We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rainbow International Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Rainbow International Hotel
Rainbow International Hotel
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

830 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Rainbow International Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 828: English reviews
Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2015

Had four nights diner,bed & breakfast at the Rainbow and found it to be a good experience. The choice of food at both the breakfast and dinner buffet was really very good. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the staff and it all added up to a lovely holiday. There was a 99p bar and this added to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David K
Roger H, Operations Director at Rainbow International Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us & look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Roger

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2015

When we booked we were not told the pool was not available so to the disapointment of our children we only found out there would be no swimming in the Hotel ,the staff did however point us in the direction of the local public swimming pool and also refunded us the cost. We believed the management deliberately withheld the information...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Steve M
Roger H, Operations Director at Rainbow International Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Rainbow International Hotel. Unfortunately, due to unforeseen circumstances, the swimming pool was out of service for a few weeks. This was clearly stated on our website at the time it was closed (although it is open now, which is why nothing is mentioned now) I...

Sussex, England
Reviewed 3 March 2015

We spent three nights at the Rainbow hotel on a Just Go trip. The room was basic but adequate. Good ensuite with excellent shower. Only problem with the room was that it was so far from reception it was difficult to find! The dining room was large and pleasant and the food, served carvery-style, was hot and tasty. Pleasant staff....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JanHill
Roger H, Operations Director at Rainbow International Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. We hope to welcome you back with us very soon. Roger

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2015

Just back from a Mon - Fri. break with my eldest son. He was blown out by the value of this break, the reception area was very efficient and all the staff were first class. For a break in February the rooms were all clean and warm and we were spoilt for choice at meal times, Entertainment was very good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lionel b
Roger H, Operations Director at Rainbow International Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that you had such a lovely stay with us & look forward to welcoming you back to the Rainbow International Hotel very soon. Roger

Wrexham
Reviewed 23 February 2015

My wife and I spent four nights at the Rainbow International from 16th to 20th February with a "Just Go Holiday" party. This was our third stay at the Rainbow and was every bit as good as our previous stays. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. Our room was large,warm and clean and had a very nice en suite...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David W
Roger H, Operations Director at Rainbow International Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & do hope you will return very soon. Roger

Reviewed 15 February 2015 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was comfortable and close to everything. It was lovely and warm. Food was good and plenty of choice especially the carvery. We were seated very quickly and didn't have to queue. The entertainment was amazing and the bar prices were average and not over...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Linda F
Roger H, Operations Director at Rainbow International Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for wonderful review. It was lovely to hear that you had such an amazing time with us. Our Burlesque shows are always a huge hit with both hotel guests and locals to Torquay. I do hope to see you at some of our future shows - just give us a call or check our website for details! Roger

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2015 via mobile

We visited this hotel on Valentine's night and to be fair it was worth the money albeit marginal The hotel itself is dated and in my opinion has not come forward in time from the 70,s smell of damp in various places including reception area. Rooms are basic and outdated. Evening meal was adequate and the show was better than...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Goldsims
Alderton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2015

just got home from a weekend break that my boyfriends nan booked for us, the car park is horrendous and if you manage to get a space id leave you car there and walk everywhere, considering the amount of rooms the parking is inadequate. the hotel looks really run down outside like most seaside places and thought that it would...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jessd87
Manchester
Reviewed 13 February 2015

Just returned form a 4 night holiday with National Holidays. we had read other reviews and we were a bit apprehensive. When we arrived we were quickly given our keys and found our room, 508, we were lucky as it was easy to get to, top floor overlooking the road. If we stood in the window and looked sidewards we...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Anne H
Yateley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2015

Stayed at the Rainbow Hotel for 2 nights as part of a coach party. We were not expecting much and were very pleasantly surprised. The exterior needs some updating, but apart from some on-going electrical work, the inside was well decorated and very clean. The Rainbow is a large hotel, that extends downhill along Belgrave Road, consequently, this gives "rise"...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank bparkercars

411 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (203)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Other (95)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (208)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard Double with Twin Beds (30)
Viewed
Standard Double with Twin Bunks (26)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (23)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (48)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.0 km away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
1,092 reviews
1.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 89 in Torquay
2,383 reviews
0.2 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#24 of 89 in Torquay
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#59 of 89 in Torquay
638 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.6 km away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#23 of 89 in Torquay
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Rainbow International Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $84 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Rainbow International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow International Torquay
Hotel Rainbow International
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rainbow International Hotel staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
South Wales
London, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Rainbow International Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hotel is on several levels & I had to negotiate 32 stairs to get to Rm 130. If you've problems with stairs, mention it when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles Allain151, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The larger flights of stairs have stair lifts.”
 of 5 bubbles wakefieldyorks, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Corner rooms are bigger”
 of 5 bubbles sylviac443, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had room on level 5 which overlooked the gardens and tennis courts, quiet and comfy.”
 of 5 bubbles shirley262016, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Hotel has a lift and chair lifts,but there is some stairs to climb to some bedrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles jeanettewright08, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay