We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Anchorage Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

354 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Anchorage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 352: English reviews
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2016

We've just come back from what can only be described as a very comfortable and thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Anchorage. We don't get away as much as we would like to, but when we do we want to know we are going to have a good time and we know that's what we are going to get everytime when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JOAN M
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2016

One night stay at this hotel.. Had booked a single room at a very reasonable rate.. When I arrived I was given a double room at no extra cost. The room and en-suite were spotlessly clean. Staff were were very polite and helpful. Breakfast was from 8:15. Good coffee and plenty of toast. Overall an enjoyable stay at this budget...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stevie2bikes
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2016

A long weekend just spent at this hotel and staff did all they could to make it a pleasant stay. Free WiFi is advertised and we've been staying since 2011 and have never had a problem. The Scottish guy on the desk was always very pleasant when I mentioned it wasn't working (even to trying to connect for me and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris W
Reviewed 15 January 2016

We enjoyed a warm welcome at the reception, before being given the key to our room, which was larger than expected, and comfortable and pleasant. We decided to stay for the 3 x course dinner in the hotel, rather than venturing further afield, and we were extremely glad that we did. We thoroughly enjoyed our short break at this hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Laurie P
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2015

We had booked in for three nights a nd paid a bit extra for a delux room which it was [room 81].As usual booking in was over in a couple of minutes and off we went to unpack.As expected all the meals we had were top class and the waiting staff well on top of their game.The entertainment on Friday...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Graham J
anchorageBabbacombe, Reception at Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Graham J Many thanks for your review of your stay with us in December. We are sorry about the situation with the entertainment on the Saturday evening and glad that we were able to resolve it for the Sunday night. We look forward to welcoming you back again next time you are here to watch the football.

Irthlingborough
Reviewed 15 December 2015

Just spent mon to fri at this hotel and could not find anything wrong except for one blip on the first night in the restaurant ....staff are friendly, good hot food with choice from menu, rooms warm, good, and serviced everyday.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MaryC835
anchorageBabbacombe, Reception at Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review

Hello MaryC835 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We hope to see you back again in the future.

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2015

Have just returned from a Tinsel and Turkey weekend at the Anchorage, am very disappointed with the stay. On arrival on Friday theTV picture in our room was breaking up and No Signal showing, it took four visits by various staff members and eventually a new aerial cable was fitted on Sunday. There was a very cheerless feeling to the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Peter G
anchorageBabbacombe, Reception at Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Peter G Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your Turkey & Tinsel break. We were aware that you were experiencing difficulties with the television in your bedroom. On each occasion when a member of management attended we were unable to find a...

Evercreech, Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2015

Food good, staff very friendly, rooms clean, towels changed when required, beds made every day. Shower not so good and toilet didn't flush as well as it should. Bed squeaked. The entertainment was brilliant every night. Dogs welcome if you want to bring your furry friend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn G
Sherbourne
Reviewed 9 November 2015

We've had a lovely weekend at the Anchorage. They have apparently done a lot of refurbishment lately and it certainly shows. The food was excellent and piping hot. We weren't expecting the Christmas decorations to be up but I have to say they made for a fantastic atmosphere. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be booking again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
anchorageBabbacombe, Reception at Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Tom D Thank you for your review of the hotel. We are continuously trying to improve the hotel in the bedrooms that we are upgrading to the service and atmosphere in the bar and restaurant. We hope you keep coming back to see all of our future improvements! Best regards Anchorage Hotel

Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2015

This is the second time I have been to the Anchorage this year. I'm always pleased to arrive and without fail there always seems to be something new. An alteration here and a change there and as a result it seems to get better and better each time I go. The food is great and the staff are always friendly,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank STACEY R
anchorageBabbacombe, Reception at Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Stacey R Thank you for talking the time to write your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Best regards Anchorage Hotel

244 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (168)
Viewed
Double Room (26)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)
Viewed
Triple Family Room (29)
Viewed
Twin Room (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.3 km away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
177 reviews
1.7 km away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
348 reviews
2.3 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 89 in Torquay
2,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.5 km away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#40 of 89 in Torquay
153 reviews
1.5 km away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 89 in Torquay
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Address: Babbacombe Aveland Road, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $70 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Torquay
Torquay Minotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anchorage Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Poole, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Gloucester, United Kingdom
somerset
over a year ago
Cardiff, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Anchorage Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Jakeyboy1208, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Be a loyal visitor:I enjoyed an upgraded room on my 2nd visit.Sign-up for email alerts. Invite your freinds.”
 of 5 bubbles dulcieforbes, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Various types of room”
 of 5 bubbles jimb02746, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“you get what you pay for”
 of 5 bubbles xSineadx1, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Poor customer service”
 of 5 bubbles I5107TBmattp, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5