We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

TLH Derwent Hotel

Show Prices
#19 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
Panoramas (43)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,036 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,034: English reviews
Start your review of TLH Derwent Hotel
 Click to rate
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

This was our first time we stayed at The Derwent Hotel and it won't be the last. From the moment we checked in at the reception we were made to feel that we were special. From the Manager right down to the house maids we were really pleased with the service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrianPerkins1
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am really pleased you had a nice break. The title of your review is a bit confusing so I want to ensure readers know we do not start "Turkey and Tinsel" breaks until November. I assume you are the gentleman that I discussed these breaks with. I hope to...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were B&B as we like to visit the near-by resorts. The food and drinks were quite expensive but good value light meals in the Albert bar. The swimming area is excellent Steam room, sauna and jacuzzi really relaxing. Ideal hotel resort if the weather is not very good as all four hotel are linked and you can share the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roger_lynch1
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We hope our drink prices remain competitive and are well priced against other hotels. I am pleased you had a relaxing break. Kind regards, Jason.

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited this hotel again and pleased to say its getting re furbished so its looking very nice. Rooms are clean, plenty of tea coffee etc, only problem with this hotel is the small lifts and many stairs ok for the younger, fitted people but watched the older generation struggle! BUT the staff are willing helpers and they WILL help so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Kind reviews

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed in The Derwent hotel couple of weeks ago with the 3ness Fitness group. The hotel is surely big enough to accommodate our group of 200+ fitness fanatics. Its rather old and outdated, but I didn't spend much time in my room, so that was fine. Bed was comfortable, room was warm and shower had a good pressure....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WildSpiritGotFree
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you for taking the time to post your review. As you are aware the 3ness sole use break was the first weekend held with us. I am pleased to say it was a very successful weekend and will hopefully repeat next year. The menu offering and structure was not our usual three course Table D ‘Hote menu,...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My self my wife and 3.5 year old archie stayed for 3 nights. Good points..... The hotel is mainly elderly and had concerns archie may not be welcome. However the staff. Entertainers and other guests made it a great time. The pool is lovely. The games room was good value and the bar prices are good. We ate at aztec...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rich g
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I have shared your review with our head chef to take account when reviewing our menus prior to the summer. Kind regards

West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided that for us, the best place to celebrate our Golden (50th) Wedding Anniversary was at TLH Derwent Hotel, Torquay so we booked a 5 day Monday to Friday holiday from which we have just returned. On arrival we found that the car parking facility was more than satisfactory and into Reception which was very welcoming. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lawleyk
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you !

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived on a bowls week against local sides wich was very enjoyable you cannot go wrong with theses hotels only tip is if you want a quiet time dont book when the kids are off school , if you do don't moan about it after

 Report
Helpful?
Thank idwal c
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. kind regards

Skegness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Hotel was clean and tidy the staff very helpful (nothing to much trouble) but it was half term and we were plagued with little people who raced up and down corridors banging doors and shouting also running across ballroom floor and round the room they were mostly out of control. No staff or parents seemed to be in control...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mitchskeg
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The hotel is popular with families during half terms. I have noted your comments in relation to children. Our Table D' Hote menu offers at least four choice of each course. We also have an a la carte menu available in our Aztec Bistro should you not wish to be...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from a Monday to Friday Nova tours trip to The Derwent Hotel. We had a lovely time. Very clean and lovely food. All staff very friendly. Couldn't fault it. Nice big bedroom and comfy bed. Would return again no problem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our fifth visit to the Derwent and 10th with TLH, and this time we took our daughter and family, for a half term break. Firstly the room was the worst we have stayed in, very small, with extractors a few feet from the window and a brickwall for a view. Complained on Sunday but was offered equally small rooms on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alex S
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay on this visit. The customer feedback forms are sometimes read daily, but are usually collated each month and then digested and any relevant points addressed. If you have something that you would like feedback on during your stay...

527 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (420)
Viewed
Amenities (144)
Viewed
Aztec Leisure Indoor Pool (12)
Viewed
Aztec Leisure Indoor Recreational Pool (12)
Viewed
Aztec Leisure Jacuzzi (5)
Viewed
Aztec Leisure Outdoor Pool (19)
Viewed
Double Room (21)
Viewed
Family of Four Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
The Hotel (88)
Viewed
Twin Room (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 km away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#26 of 89 in Torquay
565 reviews
1.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
2,518 reviews
0.1 km away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#32 of 89 in Torquay
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#33 of 89 in Torquay
617 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.8 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $107 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#17 Business Hotel in Torquay
#25 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#34 Family Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from TLH Derwent Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
United Kingdom
7 months ago
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from TLH Derwent Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just ask when booking”
 of 5 bubbles roger_lynch1, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Always mention any special requirements when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles Lawleyk, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We asked for a room catering for disability and was given a lovely room on the first floor, with 2 lifts was ok.”
 of 5 bubbles mitchskeg, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not accept Room 138,141 or 145”
 of 5 bubbles 743alexs, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor and above for less noise”
 of 5 bubbles , 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5