We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Plymouth Backpackers Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Plymouth Backpackers Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 29: English reviews
Start your review of Plymouth Backpackers Hotel
 Click to rate
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2016

The room had all we needed although moving the beds revealed a lack of detail in the cleaning as the floor beneath them was covered in crap. Location was ideal with everything we needed within walking distance. Apparantly a notouriously rough area but we encountered no problems. Friendly staff and people.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sam M
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

If I could, I would give this hostel a 0. Not a 2. THERE IS A CURFEW ON THE DORMS. It looks as though they changed this after I raised the issue of it not being stated anywhere on the page. In fact, I was under the impression that there wasn’t one at all, so when I arrived, I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nsh95
Lee W, Owner at Plymouth Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you felt this way. Please let me know if there is anything I can do personally although I feel that there may have been a personality clash between yourself and Karen. I will certainly look into all the areas of concern that you have mentioned and although we are a backpackers/budget hotel we do try...

Reviewed 20 September 2016

Stayed here for a couple of days using Plymouth as a base to explore the area. Hostelbookers screwed up my booking but the staff accommodated me. Clean and friendly. Good budget accommodation. The location was within walking distance of the centre too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

The worst place ever to stay.The owner,Karen is so unfriendly soon after she receives your money.No smile,just sits in her chair with her smelly dog that I dint think has had a bath in years.Don't know about Karen's cleanliness.I don't and will Never ever stay there again even if I was stranded.I even stayed out one night,having already paid for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Velayadum
Lee W, Owner at Plymouth Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry you felt this way. I know Karen was going through a difficult time during your period of stay due to her dog, that she had had since he was a puppy, was unwell. Karen tells me that you understood that there was a curfew and it sounds like you were unable to make it back in...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Dirty & badly maintained. I can't believe this place is allowed to trade. It hasn't been cleaned, there are holes in the very worn carpets, there are even holes in the walls. Disgusting. It's really a doss house, there's no way this could be described as a backpackers / travellers hostel. There's a Globe hostel in Exeter, maybe in other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John J
Lee W, Owner at Plymouth Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review

This review was for a different hostel near us that shut its doors 24/03/16. It was called Globe Backpackers but had decided to call themselves Plymouth Backpackers Hotel on Trip Advisor! They were based on Citadel Road and we are based on Union Street. I informed Trip Advisor about this but for some reason seemed unable or unwilling to remove...

Antibes, France
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Quite a bad experience. The place was quite dirty, and the matress was not confortable at all. I had to be brave to go and get a shower in one of the working bathroom. But well, it is really cheap, so I guess you get what you pay for!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TPshow
Lee W, Owner at Plymouth Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review

This review was for a different hostel near us that shut its doors 24/03/16. It was called Globe Backpackers but had decided to call themselves Plymouth Backpackers Hotel on Trip Advisor! They were based on Citadel Road and we are based on Union Street. I informed Trip Advisor about this but for some reason seemed unable or unwilling to remove...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2015

The staff were friendly and the room had all that we needed for a nights stay but the place is v tired and in need of some renovation. For the price it's a fair deal and the location is great with easy access to the city centre and the sea front and Naval Memorial and cracking sea views.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mo_Khan_31
Lee W, Owner at Plymouth Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review

This review was for a different hostel near us that shut its doors 24/03/16. It was called Globe Backpackers but had decided to call themselves Plymouth Backpackers Hotel on Trip Advisor! They were based on Citadel Road and we are based on Union Street. I informed Trip Advisor about this but for some reason seemed unable or unwilling to remove...

Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

Firt of all is to say that the area is nice where the hostel is. The staff was also really friendly. The room, kitchen and bath are not really nice and needs renovating, but if you just need a place to stay for a night it is ok

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Franziska M
Lee W, Owner at Plymouth Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review

This review was for a different hostel near us that shut its doors 24/03/16. It was called Globe Backpackers but had decided to call themselves Plymouth Backpackers Hotel on Trip Advisor! They were based on Citadel Road and we are based on Union Street. I informed Trip Advisor about this but for some reason seemed unable or unwilling to remove...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2015

I had a very pleasant stay at this cheap & cheerful Hostel with friendly helpful staff and a lively convivial communal area. The Hostel is ideally situated, close to the City centre, port and the lively night-life of Union Street and the charm of The Barbican. Thoroughly recommended for budget travellers passing through or holidaying in Plymouth.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ted c
Lee W, Owner at Plymouth Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review

This review was for a different hostel near us that shut its doors 24/03/16. It was called Globe Backpackers but had decided to call themselves Plymouth Backpackers Hotel on Trip Advisor! They were based on Citadel Road and we are based on Union Street. I informed Trip Advisor about this but for some reason seemed unable or unwilling to remove...

Wroclaw, Poland
Reviewed 9 September 2014

Nice hostel in a safe area close to the Hoe and city center. Located in a typical English house. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Old school type of a hostel which makes a great atmosphere. Clean kitchen and facilities, a backyard to chill out.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank agnagn
Lee W, Owner at Plymouth Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review

This review was for a different hostel near us that shut its doors 24/03/16. It was called Globe Backpackers but had decided to call themselves Plymouth Backpackers Hotel on Trip Advisor! They were based on Citadel Road and we are based on Union Street. I informed Trip Advisor about this but for some reason seemed unable or unwilling to remove...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
1.0 km away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,135 reviews
0.1 km away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
718 reviews
5.5 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Travelodge Plymouth
Travelodge Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
478 reviews
4.9 km away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#16 of 21 in Plymouth
539 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Friendly Backpackers/Hostel only five minutes from Plymouth City Center, ferry port to Spain and France, coach station and train station. We accommodate large bookings on a regular basis of in excess of fifty people. Warm, friendly environment with free super fast 300mb fibre broadband, kitchen facilities with dining and lounge communal area. We have private as well as shared rooms available, with full central heating and double glazing throughout. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Plymouth Backpackers Hotel

Address: 102 Union Street, Plymouth PL1 3HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: $36 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Plymouth Backpackers Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Shared Rooms to rear of building are best.”
 of 5 bubbles 943tedc, 6 Apr 2015 | Read review
“For longer stays, its cheaper to travel as a group of friends and share a room in bunk beds. For couples, double room is the cheaper option.”
 of 5 bubbles Tom19091987, 10 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Rooms at the back quieter”
  • Lovely fireplace
  • Sink in bedroom
  • Room
  • sink in room
 of 5 bubbles ajlcuk, 6 Jul 2013 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear of the house are a tad quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles PhilN579, 29 Apr 2012 | Read review
“limited number of doubles there-so if you can afford try those”
 of 5 bubbles patd502, 13 Feb 2012 | Read review
5 of 5