We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Templestowe Hotel

Show Prices
#10 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Templestowe Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

513 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 512: English reviews
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Once again my party of 50 had a wonderful time at the fantastic Templestowe. The only complaint was that the shows were too long and people wanted to get up for a bit of a dance as is usually the case be it to act or records. This fact has not put anyone off though and are already waiting for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jeannette w
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Just returned from the Templestowe having stayed there for 3 night's. We were a group of 43 persons and all enjoyed it immensely, in fact all want to book for 2018. Food was very good, entertainment great.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mjj742016
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

What a wonderful group you were. It has been a real pleasure to have you stay and we certainly look forward to your return. Thank you from all the team.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Returned yesterday from a really lovely break, our room was nice and my mum and I loved the entertainment, We enjoyed every single night we were there! The food was very nice and always a good selection, the strawberry ice-cream is delicious! I would defintely go back again !

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jeni40
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

We truly appreciate your review and great to hear you had such a good holiday. Thank you.

Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was neat,tidy,not overlarge,but big enough for our needs and on-suit I do not know how the staff manage to be so cheerful,and helpful ALL the time when they must get the same questions asked day after day .Never once did they convey the impression something was an irritation or a nuisance . 10 out of 10 for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank awyspracks1
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

10 out of 10 ! Wow, thank you very much indeed. We really do enjoy the company of all our guests and, hopefully, nothing is too much trouble to ensure everyone has a great stay. Thank you for your very kind review.

Clevedon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second visit to the Templestowe and we certainly were not let down in any way,the food, the service and the staff are all a credit to the Hotel, it was among the best Christmase's that i can remember. Lovely entertainment, Steve Laister always shines as a singer and comedian and Paul the entertainments manager AKA Father Christmas...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank thunderbell1954
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Steve, Paul and the whole team are delighted that you had a Christmas to remember. It is a wonderful time and one that we want to make very special for all our guests. Thanks from us all.

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend and I had yet another very enjoyable time at the Templestow Hotel at the beginning of December This being our sixth visit as we are always ensured of first class entertainment good food and excellent accommodation. We would confidently recommend this Hotel to our friends and will definitely be returning 2017.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joan W
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing recommendation. It was lovely to have you return, and we certainly look forward to seeing you again soon.

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Another great time at the Templestowe, we were lucky enough to get a sea-view room at no extra price. The food was good as usual, entertainment with Steve Laister on the first night was very funny, the second night was a little different than we expected but the male singer was fantastic and the four piece brass band good fun....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pat237
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Great to hear you will be returning in February. The panto break was a 'special' theatre break which we hope to repeat with new shows throughout the year. See you in February

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Never thought I would ever say ANYTHING at the Templestowe was disappointing but the entertainment on the 2nd night of this 2 night break proved to be just that. Paula was replaced at the last minute by a girl singer who had a terrible voice and gave us such a headache we went to bed at 9.30pm as did many...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jan R
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear of your disappointment. The Panto break was only put together 6 weeks before the holiday date when we managed to secure theatre tickets. It was all self-drive (no coach passengers) This package attracted a younger market who wanted to enjoy the late night Christmas shopping in town and so the hotel was quieter than usual. The 2...

port talbot
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

just back from mon/wed visit, and must say all in all it was as good as always,rooms were spotless, food excellent,staff in all areas were great and the panto was ok,the down side to our visit was the last night the entertainment was changed !! we had a female singer then a 4 piece brass band and the a male...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tony b
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. On the second night the hotel was full but many of the clients, on this self-drive holiday, took the opportunity to get out and do some last minute Christmas shopping in town. This did leave the ballroom a little less busy than usual. We hope this did not spoil your holiday.

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have just returned from a lovely few days at this very welcoming hotel. Great value for money for our three day break. Excellent food, well cooked and served on hot plates. With a Christmas theme the hotel didn't disappoint, all the usual festivities. Loved the parade of the turkey prior to the main Christmas meal, complete with bagpipes, great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Wonderful to know you will be returning soon. Thank you for your excellent review.

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
2,386 reviews
1.5 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
566 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#17 of 89 in Torquay
1,016 reviews
0.3 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#20 of 89 in Torquay
993 reviews
1.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Torquay's Premier Entertainment Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Templestowe Hotel

Address: Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $99 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torquay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#15 Family Hotel in Torquay
#16 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Templestowe Hotel staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
21 days ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
21 days ago
Cardiff, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Templestowe Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family rooms are fantastic - huge”
 of 5 bubbles 297jeannettew, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“higher floors seem quieter”
 of 5 bubbles thunderbell1954, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“First floor”
 of 5 bubbles 48joanw, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles chrisbellamy66, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try for the sea view rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles JacquelineC759, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5