We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riviera Hotel

Overview
Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ England See on map
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Family Rooms
3 Star accommodation
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Beachfront
Room Service
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
140
Price range
US$51 - US$375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Rainbow International Hotel
Also Known As
Rainbow International Torquay
,
Hotel Rainbow International
Location
United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 88 nearby hotels
TLH Victoria Hotel
639 reviews
.06 km away
TLH Leisure Resort
390 reviews
.08 km away
Marquis Hotel
405 reviews
.08 km away
Cavendish Hotel
1,085 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 372 nearby restaurants
The Singing Kettle Tea Room and Eatery
450 reviews
.21 km away
Torre Abbey Tea-Room
346 reviews
.34 km away
Bull & Bush
542 reviews
.24 km away
One World Cafe & Bistro
269 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 117 nearby attractions
Torre Abbey Historic House and Gardens
727 reviews
.34 km away
South West Coast Path Walk- Meadfoot & London Bridge
51 reviews
.12 km away
Torquay Railway Station
288 reviews
.50 km away
The Royal Terrace Gardens (Rock Walk)
110 reviews
.39 km away
Reviews & more
1,162Reviews
607Photos
51Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 223
  • 398
  • 242
  • 122
  • 177
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Went on a 4-day break and despite staying in one of the older rooms (406), which incidentally was clean with nice bath/shower and multi-channeled TV, enjoyed everything about my stay. The carvery style meals were of a very high standard with lots of variety, and the breakfast was
Read more
Response from BPowis, Owner at Riviera Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your lovely review, it is great for the team to know what we do is appreciated and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again at the hotel.
Read more
Will never set foot back into this establishment EVER again. The receptionist is rude and extremely unhelpful. If you do not know the local area and can hardly speak English properly and would rather talk to other colleagues out the back than paying customers!!! 😡 then maybe yo
Read more
Response from BPowis, Owner at Riviera Hotel
Responded yesterday
I am sorry that you were upset by one of our Receptionists, but assuming this was one exchange that you were not happy about, in what I am assuming was a 3 or 4 day stay, this resulted in you putting on a very negative review specifically to make your point. Interestingly, you also reviewed 3 other places in Torquay, and for all of them you slated them and gave them a 1 Star, perhaps your expectations were a little unreasonable, maybe you were having a bad week or presumably it might just be that you totally dislike Torquay. Either way you completely ignored any of the other good bits about the hotel and your stay and also made one quite pointed and what some might consider a little bit rude comment that the hotel needs updating and for ‘management to sort it out’. As you will see from my other responses we are doing that, having invested £1million over the last 18 months but there is still a long way to go, and most guests have some appreciation of the task ahead of us. We generally get very positive comments about our staff as can be seen by our other reviews. We would like to investigate, but you haven't given us a lot to go on. I am assuming you did stay at the hotel rather than just visited, do you know which Receptionist it was, as we have two non British staff on Reception, one Brazilian and one Lithuanian, both have almost perfect English, although both have mild 'foreign' accents. Was the issue just that she didn't know much about the local area or was she rude to you. If you would be good enough to email us with more details, for the attention of our General Manager, we will look in to it further - email is stay@rivieratorquay.co.uk. Finally to respond to your comment about 'why we employ so many foreigners...', we employ the best staff we can recruit for the position, otherwise we would be racist and discriminatory, we have a lot of both British and non British staff who we value equally. Perhaps however, like many other hotels in the UK, it appears we have more non British staff because many of our European neighbours have a better work ethic and subsequently stay with us for longer. I hope you find a more suitable hotel if and when you next visit Torquay, although I think, from the fact that you disliked all the other places you visited in Torquay, an area we and both other locals and visitors love, you might be better visiting somewhere else, I would suggest Falkland Islands, where you are unlikely to come across too many foreigners working in the hotels there.
Read more
We were a party of 12 staying for 1 night sun 9th Dec, my elderly parents were 2 of the party.
The hotel is quite dated and poor decor however they state new owners 2017 with a 3 year makeover.
The rooms were very warm I found them uncomfortably hot.
Room corridors floor was crea
Read more
Response from BPowis, Owner at Riviera Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your lovely review and I am glad our Duty Manager was helpful when your Dad fell ill. I hope he gets well soon and you will be able to stay with us again in the future and enjoy the entertainment as well as everything else the hotel has to offer.
Read more
Had a turkey and tinsel weekend at this hotel staff were good when we complained about our room it was changed straight away but the room we had was tired and in need of refurbishment it was also along way from the restaraunt and up and down numerous stairs the food was well cook
Read more
Recently returned from The Riviera Hotel Torquay We opted for. 4 day break with National Holidays. Hotel is comfortable and clean with comfy beds. Refurbished rooms are nicer than those still to be upgraded
Rooms on the lower floors are not served by a lift and the hotell is like
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRiviera Hotel
The Standard Twin Room at the Rainbow International Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRiviera Hotel
The Standard Triple Room at the Rainbow International Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRiviera Hotel
The Standard Double with Twin Beds at the Rainbow International Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorRiviera Hotel
The Standard Double with Twin Beds at the Rainbow International Hotel
Broken door lock
Previous
Many thanks to Ask Jameshall2015 for highlighting the huge problems with Room 403 Ive stayed in this Hotel a few times the last being 2016 and I had that very room on that occasion the Bathroom Window needs Obscured Glass being on the front of the Hotel overlooking the main Belgrave Road.I have had other rooms over the few occasions a favourite being 503 due to the quiet location on the back that I've stayed but 403 is the worst one due to the Bathroom when I stayed there it did have a Blind but being very small I struggled to use it as it was quite heavy and had to stand on my toes to open and close it and it often got stuck on the catch of the part opened top window hopefully it has now been sorted out.I do hope to return soon.many thanks April.
I stayed at 406 and I had no such problem because there was not a window in the bathroom. In fact I had no trouble with my room.
0 votes
Show all answers
I have booked with the hotel as normal for a 7 night stay and got a price match that a holiday company is doing but been told parking is still extra is this right cheers
If you have booked direct with the hotel but we have price matched against another provider, such as UK Breakaways, then you still have to pay the car parking charges. The reason their rates are lower is because they don't include parking, whereas our quoted rates include the parking. You can't have it both ways, a lower price that is price matched that doesn't include parking and then have free parking as well, you can either get a lower rate which is price matched or an inclusive rate with parking.
0 votes
Show all answers
Why does it say free parking on your website ,when in fact it is not , after reading trip adviser page i booked it ,thinking there is no other charges ,when infact they charge 7.00 per night to park ,very misleading and would have swayed my decision on there
Car Parking is free if you have booked direct with the hotel otherwise it is £7 per night. All our literature and our website states this, and we try to ensure all of the companies we deal, such as Laterooms, Expedia and UK Breakaways inform all guests that book through them that there is a £7 per night charge for car parking on site at the hotel.
0 votes
Show all answers
Is there a betting shop near
William Hill is just up the hill from the hotel, less than 5 minutes walk, approx 200 metres.
0 votes
Could you tell me the meal times please
Breakfast is 7.45am to 9.30am weekdays and 7.45am to 10am on weekends. Dinner is 5.45pm to 8pm every day.
0 votes
Show all answers
Previous
"all rooms were noisy, due to people coming and going at all hours"
"Don’t think paying extra for refurb room is worth it, both our rooms were the older ones and where absolutely fine."
"Don't book here"
"Ask for one of the refurbished rooms"
"No tips to give."
Previous
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing