We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

TLH Derwent Hotel

Show Prices
#18 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
Panoramas (43)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,029 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,027: English reviews
Start your review of TLH Derwent Hotel
 Click to rate
Skegness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Hotel was clean and tidy the staff very helpful (nothing to much trouble) but it was half term and we were plagued with little people who raced up and down corridors banging doors and shouting also running across ballroom floor and round the room they were mostly out of control. No staff or parents seemed to be in control...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mitchskeg
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just returned from a Monday to Friday Nova tours trip to The Derwent Hotel. We had a lovely time. Very clean and lovely food. All staff very friendly. Couldn't fault it. Nice big bedroom and comfy bed. Would return again no problem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our fifth visit to the Derwent and 10th with TLH, and this time we took our daughter and family, for a half term break. Firstly the room was the worst we have stayed in, very small, with extractors a few feet from the window and a brickwall for a view. Complained on Sunday but was offered equally small rooms on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay on this visit. The customer feedback forms are sometimes read daily, but are usually collated each month and then digested and any relevant points addressed. If you have something that you would like feedback on during your stay...

Yatton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our third stay within the group and second stay at The Derwent. This time we went half board and wished we did it before. The food was excellent both at breakfast and dinner, it was hot, very tasty and plenty of it. We came as a group and everyone had a great time and everyone was impressed with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicola s
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased you appear to have had a great stay. Kind regards

Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been here quite a few times before and this hotel and group of adjoining hotels never lets us down. The Derwent Bedrooms have a good refurbished look and so has Reception. Restaurant runs very smoothly and the food is really good with a good menu selection. Entertainment team work hard to entertain the guests throughout the day and evening. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KathandDen
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, kindest regards.

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Derwent hotel Well what can I say first the good points Restaurant : Jim and his staff can't do enough very helpful and nothing is a hassle Food : excellent meals and Andrew the chef was a very polite and cheerful chap just what you need in the morning anything you wanted he tried to get Drink: we drank in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimmyjock10770
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to read all of the good points you have highlighted. I will now address the 'bad' points, parking spaces are finite, however unlike most hotels they are free on a first come first serve basis. We do reserve space for blue badge holders. We also have an...

Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay. Room was clean and the breakfast was very good. The entertainment was excellent. Had a really enjoyable weekend. Will definitely be booking again. Great place for all the family. The indoor pools are lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 29Birdie5
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We spent a week end at the derwent which is a large hotel staff are very good and welcoming breakfast are good food and plenty of variety the decor is a little tired looking,our room had a small window and was a little stuffy but ok at the time of our visit,it might be a little different mid summer if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ray j
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Bridgwater, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good place, good fun and a great place to go. Entertainment was far better than I imagined it would be. Breakfast choice was very good as well as facilities within the hotel to make your break enjoyable. Staff well trained and polite.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Kind regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just stayed at the Derwent on a bowls tour from Monday to Friday, was lovely the staff are friendly and helpful, the food was excellent and entertainment was good, have been doing this for a few yrs now and never fails to disappoint, good value for money cant wait for next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

527 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (420)
Viewed
Amenities (144)
Viewed
Aztec Leisure Indoor Pool (12)
Viewed
Aztec Leisure Indoor Recreational Pool (12)
Viewed
Aztec Leisure Jacuzzi (5)
Viewed
Aztec Leisure Outdoor Pool (19)
Viewed
Double Room (21)
Viewed
Family of Four Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
The Hotel (88)
Viewed
Twin Room (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
2,469 reviews
0.1 km away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
562 reviews
0.1 km away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#30 of 89 in Torquay
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#34 of 89 in Torquay
612 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.8 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $105 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#17 Business Hotel in Torquay
#25 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#34 Family Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from TLH Derwent Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
United Kingdom
6 months ago
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from TLH Derwent Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We asked for a room catering for disability and was given a lovely room on the first floor, with 2 lifts was ok.”
 of 5 bubbles mitchskeg, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not accept Room 138,141 or 145”
 of 5 bubbles 743alexs, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor and above for less noise”
 of 5 bubbles , 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were in room 147 which was quiet until you opened the window. We had a view of a flat roof, pipes and the CH boiler was under the window.”
 of 5 bubbles brendao815, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room at the rear of hotel away from the main road”
 of 5 bubbles 615patriciadd, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5