Travelodge Torquay

Travelodge Torquay

Everything you need
Traveller (66)
Dirty corners.
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#27 of 81 hotels in Torquay
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Travelodge has over 460 hotels across the UK and Ireland. We can offer you great value and everything you need for a good night’s sleep wherever you want to go!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Residential Neighbourhood
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Newton Rd, Torquay TQ2 5BZ England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 63 out of 100
63
Exeter Airport
30.4 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,505 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Travelodge Torquay has garnered appreciation for its clean, comfortable atmosphere and its convenient location, ideal for exploring the town and seafront. While the hotel's cleanliness and room tidiness often receive commendations, guests have called out inconsistencies in service and maintenance. The value proposition is seen as reasonable, though some travelers warn of extra charges. Noise levels from the car park and other disturbances have been a common concern, suggesting that light sleepers might need to prepare for potential disruptions.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Welcoming
Rooms
Basic
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Noise level
Noisy
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,505Review19Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 766
  • 332
  • 188
  • 88
  • 131
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ebygum2020 wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Concerned about a report of bed bugs on a previous report for this hotel, we phoned ion advance to check the status of this. The manager readily agreed that this had occurred 2 years ago - obviously brought in by a guest. Since then great efforts have been made to update everything in the Travelodge, and I can vouch that this was visibly the case.
The room was the usual modern good quality Travelodge room, very clean with not a hint of bed bugs. ALL staff members were incredibly helpful, polite and courteous - from the night staff (when we arrived) to the manager, cleaning staff and breakfast staff. We paid the extra for the £8ish for the Full English breakfast and were more than happy with the quality of the food and the cleanliness of the restaurant in the Travelodge - so much so that I resolved to write this review,
Very Happy to revisit and recommend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annette J wrote a review Oct 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Travelodge always deliver, and Torquay did not disappoint. Reception very welcoming. Very helpful Manager. We felt quite secure with enough hand sanitisers available, masks being worn. Rooms spacious. The first Travelodge we've stayed in that has USB plugs - loads in the room. Bed very comfortable, excellent shower. Only stayed for one night, but will certainly return as we're walking the South West Coastal Path and Torquay is suitably located for the area we're currently walking. Loads of parking available, front and rear of the building. Please note car parking is chargeable, in case you arrive in the dark and tired from a long trip.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
SMUTTYREMARK wrote a review Aug 2020
Cardiff, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for two nights as a small family group and have no complaints whatsoever. There was plenty of social distancing and sanitizer points and felt you wasn't too restricted. The staff was really helpful and friendly and the rooms was basic but clean. The hotel is in a decent location 20 mins walk from town centre and beach and has limited parking that costs £4 per day which is pretty reasonable. The hotel is a budget hotel so expect no frills but its good value and i definitely would visit again and recommend to others
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brian H wrote a review Jan 2020
Eastington, null, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is in a good location about half an hours walk into the centre, parking has a small charge but that's becoming the norm. On our trip the paint was so fresh it stung your eyes, the carpet must of had a spill on it but the heater was turned on and left by the hotel
Unfortunately the main doors didn't work and we were left standing in the cold with others
Enough said as the reception staff were very blunt and not apologetic.... won't return to this establishment
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TravelodgeUK, Zack from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Torquay
Responded Jan 23, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to learn you were pleased with the Hotels location, however we are sorry to hear of the issues that impacted your stay. Your feedback is invaluable to us and we can confirm this will be used to improve the service we offer. We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write this review and we do hope you will stay with us in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChuckaSY wrote a review Oct 2020
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked in for 3 nights and first impressions were good. Sanitiser stations, masks being worn, bookings for breakfast so social distancing could be observed.
The hotel is situated a short walk from the train station, there's a bus stop outside where the number 12 stops and this takes you to neighbouring Paignton and Brixham if you wished to explore. A day rider is £5 per adult, allowing you to jump on and off Stagecoach buses which we found great. Back at the hotel, we parked in their car park which costs £4 per 24 hour stay.
Check in was swift and staff were helpful. We found our room clean and spacious but just as we had unpacked noticed a leak from the toilet which wasn't 'clean' water so reported this and were offered to move to another room.
To go into details on everything we found wrong would take far too long, but needless to say, after we moved to room number 3, the Manager offered a complimentary breakfast and a refund which we accepted.
Sadly, I doubt we would choose this particular Travelodge again if we went back to Torquay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robin S wrote a review Sep 2020
Southampton, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently spent 2 nights here. The staff at reception were all extremely helpful, as housekeeping do not service rooms at the moment, reception provide everything you need, spare towels, toilet rolls etc.
Unfortunately the hotel is situated on a busy road which seemed to be busy all night and hence very noisy. Although it is quite a way from the town centre there is a frequent bus service from outside the front of the hotel and tickets are very reasonable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from James from the Social Media Team UK, General Manager at Travelodge Torquay
Responded Sep 12, 2020
Thank you for reviewing our Travelodge Torquay Hotel. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us with the link or a copy of your TripAdvisor review, via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear from you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pritchardbrown wrote a review Sep 2020
Crawley, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Mattress dipped in the middle and was not the usual Travelodge standard we expected. Sheets did not fit the mattress, were too small so were constantly rucking up under your body making sleeping uncomfortable. Staff indifferent apart from cleaning lady. Location was noisy and should be mentioned on website.
Breakfast awful. Watered down orange juice, bitter coffee, food barely warm and even when fresh from the toaster it was not toast but warm soggy very cheap sliced bread. Would not eat there again and didn't after the first morning
Discovered when we arrived there are NO drawers, cupboards, bedside tables or wardrobe. One high shelf and six hangers in an open space below.
Should be mentioned in the hotel details
No extraction in bathroom so difficult to ventilate.
Current policy is no room cleaning and you can't have clean bedding unless you stay more than six nights.
Yes it's cheap but it does not do the Travelodge brand any favours at all.
External areas dirty.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Niki from The Social Media Team UK, General Manager at Travelodge Torquay
Responded Sep 30, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We feel that we offer all that is needed for a comfortable night’s stay. We do not provide extras which other hotels may provide so we can keep our room rates low however we understand your frustration and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your feedback has been noted and we thank you once again for reviewing our hotel. We do hope you will stay with us in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gillian G wrote a review Sep 2021
Chester, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a very well maintained Travelodge and this is our 12th stay in 10 years. We had such a great time we’re going back in October. Particular thanks to Karol, the manager who was really friendly and welcoming and couldn’t do enough to make sure we had a great holiday.

Our family room was very clean and spacious and the bathroom had thick, fluffy bath towels. We had breakfast in the restaurant each day which was freshly cooked and always kept topped up.

I’d say Karol does a great job in keeping the whole place running efficiently. The house keeping team are great as were the restaurant staff in fact all the staff in the Torquay Travelodge are really friendly and helpful.

There’s plenty of car parking (charge applies) with a car park at the front and rear of the building. There is no air conditioning in the rooms (only in Reception and Bar areas) so the rooms do get warm in hot weather as the window is safety restricted but there’s an electric fan in the room.

Torre station is only about a 3 minute walk to the Travelodge whereas the main Torquay railway station would be at least 30 minute uphill walk (or a £5 taxi ride). The number 12 bus stops right by the Travelodge as well.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
brookie0079 wrote a review Jan 2022
Rothwell, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were really friendly, nothing was an issue and they always had a smile on their faces :)

We had a room for 4 for 4 nights, I must say Travelodge need to rethink their wardrobe situation; hotels in busy seaside resorts where people probably stay longer than 1 night, face issues with hanging! Luckily we had taken some clothes on hangers as there was literally no where to hang anything so we ended up using the floor as a stand in draw as apart from a 30cm bar with 5 hangers on there was nowhere to put your clothes; not easy with a family of 4

We never had an issue with noise, we were next the lift but given its such a small, 2 floor hotel we never heard the lift and the room faced the back car park so we got a great nights sleep

The location was on the busy road into the town centre but we also parked on there for free as there were always spaces available, so that saved paying the hotel. It is a bit rough in the surrounding area though, we would come back to the hotel by taxi at night as we felt a bit uneasy returning on foot in the dark around 8/9pm

I couldn't fault the hotel though; the location and surrounding areas are nothing to do with the hotel. We wouldn't return as we didn't really like Torquay
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Take coat hangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dalia m wrote a review Jan 2020
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for Christmas break, for 6 nights in a family room on the ground floor. To our biggest disappointment we had no wifi signal at all, 20min to walk to town, nearest shop about 10min walk.good point, bus stop oposit to travel lodge and operated till late nights every 15min. Strong smell of paint emitted when first entered in to room. We had to keep window open for a while. Room was basic but clean, shower powerfull just extracter did not work so bathroom was completely steamed. Early morning noise from the bin man viechle noise, however very quite from the inside hotel.overall not bad stay except wifi signal .
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
brendamaczka asked a question Jun 2023
Rochester, United Kingdom1 contribution
Does room have fridge
Answer from Dave F
South Wales, United Kingdom103 contributions50 helpful votes
No it does not have a fridge, we take one with us.
Steve R asked a question Nov 2021
Torquay, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Can u check in early
Answer from Torquay M
Torquay, United Kingdom
Hello, you can early check in for additional fee of £10. Regards
Yvonne G asked a question Nov 2021
Devon, United Kingdom929 contributions57 helpful votes
Hi there, Could you tell me please if the rooms have a mini fridge and kettle, many thanks
Answer from joolsg61
Malvern Hills, United Kingdom213 contributions68 helpful votes
It has a kettle but we took our own mini fridge as we took our dog with us and was handy for dog food and for our milk for tea. (Also for beer and mini wine bottles) in my view a fridge in your room is a necessity and I really don’t understand why Travelodge don’t provide one.
Answer from Ross M
2 contributions
Yes there is 2 car parks... one at the front of the hotel and one at the rear.
unknown u asked a question Jun 2021
Do the room come with air con.
Answer from GARY B
3 contributions3 helpful votes
No air conditioning in the room I’m afraid
Lisa W wrote a tip Jul 12
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Home from home love it "
Read full review
andreafN9856PL wrote a tip Jul 3
Tamworth, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t use it "
Read full review
quackers2 wrote a tip Jun 2024
Sheffield, United Kingdom12 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stop for any more than 1 night "
Read full review
Simo wrote a tip May 2024
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom105 contributions46 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not a big car park but good value if you get a space. A large public car park next door "
Read full review
Richard S wrote a tip Mar 2024
Oxford, United Kingdom10 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"You have to pay to park your car but it's only £4.00 per 24hour"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Torquay area.
PRICE RANGE
C$82 - C$184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonEnglish RivieraTorquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Travelodge Torquay - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Travelodge Torquay
Which popular attractions are close to Travelodge Torquay?
Nearby attractions include Torre Abbey (1.0 km), Jungle Journey Adventure Golf (1.0 km), and The Gin Nest (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Travelodge Torquay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Travelodge Torquay?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Travelodge Torquay?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Travelodge Torquay?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Blue Walnut Cafe Bar & Cinema, Chelston Manor, and Indi-Yang.
Is Travelodge Torquay located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Torquay.
Are pets allowed at Travelodge Torquay?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Travelodge Torquay?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Torre Abbey (1.0 km), Friends Of Oldway (3.7 km), and Bradley Manor (7.8 km).
Is Travelodge Torquay accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Torquay HotelsTorquay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TorquayHotels near Travelodge Torquay
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars