We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bay Torbay Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay Torbay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

670 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 670: English reviews
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Thought i must respond after latest review i stopped for a week in February for £249.10 half board including 4 drinks on two nights and aso a free bottle of wine n arrival inclusive of the single room supplement of £35 I thought the food was of better standard than other Shearings hotels i have stopped in peoples expectations on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rogerbrownleam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

LOCATION: Excellent location, facing the sea on Torbay Road, only a minute or two walk from shops, eateries, the harbour, the marina and bus stops. HOTEL FACILITIES: Ballroom, Function rooms, Reception, 2 Bars, Restaurant, Café, 3 Lounges, Swimming Pool, Male & Female changing rooms, lift, wc facilities on ground level, Free WiFi. Pease note this review is based on my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edgware2011
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I really don't know what people expect for the money they pay ! We stayed for 3 nights and had a full English breakfast every morning, a 3 course meal every night and 4 free drinks each on Saturday for the price of £185!!! Our room was comfy and clean. Yes they are refurbishing it, but it has to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CheddarCheese90
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Went on a 4 day 3 night Holiday to Torquay and stay at the Torbay Hotel on a half board basis. Breakfast is on a help yourself service, cereals, toast, although toaster is really slow, and cooked breakfast. Cannae fault the breakfast at all, the Chef was always re-filling when empty and the tea/coffe man was always on hand to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kairlan M
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kairlain M and thank you for your review. I am sorry that you had a few issues you were unhappy with, especially as so many of our guests enjoy so many aspects of the hotel. We strive to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable holiday and I will look into the issues that you have raised and I...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had a fabulous 4 days here last week Beautiful Hotel good food and lovely staff Thankyou for making our stay good Seafront location and nice and flat for disabled people like myself. Plenty to do and see just across road from marina

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hazelsmout
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi hazelsmout and thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I am glad that you had a enjoyable stay with us and that you were looked after by our staff. We also look forward to your next stay with us

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Trip down with the Shearings Coach was very well organised in very modern coach with excellent driver. Stayed in room 326 a large, warm spotlessly clean double room although view out not too good, and as far as you can get from the only lift, but not a problem for us. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Food both breakfast and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pads0n
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi PadsOn thank you for your kind review of your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the service from the staff. its always pleasing to hear that they looked after you while you were here as they are important to our success. We look forward to seeing you again in the new future.

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

had an enjoyable stay rooms nice and clean lovely and warm in hotel . we had good entertainment every evening.bingo a quiz and on to a singer we went with shearings we had a top class driver well done Richard.the bus stop is just opposite the hotel so a good choice for exploring. .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hebdonann
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi hebdonan and thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a night away with my boyfriend and must say what a lovely hotel it is. So clean and spacious, all I would say is that there were no mini shampoo, conditioner and shower gel available in the bathroom. Breakfast in the morning was very nice and lots of hot and cold options available.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fionawillcox90
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi fionawillcox90 and thank you for your review of the Torbay. it is lovely to read that you had an enjoyable night stay with us and I hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend getaway as I have high blood pressure and wanted a break. Booked through booking.com. We had requested a room with a bath and a sea view. When we arrived at our room it was overlooking a roof and had an awful view at the back of the hotel. I went downstairs and asked to change...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Julie W. I am sorry if your weekend was not as you had wished and there were a few issues while you were here. While we do have some bedroom refurbishments going on, usually they cause little or no disruption to our guests, so I am sorry if this time you encountered a problem. With regards to a room...

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed a 5 day Shearing trip to the Bay Torbay Hotel . Situated right on the sea front. First impression when alighting coach was to see numerous fag ends at entrance lobby by pillars , but were gone next day. Room was on top floor ( stairs not for faint hearted ) there is one small lift. Nice size room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank henlowboy
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi henlowboy and thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the room food and entertainment. the staff do their best to offer a good service in the restaurant and are usually mentioned with high praise, but I will look into this. hopefully we will see you again in the near...

180 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (158)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.5 km away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
467 reviews
0.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 89 in Torquay
2,442 reviews
1.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.8 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 89 in Torquay
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $119 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Torbay Hotel staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question
birmingham
9 months ago
over a year ago
Bedford, United Kingdom
Sheffield, United Kingdom

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Torbay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely ask for a quiet room, we did but still was noisy with the entertainment and woken up at 5am with the heaters.”
 of 5 bubbles kairlanm, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“stayed in room number 326 nice large room all mod cons. lift can be a little slow at busy times only takes 7.”
 of 5 bubbles hebdonann, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“back facing are better”
 of 5 bubbles Brian-Snellgrove, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not pay for a front facing room ask for a quiet room on first floor so you can use stairs as only one lift”
 of 5 bubbles BarbaraD566, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“pay extra for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles witcheshouse, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5