We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Elfordleigh Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Elfordleigh Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Elfordleigh Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 399: English reviews
Wokingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2016

We stayed for one night with our dog, we spent most of the day using the facilities such as the swimming pool, tennis, squash, golf and jacussi. The view from our room was amazing, and the place itself was quiet and relaxing. The breakfast was ok and the staff was very friendly. The one thing that could be improved on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley K
mikel462, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shirley, Thank you for taking the time to review the Elfordleigh. We are pleased to hear that you made use of all our facilities and enjoyed your stay with us. I have taken note of your last comment, if you could contact me I would very much appreciate it . I do hope we can welcome you back to...

Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Travelling on a Bank Holiday weekend we were unable to book our hotel of choice and ended up at the Elfordleigh Hotel. It is very close to civilisation, but seems to be in the middle of nowhere. On arrival, the only thing we heard was birds, the only thing we could see was greenery. After check-in we found our rooms....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
mikel462, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Steve We are all so pleased to read that we lived up to your expectations, the team at Elfordleigh always strive to ensure our guests relax from the moment they arrive until they depart. We are only 3 miles off the beaten track but have an abundance of wildlife that visit us over the different seasons, its a pleasure...

Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Chose this hotel for family bank holiday break based largely on availability and the reviews which indicated the hotel had been refurbished. Delighted I took the chance. The grounds are stunning and the terraces are a great space for an outside drink on returning from a day's outing (also saw deer grazing). The rooms (which are large) and common areas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pinguin
mikel462, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review, the team at the Elfordleigh will be delighted to read your review. We have put a stop on the refurbishment now as we have a busy season ahead of us and would not want to spoil our guests peace and quiet. We are very pleased that our designers have produced a style throughout...

Maesteg, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Golf weekend with three mates, not our 1st visit never disappointed, could not find fault with our stay,staff wonderful,we had four rooms which were very clean,large with bath and power shower,food excellent served by very attentive staff who were both friendly and professional, chef should be commended for quality of food produced. In the process of booking next years stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amitalolo
mikel462, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Guys, Pleased to read that you are still enjoying the hospitality of the Elfordleigh after all these years. I am sure you noticed all our improvements from your last visit, Lounge, dining room and bedrooms have been refurbished. Yes we even have a new Chef who has made a fantastic impact on the quality of food served. We look...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed mid week for 2 nights. Location is fabulous with wooded golf course right on the door step. Very large but cold and relatively sparsely decorated rooms. Very good customer service, food was very good both for breakfast and dinner in the clubhouse.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerry_Baker
mikel462, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gerry, Thank you for your lovely review, I will ensure the Team at Elfordleigh are made aware of your kind comments. Take Care Mike Lee General Manager

Bridgwater, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

The spa is looking tired. The rest of the hotel is being renovated. The treatment a 1/2 hour back massage was lovely. But the chill out space before or after a treatment is in a corridor. I was disappointed that there was nowhere to chill out and read a book. I expected to be able to sit on a lounger....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giggles725
mikel462, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments. We are looking to upgrade our changing rooms and refurbish the pool area in the near future. We have some tables and chairs now on the oasis patio area for our Spa Guests. Take Care Mike Lee General Manager

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016

All I can say is thank you to all the staff, had a absolutely brilliant spa break. 12 people in our group friends and family ,not one of us had a complaint. We had ground floor rooms which have just been refurbished to a high standard. Three course evening meal, breakfast and afternoon tea was lovely. Will be booking again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debyork1966
mikel462, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Deb, Thank you for your fantastic comments, we are all so pleased that all your parties expectations were met. We would love for you all to visit again. I will ensure the team get a copy of your review. Prosecco on me next time. Take Care Mike Lee General Manager

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2016

It was spa day as a present.. There were 3 attending. The place looks a little tired and although it was ok it was not as expected or as we had anticipated. The falsities were fine, the staff helpful although it varied . Refreshments were reasonable although we were offered only on choice orange juice. The meal had to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael D J
mikel462, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael, Thank you for your review, I am sorry you did not enjoy all the aspects of your day with us. I Have taken on board your comments and will ensure we discuss at our next Head of Departments meeting so as to ensure we do not repeat our mistakes. Thank You. Kind Regards Mike Lee General Manager

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2016

The staff were welcoming and friendly to us and our dog. The setting is lovely with views of the golf course. The golf and leisure facilities were very good - golf was good value, and the pool area was lovely. However, the hotel needs significant refurbishment. I can see from other reviews that they were in newly refurbished rooms. Ours...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
mikel462, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review. We are gradually refurbishing all our room as you noted some guests have already commented on. We will eventually have all our rooms completed. Take Care Mike Lee General Manager

Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2016

had a lovely afternoon tea, excellent value for money, well worth a visit. Lovely views, a game of golf if required, fab rooms, pool,lovely for a pamper. Great for a wedding, hen party or just a visit to Plymouth area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
mikel462, General Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mary, Thank you for your kind comments, we have invested a lot of money and time over the winter months to ensure all our guests have a pleasant stay with us over the Summer Season, we do hope you find the time to visit us again soon. Take Care Mike General Manager

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
1.1 km away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
8.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Duke of Cornwall Hotel
5.5 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
St Elizabeth's House
St Elizabeth's House
#2 of 3 in Plympton
428 reviews
7.5 km away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,133 reviews
8.4 km away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For that somewhere truly extra special, why look anywhere else? You are warmly invited to relax, unwind and saviour the unique atmosphere that is, the Elfordleigh. Set within spectacular South Devon countryside, yet only minutes away from the main A38, Devon Expressway and the heart of Plymouth, the Elfordleigh offers the perfect location whether your visit be business or pleasure. At Elfordleigh we pride ourselves on offering the finest food and wines. At the very heart of the hotel is the spacious and comfortable Brasserie serving light meals and tempting snacks throughout the day. Enjoy the splendid views from the Brasserie Terrace. Just a step or two away is the classically styled Churchill's Restaurant. With its adjoining airy conservatory, this elegant restaurant provides the perfect setting for fine dining, with menus to suit even the most discerning palettes. All residents have free use of the leisure centre, which includes a fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elfordleigh Hotel

Address: Elfordleigh Colebrook, Plymouth PL7 5EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: $109 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elfordleigh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Elfordleigh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elfordleigh Hotel Plymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Elfordleigh Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Elfordleigh Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 961MarkH, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We visited 5 rooms over the Large patio and I wouldn't want to stay in any.”
 of 5 bubbles lindkaa, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“has spa and golf course”
 of 5 bubbles 70Maddy, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go to another Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles cecilmagovern, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had room No 3 Sunningdale”
 of 5 bubbles 9CaroleB, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5