The Caledonian Torbay Hotel

The Caledonian Torbay Hotel

front of hotel
Traveller (586)
View from room
Room & Suite (148)
Restaurant
Dining (44)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#48 of 81 hotels in Torquay
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After several years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Public wifi
Restaurant
Snack bar
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to VisitEngland.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 95 out of 100
95
Exeter Airport
31.2 km
See all flights
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles1,307 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Caledonian Torbay Hotel garners praise for its value and prime location, with its proximity to various attractions and stunning views. The spotless rooms and fresh linens are a highlight, though the decor is noted to be somewhat dated. Guests enjoy satisfactory amenities, including a good breakfast, but some have raised concerns about the bathrooms and evening dining options. Opinions on service are mixed, with reports ranging from friendly and attentive to unprofessional. While some rooms are lauded for their size and vistas, others are recommended for renovation.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Outdated
Rooms
Neglected
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,307Review82Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 384
  • 465
  • 247
  • 90
  • 121
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
devonladshieldslass wrote a review Oct 2020
South Shields, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Torbay Hotel weekend 16th-19thOctober. We came down on a weekend coach break with Shearings under their new banner Leger.
We have stayed at this hotel on approximately 5 occasions, and have always had a good experience.
This weekend was a little different, but some of the differences enhanced the experience, from the waitress service for drinks in the bar area instead of queueing, down to the table service in the restaurant. This was much better than the usual scramble at the buffet at breakfast time.
The staff were always polite and helpful, and socially distanced whilst wearing masks at all times.
Our room was facing the rear, we didnt pay for an upgrade to a harbour facing room on this occasion. The room itself like most rooms we have stayed at in this hotel was a good size, we had plenty of coffees, milk and teas left for our weekend.
We also had ample shampoo, conditioner and moisturising lotion plus soap in the bathroom. Our room was very quiet, and we were able to watch the squirrels in the trees through the window.
In essence pay extra for the views and accept the fact that you may experience traffic noise as well.
We will return, when we are able.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: In rooms at the front you may suffer from traffic noise. Rooms at the rear very quiet.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicola Cousins, General Manager at The Caledonian Torbay Hotel
Responded Oct 24, 2020
Hello devonladshieldslass Thank you for taking the time to review the Torbay hotel I'm really please you found your stay a pleasant one and that all the staff were following the covid guide lines. I glad the squirrels kept you entertained we look forward to seeing you again in the future
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Number1tim wrote a review Oct 2020
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
When we got to our room we were disappointed as it was nothing like the photos we’d seen so we went back to reception & the lovely lady on reception moved us to another room which was much nicer, much bigger, had a Tassimo coffee maker & 2 windows with a view of the harbour. We were very happy with the swop.
The hotel is in a great location to walk round the harbour & also only a 5 minute walk to the main shopping street.
We’d paid for dinner as part of our deal for the 2 nights that we stayed so were surprised that it was only served between 6.30 & 7 as we would have chosen to eat later than that.
When we sat down for dinner we asked for drinks, however the starter came out really quickly & before we got our drinks so we asked again. Then our main course came out really quickly but still no one had taken our drinks order so our drinks eventually turned up while we were eating our main course & what I didn’t like was the waiter bringing the chip & pin machine with the drinks expecting me to pay for them while we were in the middle of our meal. Then when I said I’d pay at the end he brought over a bill for me to sign; again while we were in the middle of eating then he came back & gave me a receipt while we were still eating. Why not give me the bill at the end of the meal like you would do anywhere else?
Anyway the Ham Hock starter was really disappointing but the roast beef main course was really nice & the cheese & biscuits for £3 was amazing value & really nice.
Breakfast was really good except for the sausages which were the worst I’ve ever had. But the bacon was really nice. There was loads of choice for breakfast - full English, croissants, pastries, cereals, yogurts, fruit, cheese, ham, rolls, toast - all brought to the table for you & they were very generous with what they gave you.
Checkout was at 11am so that was good as we had time to pack up after breakfast.
The staff were really friendly. They were happy to give us lots more coffee & milk for the room & Tassimo pods for the coffee maker.
There is no parking at the hotel so we parked on the road outside which costs £6 overnight from 6pm to 8am or £10 for 24 hours.
Overall a really good stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicola Cousins, General Manager at The Caledonian Torbay Hotel
Responded Nov 15, 2020
Thank you Number1Tim for reviewing The Torbay Hotel. I'M please reception dealt with your room issue efficiently we do have a range of rooms. The meal times can vary but i will take note going forward. I will speak to the waiter regarding bringing the chip & pin at dinner they should just get a signature because as you can appreciate at times we can have 150+ guests . Thank you for your comments regarding the staff we look forward to seeing you again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
JWBlack23 wrote a review Mar 2020
Plymouth, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Good points first, staff are pleasant, rooms are excellent.
Beautiful views from the window, excellent facilities in the rooms.
The shower is not powerful enough.
There is only one lift for 431 rooms, and it says it can take up to 8 persons, but we could only squeeze 6 in.
Parking is not on site, but 10 minutes walk away and it costs money.
Black pudding was advertised for breakfast, but there was none. I asked a waiter and he said he would organise me some. I waited 10 minutes, then asked a chef, who had come to replenish items. He said there was no black pudding today! So why advertise it? Why did the waiter not tell me this?
Disappointed, but lovely bed.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SimonwMurray1, General Manager at The Caledonian Torbay Hotel
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Hi JWBalck23 and thank you for your review. I am sorry if certain aspects of your stay didn't meet your expectations. We do alternate breakfast items so that we can provide variety of choice on a regular basis, but this should have been explained to you. Unfortunately we do not have onsite parking due to our hotels location on the promenade. Thank you for your positive comments regarding the rooms, views and facilities and especially the staff. I do hope that you will visit us again in the future
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alison wrote a review Aug 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here first week of August. First impression on arrival friendly staff, very quick check in and helpful with the parking permit. Room wasnt ready when we arrived as we were alittle early so went for some lunch.

This hotel seems to be for the older generation, which i arent against but sometimes felt like you was staying in an old peoples home.

Room was very spacious and clean looks like 2 rooms had been made into a family room as one of the single beds own area. Looking from the corridor you could see where they had removed the door and decorated over.

The bathroom could do with a little tlc, screw covers missing from the bath panel, little bit of grout needs replacing.

We had a room on the front of the hotel and found this to be quite noisy on an evening with the younger locals shouting in the early hours of the morning. Maybe worth looking at updating the single pane windows.

The staff on the bar was very helpful but the bar area could do with a revamp.

As for the restaurant it would appear some of the staff have regular cliental. And would serve these people first. Infact some restaurant staff could do with abit more training and putting a smile on their faces. One evening i had 2 ask 3 times for fresh cutlery and glasses to be replaced on our table as they had been there from the previous people.
Coffee in morning was usually served within about 10 minutes of you arriving at yr table but you would sometimes be missed as a regular had walked in so they got served first. Breakfast was buffet style so could be abit hectic sometimes around the cereal, toaster and juice station. Plates could do with being slightly bigger and warmer.
Evening meal would appear to be a la carte as the portions were very small. Not good when you have 2 growing teenagers. The food its self was lovely just not enough of it

The location is ideal for boats trips to brixham, and paignton or if you prefer to walk to paignton it takes about 30-45 minutes
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicola Cousins, General Manager at The Caledonian Torbay Hotel
Responded Aug 20, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are deeply sorry that you had a negative experience in our hotel and that we failed to meet expectations on your recent visit. We have implemented rigorous training to ensure every member of our hotel team is able to offer the standard of service that we are accustomed to sharing with our guests. We are also in the process of refreshing each of our rooms and working hard to rectify some of the teething issues caused by 15 months of closure during lockdown. If you would like to follow-up personally to discuss matters further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly through the hotel. We do hope you allow us another opportunity to share a more positive experience at one of our Coast & Country Hotels, so that we can show you how we have improved upon our early shortcomings. l Best wishes, Nicola cousins General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate wrote a review May 2022
Bristol, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Torbay Hotel staff work hard to make your stay comfortable but they cannot compensate for jaded furnishing, tired decor and worn surroundings.

The buffet breakfasts are substantial and cater for all tastes. However, the hotel is obviously suffering from lack of catering staff as main meals clearly come from freezer to table with almost no fresh vegetables and little creative input. Although no one went hungry, food was certainly heavy on defrosted content and frequently over cooked. Fish main courses were by far the best option.

Bedding is very fresh as are the towels, but rooms and bathrooms need redecoration badly. The lift must have stopped working almost hourly which doesn’t help less mobile guests.

There could not be a more central location in Torquay for bed and breakfast, unfortunately overall this hotel misses the mark.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicola Cousins, General Manager at The Caledonian Torbay Hotel
Responded May 3, 2022
Dear A1592DNkates, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Torbay. We are always trying to improve and your feedback is therefore very valuable to us and much appreciated. I will discuss your comments with my team and we hope to welcome you back to Torbay so that you can see what we have done! Best wishes, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Liv M wrote a review Feb 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself, my boyfriend and my Nan spent February half term at the Torbay Hotel as part of a Shearings holiday. Arrival and room allocation was prompt; my boyfriend and I decided to upgrade our room, the manager was very helpful and saw to this immediately. Rooms were spacious and modern, my Nan had a single room and was very pleased with the quality for the money paid. There is a swimming pool which is open 7am-7pm daily however, it was rather cold so I wouldn’t just go for a dip you need to be doing lengths 😂. Dinner every night was hot, with 3 courses we had a nice and varied selection every night. 4 free drinks vouchers on the Wednesday was a lovely treat and entertainment every night was pleasant, although we didn’t win on the bingo it was always a fun hour. Overall, the staff were very friendly and welcoming, always catering for our needs and I would recommend this hotel for anybody looking for an affordable and good quality stay near the coast. The town is on your doorstep, only a 2 minute walk to the high street and excursions were available with Shearings to Exeter and Tynemouth. A lovely 4 night stay and a great laugh with the family. Thank you Shearings and Torbay Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SimonwMurray1, General Manager at The Caledonian Torbay Hotel
Responded Mar 2, 2020
Hi Livm692 and thank you for reviewing your short break with us at the Torbay. I am glad that yourselves and your Nan enjoyed all that we had to offer . Its great to read that the staff looked after you and that they were attentive, helpful and friendly. I do hope that we will see you again when you next visit Torquay
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marg870 wrote a review Sep 2021
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Just returned from a 4 night stay at The Torbay Hotel price per night £105 per night
The room looked ok on arrival but we soon found out there was no housekeeping service available so for the 4 days we were there we had to collect everything from reception toilet paper, towels tea coffee and milk the room received no service at all and turned out not to be as clean as was first seen,according to the bumf on reception the rooms are deep cleaned after each booking not true,the bathroom was dirty the ledges were thick with dust and there were cobwebs covering the window handle. I found a sanitary towel (luckily it was still in its packet )and a coat hanger under one of the beds neither had seen a vacuum cleaner in some time
The men’s toilets in the main reception area smelled heavily of urine the ladies in the same area was a disgrace.The inside of the lift door had not been cleaned for some time,the outside of the lift door on floor 2 where our room was had also not been cleaned for some time
On a plus side the staff we had contact with were friendly and tried to help
It’s a shame that this hotel obviously didn’t have enough housekeeping staff to maintain hygiene standards to a satisfactory standard given that we have been living through a pandemic where surface contact should bea number one priority
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Don’t get room 209 there is a extractor of some kind right outside the bedroom window,when it...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicola Cousins, General Manager at The Caledonian Torbay Hotel
Responded Sep 23, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are deeply sorry that you had a negative experience in our hotel and that we failed to meet expectations on your recent visit. We have implemented rigorous training to ensure every member of our hotel team is able to offer the standard of service that we are accustomed to sharing with our guests. We are also in the process of refreshing each of our rooms and working hard to rectify some of the teething issues caused by 15 months of closure during lockdown. If you would like to follow-up personally to discuss matters further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly through the hotel. We do hope you allow us another opportunity to share a more positive experience at one of our Coast & Country Hotels, so that we can show you how we have improved upon our early shortcomings. l Best wishes, Nicola cousins General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
caron22 wrote a review Jul 2021
Southampton, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, we've been coming to Torquay for several years and had always stayed at a particular bed & breakfast, however the people there retired earlier this year and after walking past the Torbay Hotel many times, we decided to book .
We were not disappinted , the hotel was lovely, our room was front facing and we worried it would be noisy , but it wasnt too bad apart from a bit of traffic noise and one night we had England Supporters cheering into the early hours as England were playing in the Euros , and won , and had got into the final , so that was understandable .
The room was clean , the only thing I would say that wasnt good was the state of the window frames as they are in need of a total strip and re paint as they havent been done for many years .
The rooms were not cleaned due to covid , which was fine if you needed anything you only had to ask at reception , and if you needed clean towels you just put the dirty ones outside and you got clean ones .
The breakfast was a buffet style and the food was fine , some mornings there was a little queue, but you didn't have to wait long
We did not eat there in the evenings so we cant comment on that .
All the staff were lovely even tho they were short staffed ,nothing was any trouble and they were so happy and friendly
Parking was in the multi storey car park a few mins walk away but you can get a permit from reception which will save you money
We loved it there and will definately stay there again
The location is superb, all shops , bars and restaurants are right on your doorstep
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicola Cousins, General Manager at The Caledonian Torbay Hotel
Responded Jul 15, 2021
Thank you caron22 for taking the time to write your review. It sounds like we looked after you in all areas .we do have an ongoing redecoration plan but as you can appreciate we are very full at the moment so do works when we can. we are very fortunate to be in an excellent position in Torquay
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanna S wrote a review Apr 2022
Totnes, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I’m afraid all I can say about our visit to Torbay Hotel is… it was ok.

Parking: we had to find a spot on the roadside, check in and get a parking permit from reception. This costs £6 per 24 hours plus a £25 deposit. We then needed to move the car to the multi storey a couple minutes away.

Room was nice, we stayed in a superior front facing room although the room needs some tlc.
The windows was filthy on the outside and really took away from the view, one of the windows was painted shut and the other two were loose and rattled so someone had put wedges of paper in the frame to stop this.

Bed was comfortable.

Floor was incredibly creaky and carpet was really loose and baggy.

There was tea and coffee in room (coffee machine hadn’t been emptied from previous guests stay) there was enough milk and no bottled water in room although website stated there will be.

Table in room not clean, I’m guessing it was red wine on it.

En-suite was nice, good powerful shower and complimentary soap, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner.

Came back to the hotel after watching a show at The Princess Theatre and the bar was already closed, not sure what time it shut but it was early

Breakfast ends at 9.30 which I think is a bit early, all the hotels I’ve stayed in normally finish at 10.
The breakfast had scrambled egg, bacon, tomato, hash browns, sausages and beans. It was ok but lacking flavour. There was also a fee pastries, fruit, yogurt and cereals.

Check out at 10am. Collected car from multi-storey, used the permit to exit the car park. Parked on roadside then needed to return permit to get deposit back, this should be released back into my bank over the next couple days.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicola Cousins, General Manager at The Caledonian Torbay Hotel
Responded Apr 25, 2022
Thank you Joannas for taking the time to write your review. I sorry you had a few issues while you were with us i will look into your comments about the room . i have checked and the bar closed at 11p on that Wednesday , which is our closing time. we do hope you would look to booking with us again
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan L wrote a review Sep 2021
Liverpool, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 4 night half board at this hotel on a coach holiday. The hotel is a bit dated and shabby but don’t be put off.
Every member of staff we met was both professional, cheerful and kind. A lot of the guests (ourselves included) were elderly and many had special requirements. Nothing seemed too much trouble in assisting us all.
Because of the Covid restrictions regarding servicing and cleaning rooms, we were responsible for replacing the towels and other toiletries. This was easily done at the reception desk.
Our evening meals were very tasty, nicely cooked with a new and varied menu available each evening. Breakfasts are buffet style with a full range of cooked and cold choices. A lovely lady was constantly walking round the room offering refills of tea and coffee.
There is a bit of a scramble for the one lift that services four floors, especially after meals or the arrival and departure of the coach parties. However the comfortable lounge provides seating and a chance to chat with fellow travellers while you wait.
I would visit this hotel again if i ever plan another trip to Torquay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nicola Cousins, General Manager at The Caledonian Torbay Hotel
Responded Sep 23, 2021
Thank you susanlK2893AB for taking the time to write your review. we do assist all our guests no matter what age with what they may need to have a comfortable stay with us. thank you for your kind words regarding the staff I do hope we will see you again Thank you Nicola cousins
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Samii K
Bradford, United Kingdom56 contributions4 helpful votes
Lift too all floors but very small you can only get 2 people in and stairs are top step and go around a bend ramp available for disabled access they also hire scooters if you can't get one on coach as some coaches don't take large wheelchairs or mobility scooters hope this helps ? Feel free ask anything else
George L asked a question Jun 2024
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom6 contributions5 helpful votes
Can you tell me if the number 12 bus from Paignton stops outside or very near to the Torbay Hotel please?
Answer from Joanne J
Beverley, United Kingdom51 contributions24 helpful votes
There is a stop outside the hotel, but this is suspended due to road works. However there is a replacement stop just around the corner (approx 200yds) for the no 12 in both directions.
Janet c asked a question Mar 2024
6 contributions2 helpful votes
Does any rooms have a balcony?
Answer from Samii K
Bradford, United Kingdom56 contributions4 helpful votes
A few had said they had balcony rooms.
Gillian W asked a question Feb 2023
Stirlingshire, United Kingdom51 contributions68 helpful votes
Has anyone stayed in room 430 please? Does it have a good view?
Answer from ian s
Widnes, United Kingdom18 contributions8 helpful votes
Sorry I haven't, I was in room 110, had a great view
stephen f wrote a tip Jul 2
Gateshead, United Kingdom133 contributions31 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you can book a front view room as this gives you the views to die for. Avoid lift when coach parties arrive."
Read full review
Lynne W wrote a tip Jun 2024
Gloucester, United Kingdom52 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book well in advance as this is a very popular hotel and location"
Read full review
jimmy k wrote a tip May 2024
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for room 108....totally overlooks the marina...has a bath and a shower"
Read full review
Michael B wrote a tip May 2024
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom22 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had no issues at all"
Read full review
Susan B wrote a tip May 2024
2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Buy an extra pastie for you evening meal, the vegan ones are great especially at a small cafe in Exmouth."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Torquay area.
PRICE RANGE
C$126 - C$170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
torbay hotel torquay
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonEnglish RivieraTorquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
111
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Caledonian Torbay Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Caledonian Torbay Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Caledonian Torbay Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Torre Abbey Leisure Park (0.2 km), Torquays Dinosaur World (0.3 km), and Torquay Harbour (Inner Dock) (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Caledonian Torbay Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and meeting rooms.
What food & drink options are available at The Caledonian Torbay Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Caledonian Torbay Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Caledonian Torbay Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Small World Tapas, Lighthouse Cafe and Bar, and Harbour16.
Are there any historical sites close to The Caledonian Torbay Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Torre Abbey (1.0 km) and Friends Of Oldway (3.5 km).
Does The Caledonian Torbay Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is The Caledonian Torbay Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Torquay HotelsTorquay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TorquayHotels near The Caledonian Torbay Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars