We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Headland Hotel

Show Prices
#11 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expert photos
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

720 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Headland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 720: English reviews
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2015

It is the one and only time we will stay at this hotel, on arriving we we greeted by Reception staff in a friendly manner it then went down from there , we stayed in room 130 down in the basement it was old tired and very dark even with the lights on it felt more like a dungeon than...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Susan R
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear readers, It is always upsetting to read a review like this one. I would like to sincerely apologise to Susan R for her very disappointing experience during her stay with us. Firstly, I would like to mention that there are no basement rooms in this hotel, as we are located on a hill, when you go down two levels...

Rowley Regis
Reviewed 11 September 2015

Just returned from a 3 night stay, over the bank holiday weekend .this was our 4th stay, and once again the standard of the hotel was excellent. cannot fault anything. the new bar and lounge area ,and outside patio are fantastic ,and when the new Hydro pools are built , well this will be better than some 4-5star hotels in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidr1066
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear davidr1066, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so pleased that after your 4th stay with us, you are still finding your time with us to be of great quality with fantastic service! We have received some great feedback for our new Gallery Lounge & Terrace which has been open since early...

South Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2015

We managed at last to find the Headland Hotel after 3 different attempts. I must say it was worth our wasted time looking for it as we were quite impressed with the service we received. The hotel is quite away out from Torquay and stands very high. The views were quite amazing from the restaurant. Receptionist could have been more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen W
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eileen W, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Headland. I'm so sorry you had trouble locating us, but glad you did eventually get here. I'm sorry if you found the attitude of our receptionist to be uninterested and I have already readdressed this with the team to ensure it doesn't happen again. I'm...

Magor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2015

It was not possible to fault the friendliness and service delivered by the staff here. Every request was responded to with a smile. The food at breakfast and dinner were exceptional. The lounge facilities were abundant in fact everything provided for a very enjoyable stay. We had room 175 which was club class with a superb view out over Torbay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NevMeg
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NevMeg, Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay with us. I am always so happy to see that we exceed our guest's expectations as we have worked really hard to ensure all areas of the hotel and service are as amazing as we can possibly make them! We are aware of issues with our WiFi...

London
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Writing this review for my parents who don't do internet! In their words "The staff here were excellent, nothing was too much trouble, food was delicious (& my mum is very fussy eater), had a small room at first, did change up, but if visiting again would chose one of the larger club Rooms for additional space. Great surroundings with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula P
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paula P, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so pleased that your parents enjoyed their time with us. We do have several room types which start from standard which offers a satisfactory size room with varying views and locations. If you upgrade to a club, executive or royal rooms,...

Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

Had lunch today at The Headland; sat on the beautiful new terrace! Had fish and chips off the new menu,which were perfect..even the presentation was faultless. Compliments to the chef Zibi as always.. he is an asset to The Headland!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emmatq1
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emmatq1, Thank you so much to taking the time to review your meal with us. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed both the food and the location and I will pass on your compliments to all of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards Lucy

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Very nice hotel warm welcome lovely views over the sea,only stayed bed &breakfast,lovely room with view over garden and sea.a new patio area is finnished,we had a lovely afternoon teas at out in the sun (luckily we had a fine weeks weather)will come again for sure.only fault it's a 10 min walk to town down hill but double that on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank misty1616
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear misty1616, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm very pleased to see that The English Riviera lived up to its name and gave you some great weather for your stay enabling you to relax in our new Gallery lounge and terrace. We have a very enviable location directly on the coast and as...

Ras Tanura Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We stayed here with my wife's parents during August 2015. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff members. My wife's parents had a view overlooking the sea, nice size but bathroom was a bit on the small size, our room was a good size. Food was plentyful and a good choice. Only downside was when we arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian P, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry that the headboard had come loose on your bed, but am glad that this was noted and fixed by the time quickly and efficiently. All of our rooms are en-suite and are all equipped with everything you will require during your stay....

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Lovely Hotel, unfortunatly some rooms are quite tired, the bathrooms pokey and quite worn. However you do not spend much time in your room with your eyes open. The food is good, the cleanliness good and the general atmosphere very welcoming for such a historic building.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barbara R, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time here. We are aware that some of our rooms need a little 'facelift', but I do ensure that they are all still to an acceptable and good standard until the time that they are scheduled in...

Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed in 120 basement.. room ok, but smelled of damp .. bathroom ok ,.but have to wait 10 mins for hot water... Beds ok, but pillows felt damp Tea facilities and phone out dated Food was nice but felt rushed to eat 6courses and breakfast is definitely not worth £13.99 Website said pool and sauna but they lied and said...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sean O
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear readers, I am very sorry to hear the comments from in this review and I will address each comment individually. Bedroom 120 is not in the basement of the hotel, it is on the garden level. As the hotel is situated on a hill, you do have to go down stairs from the reception level to effectively get to...

252 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (146)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (57)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (81)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Beach (1)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 89 in Torquay
2,377 reviews
2.1 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
2,080 reviews
0.5 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 89 in Torquay
991 reviews
1.8 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.3 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#32 of 89 in Torquay
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $117 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Headland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#24 Family Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Headland Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Rowley Regis, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Tavistock, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Headland Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor”
 of 5 bubbles W9256RQchristinet, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“As at Jan 2016, avoid Room 185 until refurbished”
 of 5 bubbles Baronscroft, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Need to be up three or more floors for a good view”
 of 5 bubbles VivNix, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Book a front room.”
 of 5 bubbles colinb429, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Exective, sea view”
 of 5 bubbles broganmc, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay