We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plymouth Backpackers Hotel

34 reviews
Save
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good29%
  • Average8%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible26%
27 Jul 2017
“The most wonderful welcome and stay”
22 Dec 2016
“Good enough”
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (34)Write a Review
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
6
8
2
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
6
8
2
3
8
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Our family had the most amazing stay at Plymouth Backpackers Hostel. Karen went above and beyond to make us feel so incredibly welcome and taken care of. What an incredible woman! There was also a really interesting crew of regulars staying there who also helped...More

Thank Arana F
Reviewed 22 December 2016

The room had all we needed although moving the beds revealed a lack of detail in the cleaning as the floor beneath them was covered in crap. Location was ideal with everything we needed within walking distance. Apparantly a notouriously rough area but we encountered...More

1  Thank Sam M
Reviewed 13 December 2016

If I could, I would give this hostel a 0. Not a 2. THERE IS A CURFEW ON THE DORMS. It looks as though they changed this after I raised the issue of it not being stated anywhere on the page. In fact, I was...More

Thank nsh95
Response from Lee W, Owner at Plymouth Backpackers HotelResponded 25 January 2017

I am very sorry that you felt this way. Please let me know if there is anything I can do personally although I feel that there may have been a personality clash between yourself and Karen. I will certainly look into all the areas of...More

Reviewed 20 September 2016

Stayed here for a couple of days using Plymouth as a base to explore the area. Hostelbookers screwed up my booking but the staff accommodated me. Clean and friendly. Good budget accommodation. The location was within walking distance of the centre too.

Thank Matt P
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

The worst place ever to stay.The owner,Karen is so unfriendly soon after she receives your money.No smile,just sits in her chair with her smelly dog that I dint think has had a bath in years.Don't know about Karen's cleanliness.I don't and will Never ever stay...More

3  Thank Velayadum
Response from Lee W, Owner at Plymouth Backpackers HotelResponded 25 January 2017

I am very sorry you felt this way. I know Karen was going through a difficult time during your period of stay due to her dog, that she had had since he was a puppy, was unwell. Karen tells me that you understood that there...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
123456
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Breakfast included
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Free Parking
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$25 - US$49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$25 - US$49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
FionaZ
17 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Lee W | Property representative |
Hi. 2am for shared dorms only and no curfew for private rooms. Regards, Lee.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"The top floor was nice and quiet in an area that I imagine can get quite rowdy."
Read review
"Shared Rooms to rear of building are best."
Read review
"For longer stays, its cheaper to travel as a group of friends and share a room in bunk beds. For couples..."
Read review
"Rooms at the rear of the house are a tad quieter."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing