We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Richwood

Save
Traveller (33)
Room & Suite (35)
Pool & Beach (7)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good20%
  • Average7%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“cooked breakfast”(25 reviews)
“games room”(15 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
Bar/Lounge
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for The Richwood
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
156
60
23
25
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
156
60
23
25
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslebanese cuisinecooked breakfastgames roomwarm welcometwo nightsset us up for the dayour night staytea and coffeeten minute walkbed was very comfortablestayed longershort staytorquay harbourfeel very welcomegreat hostsfamily roomcouldn't do enough
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
41 - 45 of 288 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2016 via mobile

I'm afraid I have to agree with all the negative reviews on here . It's the only hotel I've stayed in that didn't make the beds for us . Having said that we got a deal with woucher and I suppose you get what you...More

14  Thank Pagey57
Response from TheRichwood, Owner at The RichwoodResponded November 5, 2016

Sorry Pagey57. We do make the beds but we ask our guests to remove all personal items from it, if they wish to have this service. You oviously did not.

Reviewed September 24, 2016

Hubbie and I came for a 3 night week day stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Although we booked through Wowcher as a cheaper deal we were not expecting this. The hotel is in dire need of a complete re-vamp to bring it up to...More

8  Thank Cheryl Joanne H
Response from TheRichwood, Owner at The RichwoodResponded September 26, 2016

Our advice to Cheryl and hubbie: read the fine print on the voucher, look at the place you are going to and ensure it is modern before you book! Everything was clear on buying the voucher! We were aware that Cheryl and hubbie were not...More

Reviewed September 8, 2016 via mobile

This is a nice hotel. Very clean. The owners are very nice but we didn't see them very much. Unfortunately my husband is disabled, this hotel is no good for people on crutches or wheelchairs. We had a room that was the farthest point from...More

Thank shirley h
Response from TheRichwood, Owner at The RichwoodResponded September 10, 2016

I am so sorry Shirley that your stay was spoilt through the fact that we do not have a lift... We did communicate about this when you booked, I was simply not aware of how disabled you lovely husband was. When the house is full,...More

Reviewed September 3, 2016

The hotel was very dated the décor and everything. The bar shuts at 8.30 pm most people don"t get going till then! The breakfast cost £7.50 each, daylight robbery, one piece of bacon one sausage and a piece of what was supposed to be fried...More

13  Thank stephenmillard2010
Response from TheRichwood, Owner at The RichwoodResponded September 7, 2016

I find some of Mr Millard’s comments very offending; nonetheless, we are sorry Mr Millard was not happy. Yes, we noticed that Mr Millard is not a happy man… Most people love our breakfasts. The discerning reader will see that our breakfasts are in fact...More

Reviewed August 29, 2016 via mobile

We all had an amazing stay at the richwood! We couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. The Lebanese food was incredible. Rooms very clean and the pool was immaculate. Loved our stay and would definitely come again 😃

Thank Zapal
Response from TheRichwood, Owner at The RichwoodResponded August 31, 2016

Thanks for the praise Zapal, it was great having you and your family here!

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Torquay
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Heated pool
Outdoor pool
Hot Tub
Details
Price range
US$89 - US$270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#17 Family Hotel in Torquay
#32 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$89 - US$270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#17 Family Hotel in Torquay
#32 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (33)
Room & Suite (35)
Pool & Beach (7)
Dining (5)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lynda M
September 28, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Veronica P | Property representative |
Unfortunatly no.
0
Votes
Chrissydevon2014
May 3, 2015|
Answer
Response from Veronica P | Property representative |
It is 200 meters to Torre station.
0
Votes
Marian P
March 10, 2015|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Veronica P | Property representative |
Our a la carte cooked breakfast has all the usual favourites plus kippers and smoked salmon. Fresh, local produce, cooked to order and very tasty!... and inexpensive!
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Room 14 is bright, quiet, comfortable with fridge, television & DVD player. Room is upstairs. I'm..."
Read review
"Room small but clean and adequate"
Read review
"Ask for a room to the back of the hotel as those guests we spoke to at breakfast seemed to have larger..."
Read review
"worth upgrading for to better room from basic."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing