The Tor Park Hotel

The Tor Park Hotel

Sea front at night
Traveller (122)
bedroom window
Room & Suite (26)
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#31 of 81 hotels in Torquay
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Situated in a quiet residential area of Torquay half a mile from the seafront, the Tor Park hotel is also within easy reach of the marina and the town Centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. The hotel offers great facilities for you to enjoy and all the public areas are conveniently located on the ground floor. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with a comfortable and welcoming atmosphere. Although we do not have a bar, guests are welcome to bring their own alcohol and enjoy it in the comfort of our lounges and outdoor patio. We have a pool table and dart board for guests to enjoy during their stay. Our hotel is conveniently located near a train station, which is only a 5-minute walk away, and is also on a main bus route. We have ample park on two sites and free on street parking
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Car park
Free internet
Patio
Board games / puzzles
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Public wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Telephone
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
Languages Spoken
English

Location

24 Vansittart Road, Torquay TQ2 5BW England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 72 out of 100
72
Exeter Airport
30.5 km
See all flights
759Reviews48Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 265
  • 291
  • 128
  • 50
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Cheesychips wrote a review Aug 2023
Hotel's Favourite
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived and greeted by a nice guy and gave the key and how to get to the room and a letter with info on. Went to the room nice room at start. Everything tidy. One of the hand towels were dirty had orange/brown stains on. Rest were fine. Bed all clean and tidy. Mirroe crooked but we aren’t being pedantic here. There was no body and hair soap in the bathroom shower it was empty. So not checked. Everything else was pretty tidy though however. The bed was comfortable and clean. Also the cold water setting on the tap was coming out hot and staying hot and changed to the hot side and it went cold… it started off cold on the cold setting but starts getting warmer… You can hear the people walking outside your door and also upstairs and shutting the doors as they’re heavy and won’t shut unless you yank it. There’s paint chips on the wall and marks on the carpet but it’s not perfect but we stayed and enjoyed it that’s what matters. All was good other than that for what we paid and were expecting.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Not much parking around few spaces there and then have to park on the roads which are busy as well
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kim Johnson, General Manager at The Tor Park Hotel
Responded Sep 1, 2023
Good evening. Many thanks indeed for your review. Did you let reception know about the taps? Sounds like something our maintenance team needs to inspect.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pammyies wrote a review Jul 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Well first experience of being away with restrictions due to Covid .
Plenty of hand sanatiser scattered around the Hotel .

No one actually came into the room so we left the rubbish outside of the door which was collected every morning .You had to go to reception if you wanted your towels or bedding changing .Also we use to go there for more tea bags coffee and rubbish bin bags . To be honest we normally go to reception in all hotels if you require more milk or t bags so that wasn’t a problem .
The staff were absolutely brilliant.
.We had a young girl waitress call Ellie who was extremely helpful and really made our stay an enjoyable experience.
The food was good and the Entertainment was fine .
The outside of the Hotel looked rundown the net curtains in the room had holes in .
The room was clean so really had no issues with the hotel would definitely stay there again
.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carla de Pra Sanchez, Owner at The Tor Park Hotel
Responded Aug 19, 2021
Dear Pammyies Thank you very much for your lovely review and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay despite all the Covid restrictions. I have passed on your comments to Ellie, she was delighted to hear your kind words. I have taken on board your comments regarding the outside of the building and the new curtains and we will work hard to improve it. The team at the Tor Park Hotel will look forward to welcoming you back soon. Carla de Pra General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bellabow wrote a review Sep 2021
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a family room (with a double and single). The room was very spacious, yet had obscured glass on one window and the other was very small. Beds were extremely uncomfortable (felt every spring!) and the double was quite small for 2 grown adults. only 1 pillow was provided (however we did ask at reception and they provided more).
The decor is very dated with windows that need replacing and peeling wallpaper.
The bathroom appeared very new and clean but the extractor fan was clogged with dust and the ceiling had damp coming through.
Layout is very confusing and the fire map on the door I would say wasn’t very clear (if there was a fire I would t have had a clue where the fire exists were!)
Check in and out was fine. No issues. 24 hour reception (with a bell to ring if no one is there).
Hotel bar very small for the number of rooms it has and when entertainment is on it’s difficult to sit.
We knew beforehand and are able bodied but Location isnt the best for people with mobility issues as it’s at the top of a very steep bank, but taxis are available.
We had booked for room only. But we asked during our stay of the last day we could have breakfast. We were told by reception that this would be fine and to just come down before 9.30am as this is the last sitting before they stop at 10am. When we got to the dining room at 9am, the staff didn’t appear too happy that we weren’t booked in. It was a buffet for cereal (of which there were only Rice Krispies left), and cold pieces of toast. The full English was served to your table. But if you asked for something to be taken off (eg black pudding), it wasn’t replaced with anything. Definitely not worth the £10 per person. Very poor service. Only glad that we ate out the other days.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t pay for the breakfast! Ask for more pillows from the start! You have to pay £6 to park...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rob Stanley, Other at The Tor Park Hotel
Responded Nov 11, 2021
Dear bellabow, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We hope this does not deter you from staying at one of the Coast & Country Hotels collection in the near future. Take care and be safe
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christine Shepherd wrote a review Jul 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was extremely dirty. When I asked for a change of room, I was told no other rooms were available, which was untrue. I asked for a change of towels and late one evening I was left to floor mats outside my door. You could hear every noise and conversation from neighbouring rooms. The food was absolutely disgusting and we were given the same menu for two nights. To add insult to injury when I try to pay my bar bill they tried to over charge me by more than £200. It was so bad I ended up packing my bag and coming home 4 days early.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carla de Pra Sanchez, Owner at The Tor Park Hotel
Responded Aug 19, 2021
Dear Broughton22 Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are deeply sorry that you had a negative experience in our hotel and that we failed to meet expectations on your recent visit. We are in the process of refreshing each of our rooms and working hard to rectify some of the teething issues caused by 15 months of closure during lockdown. Due to Covid-19 restrictions staff were unable to enter your room during your stay, therefore your towels were left outside your room if you had wished for them to be replaced. I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your food, and I will pass on your comment to the chef. Regarding your bill, this is not entirely correct, we did not try to overcharge you, as you are travelling by coach, on your bill you can still see your accommodation charges, these are not chargeable to you, they are invoiced to the ledger company, therefore you would have only been charged for your drinks consumed by you at the hotel. I only wish you would have giving us the opportunity to rectify some of the issues encountered during your holidays instead of deciding to go home early. Maybe another time you may find that one of our Coast and Country Hotels Collection would suit you better. Best wishes, Carla de Pra General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lizatom wrote a review Feb 2020
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Reasonable hotel, lots of corridors to the bedrooms teapots would be a useful addition for breakfast instead of a flask. Vegetables could be better for the evening meals they were overcooked., Sharen was an excellent person who looked after our table.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carla-depra, Deputy General Manager at The Tor Park Hotel
Responded Mar 3, 2020
Dear Lizatom Thank you very much for taking time to review your experience at the Tor Park Hotel. I have taken all your comments on board and can only apologise for the vegetables being overcooked, I will of course take this matter up with the kitchen team. Pleased you found Sharon the Restaurant Manager Helpful, I will of course pass your comments on to Sharon. All the team at the Tor Park Hotel look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards Carla de Pra Deputy General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
peter h wrote a review Sep 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel whilst on a coach trip for 5 days. The hotel is situated in a small dip in the road , which would make it very difficult for guests with walking difficulties or in a wheelchair, as you have to walk up hill to get to the main road. On arrival the reception check in was very quick and staff directed you to your room, which was very helpful as the Layout is a bit confusing at first. Our room was ok, a bit small but quite adequate for the two of us. Shower was also quite small but ok with easy to use instructions and plenty of hot water. The meals where very good , especially the breakfast which was self service, food well cooked and served hot which made a pleasant change from some of the other hotels I have stayed in. Evening meal was a three course meal, again well cooked and hot and very tasty,so big complements to the chef’s. The walk to the town centre is mostly down hill which would take you about 30 to 45 minutes depending on how well you can walk. Lots to do and see in the town. To get back to the hotel, there is a number 12 bus that takes you to the bus stop directly outside the hotel. We just asked the driver to stop at the hotel which he did, very friendly bus staff. I would like to thank Martina and Jack the two young people who looked after everyone of the guests every day, always with a smile and always very helpful towards everyone, they worked extremely well together and made our stay at the hotel special, and we hope to see them both very soon.

The only reason I gave the hotel a 4 and not a 5 star rating, was because of the cleaners. Our room was missed and not cleaned on two days, our door left open on one day, the soap and shower gel was not replenished, the shower walls and base was not cleaned, and the beds where just covered with the quilts haphazardly. So not really good work on behalf of the cleaners.

But besides this, we had a great time and will definitely be back again very soon.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Any problems Just talk to the reception staff who are very helpful.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from tor park, General Manager at The Tor Park Hotel
Responded Sep 25, 2022
Dear peter h, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will pass your lovely comments on to our staff. Please accept our apologies with regards to your room, we will investigate and ensure this does not happen in the future. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alexa1345 wrote a review Aug 2021
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited this hotel recently for 4 nights. Upon arrival we were greeted by a polite receptionist who checked us in. We had booked this hotel in February 2021, including breakfast but the confirmation on their part did not include breakfast. This matter was swiftly solved. When we got into our room it was dated but we knew this upon arrival and didn't plan on spending much time in this. The room was very tidy and had all of the things we needed. Breakfast was nice each morning and if you get fed up, you can have some other things, at an additional cost. Entertainment was on for 2 of the evenings which we watched. It was aimed at the older generation (we were aware of this as it is a Bay Hotel) but it was still good to watch. Advised to reserve car parking space, which we did and this was sorted for us. Very handy if you're going in and out. Good location (we did not walk into town) we visited a restaurant local called Meat59 which I'd definately recommend. We went for lunch at Twenty1, at the Harbur. In the evenings, it was sometimes difficult to sleep as the walls are very thin and you can hear everything.

A special mention to Rob, the food and beverage manager, who was very pleasant and always took the time to have a conversation with us. Extremely good value for money, considering it is the school holiday. You pay for what you get.

Thank you again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rob Stanley, Other at The Tor Park Hotel
Responded Nov 11, 2021
Dear Alex1345x, thank you for taking the time to leave a review about yot stay at the Tor Park. we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff looked after you. It was a pleaseure to meet you and hopefully we can continue our conversations. Take care and be safe.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LoopyLynda wrote a review Mar 2020
Blackpool, England
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just got back from a 4 day break with National Holidays and it was very good. The service in the restaurant was exceptional, Isabella our waitress was very polite and nothing was too much trouble for her, it was definitely service with a smile. The food was nice and a good selection to cater for all tastes. The room was very well appointed, it was clean and comfortable the only downside there was only a shower and no bath, I love my baths. The location of the hotel was a bit out of the way, but fortunately I do like walking, so the 15 minute walk to the seafront wasn't a problem for me. I would definitely return to this hotel as it was more of a relaxed atmosphere, in the larger hotels I find things very rushed, there was no queuing for meals, bar or reception, all the staff were very helpful and seemed happy to be there.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caroline M wrote a review Sep 2022
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I visited this hotel with my elderly mother, who cannot manage full flights of stairs, so was very disappointed, that the lifts were not working, even though I contacted the hotel, prior to our arrival to confirm a few details, one being the lift.
On checking in our allocated room, was top floor,
With no lift available, thankfully we were given a room on the ground floor, which was okay apart from a little noisey from other residents passing and you could here the entertainment, also the room's bathroom could have been much cleaner, the carpet didn't seem to have been vacuumed, housekeeping could have been better, perhaps a check list, a bit more training as they all seemed new. On the upside, the room was a good size, and comfortable beds.
Entertainment ,was provided, on 3 nights of our stay, 2 of the acts were very enjoyable, and the quiz with Robin, Bar manager was also fun too.
The food and restaurant staff were very good, buffet breakfast was plentiful. Evening meals, were 3 courses, my only negative, was sweetcorn was served every day. Jack was very attentive and seemed experienced in his position,
The girls in the restaurant were also very friendly and helpful.
Reception staff were very helpful, and would pass any issues on to the relevant members of staff.
Photos are of the bathroom, where the door, and toilet base, could have been cleaned better.

Even though I had a few issues, I would still recommend and stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from tor park, General Manager at The Tor Park Hotel
Responded Sep 25, 2022
Dear K5104HAcarolinem, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will pass your lovely comments on to our staff. Please accept our apologies with regards to your room, we will investigate and ensure this does not happen in the future. Kind regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gill M wrote a review Jun 2022
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a 4 night break at the Tor Park Hotel which is situated approximately a mile from the town centre down a hill.
The hotel is in a nice location, in Torre, a quiet area of Torquay and there is a train station a 5 minute walk away and a bus just across the road.

The hotel is very nice, a bit dated but some rooms been refurbished. Everything is very clean and the rooms have tea and coffee facilities, hairdryer and a few products such as shampoo, shower gel etc. The rooms also have colour tv although the signal was a bid dodgy at times.

The staff without exception, are very welcoming, helpful and pleasant and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast and evening meals are very good.

There was entertainment for 3 of the 4 nights we were there and it was all very good.

There is a decking area with tables and chairs.

The train service from the nearby station is excellent and you can go as far as Exmouth one way and Paignton the other. Very reasonable prices. The bus runs every 12 minutes to Torquay, Brixham or to Newton Abbot the other way.

We would recommend the hotel to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from tor park, General Manager at The Tor Park Hotel
Responded Jun 10, 2022
Dear Gill M, thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your lovely comments regarding the hotel and our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Tor Park Hotel. Kind regards from all the staff and management at the Tor Park
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adelaide P wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dont go here unless you have no self respect and want to have drugs and alchol as your stay"
Read full review
Ian P wrote a tip Mar 2024
Probus, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking in the area not good"
Read full review
Lil P wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"don’t leave too late they’ll threat"
Read full review
Dawny ♥️ wrote a tip Sep 2023
318 contributions26 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check room before you pay try and get ground floor due to lift been out of action for a while otherwise quite a few stairs "
Read full review
nick W wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Worst hotel we have stayed in"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Torquay area.
PRICE RANGE
C$78 - C$99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tor park torquay
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDevonEnglish RivieraTorquay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
63
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Tor Park Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Tor Park Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Tor Park Hotel?
Nearby attractions include DT's (0.3 km), The Boulder Bunker (0.1 km), and Artizan Gallery (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Tor Park Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free internet access, baggage storage, and free public parking nearby.
Which room amenities are available at The Tor Park Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
Is parking available at The Tor Park Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby, a parking garage, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Tor Park Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Indi-Yang, Bull & Bush, and The Noble Tree.
Is The Tor Park Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Torquay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Tor Park Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Torre Abbey (0.8 km) and Friends Of Oldway (3.6 km).
Is The Tor Park Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Torquay HotelsTorquay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TorquayHotels near The Tor Park Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars