pm & 10am, and always I find a space very near. The B&B has its own off-road parking, but I don't bother with that.”
 of 5 bubbles Johnfrisbee, 4 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Room 1, 3, 4 and 5”
 of 5 bubbles SlackbladderUk, 24 Feb 2015 | Read review
“all rooms are fine xx”
 of 5 bubbles debbien420, 22 Jun 2014 | Read review
“We like number 8 for the space.”
 of 5 bubbles lavamum, 5 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5