We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Richwood

Show Prices
#57 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Richwood
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

257 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Richwood
See the most recent reviews
Showing 256: English reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2014

We had spent a few days in North Devon and thought it would make a good end to the break to spend the rest of the week in South Devon. What weather, Sunday in November was like a summers day. The hotel is well situated to walk into town and onto the beach. We arrived and booked in and then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline K
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you Pauline for your review. We are happy that you content and comfortable during your stay and hope to see you again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2014

But careful of the supplements, card charges small print when you book. Breakfast, as I have known it in every hotel, should be cooked. Oh no, not here, you have to pay extra! Just cereal and toast. My son and I were the only people staying so I was told we had been upgraded. We wouldn't have fitted in a...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Jazz000001
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

This gentleman bought a voucher through Amazon for two nights for two people. It is stated clearly on the voucher (copied and pasted here): What you get: FOR £69 (WORTH UP TO £120), ENJOY A TWO-NIGHT STAY FOR TWO WITH A BASIC ENGLISH BREAKFAST EACH MORNING. This gentleman made us feel guilty that we did not let him stay for...

Godalming, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2014

If you want to stay at an amazing bed and breakfast then this is it. The food was excellent. The room very comfortable and welcoming as was the staff at the Richwood. Will stay here again when next in Torquay. They have a Lebonese bistro which serves delicious Lebonese food. Hopefully my next visit will be in season so that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paddysz
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you Paddy, for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We really enjoyed having you here and are looking forward to the next time!

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2014

The Hotel is an out of touch Bed & Breakfast. Our arrival was greeted by a locked front door and an unfriendly welcome. Our “Superior” room, for which we paid a supplement, was small, cold, dark and old fashioned. The entire hotel reeked of cigarettes (stale and new). The ground floor smelled of damp. Our heating was not on upon...

 Report
Helpful?
23Thank Julie P
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

My response to this review is exactly the same as my response from “resent Visitor”, also one of the same group of eight persons. One can see that this second review is from a particularly unpleasant individual whose obvious contempt for us is clear from every word. One’s right to express an opinion does not include the right to deliberately...

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2014

We went to the Richwood with some anxiety as some reviews were not so great. We had a great time, we laughed, we ate different mezze and we were wrapped up in our hosts warmth and kindness. The Lebanese food was great, we ate both nights we stayed and loved it. Bar prices were reasonable too for a hotel. So...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane E
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you Jane, for telling it like it is. We loved having you both here and look forward to the next time.

Reviewed 19 November 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from my third stay at the Richwood. On hearing the owners, Saida and Veronica discussing a recent review on TripAdvisor I decided to have a look at their reviews. I was shocked at some of them, disbelieving. The Richwood is an old Victorian House which is well kept; one can see that a lot of money...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Hussain J
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you Hussain for your glowing review. We thank you also for the suggestions and comments that you also left, using the room questionnaire. Your constructive criticism was well presented and happily accepted. We will be renovating our last two small standard rooms and their Ensuites this winter, one of which (Room 7) you used on your last visit. When...

midlands
Reviewed 18 November 2014

We were greeted outside and told we had to pay the extra for the dog. Still in the car park we had to go through our luggage to find the money before being shown to our room not a good start. Our friends who had arrived earlier had also been asked to pay extra for a weekend rate. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
17Thank resent-visitor
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

This exaggerated review pushes me to the limits of my kindness and hospitality. I have to say that this review does not reflect the truth and leads us to believe that there are other factors at work, probably politically incorrect discrimination. We are always happy to take CONSTRUCTIVE criticism on board and we are continually working hard on the Richwood...

Reviewed 14 November 2014

Veronica & Saida welcomed my son & I with open arms . Such a lovely couple . Our room was great , clean & tidy & bins emptied daily . The bed was really comfortable & the shower fantastic . Probably best I've had . TV in room was ideal for size & worked perfect . The breakfast - dinning...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank S44ualslr
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Many thanks, S44ualsl, for your glowing review. Yes, you are right, there are still some areas of our quirky Richwood that are still in need of updating: we are renewing the En-suites in our small standard doubles and our big family room this winter and some further redecoration will be done… step by step, and within our budget, we are...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2014

We stayed here Wednesday 29th October - Friday 31st October. We stayed in room number 7 which over looked the main road, which was small, dark, smelt of stale smoke, with a tiny shower room and wood-chip wall paper peeling off the walls, if we hadn't traveled 4 hours to get here we would have gone home. The hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
36Thank pinkshiree123
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Well, I've said it before and I’ll say it again, people either love the Richwood or hate the Richwood! I will leave it to the discerning reader to look at our bi-polar reviews and make up their own minds! The Richwood is clean and well-kept; we offer basic, comfortable, clean, reasonably priced 3* B&B accommodation and enjoy offering hospitality to...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2014

I my wife and our neighbours stayed here for three nights from 20th October, we were warmly greeted by Veronica and shown to our rooms which although fairly small were beautify decorated and clean. We understood from the start we would be charged for as extras I.e cooked breakfast. We met Saida at breakfast and found her to be a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jap_897
richwoodtorquay, Owner at The Richwood, responded to this review

Thank you JAP for your fair review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed having you here. We look forward to your next visit and will cook-up a storm for you!

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 km away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
1.0 km away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
177 reviews
2.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Livermead Cliff Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#48 of 89 in Torquay
103 reviews
2.8 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
517 reviews
1.9 km away
Cary Court Hotel
Cary Court Hotel
#3 of 89 in Torquay
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
The Beirut Bistro at the Richwood
Cuisines: Lebanese, Middle Eastern
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the award-winning Richwood and Beirut-Bistro-Bar. When it comes to guest accommodation on the English Riviera, the Richwood is the only one which offers a combination of great facilities, excellent hospitality and a bistro bar which serves delicious Lebanese, Mediterranean, European and English cuisine. And everything is very reasonably priced! Winner of the English Riviera and South Devon Bronze Award for Excellence in Service 2013, the Richwood is comfortably furnished and centrally heated throughout. All 13 bedrooms are En-suite, have colour TV with DVD players and tea and coffee making facilities. Ideal for families, there are reduced terms for children when sharing with parents. The Richwood is situated 10 to 15 foot minutes from the seafront and town center. You want to enjoy the nightlife and attractions that Devon has to offer? Or just want a quiet break? ...Then the Richwood is the place to be. Around Torquay: The English Riviera: Torquay is the jewel of the English Riviera and Britain's premiere holiday and leisure resort, offering a wide variety of holiday entertainment for all the family, including many theatres featuring International stars throughout the season. There is fun for all the family. There are beaches for safe swimming, water-skiing, sea and river cruises, boating and wind surfing, tennis, fishing, golf, putting, riding and pony trekking. For those who like to explore there are miles of coastal walks at hand, many historical towns to visit and the rugged beauty of Dartmoor is only half an hour's drive away. Gay friendly. Pet friendly: one premiere double/family ensuite and one premiere Pet Friendly room. £10 pernight per pet. There is free parking at the hotel on a first come, first served basis. There is also free parking on the road outside the Richwood in the unlikely event our car park is full. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Richwood

Address: 20 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $104 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Richwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richwood Hotel Torquay
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Torquay
#33 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Richwood staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Taunton, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Penzance

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Richwood staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room facing the pool as this hotel is on a busy road.”
 of 5 bubbles JetSetterJane, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had a small room at the front, were not bothered by noise. As advertised, small room are small, but perfectly adequate for a short stay”
 of 5 bubbles 508JudithH, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Only took a standered others were at request for extra fee.”
 of 5 bubbles josiet929, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ring first before going to the Richwood to clarify room quality. We were facing the main road and the traffic going passed was very noisy.”
  • Basic room. Small double bed.
  • Hang your clothes here!
 of 5 bubbles cherylj0anneh, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Find another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles stephenmillard2010, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5