We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Ashleigh

Hotels.comUS$61*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Ashleigh
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Ashleigh
See the most recent reviews
Showing 136: English reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Just stayed at The Ashleigh with my family, have to admit my partner and I were a bit disappointed. We feel the hotel is over charging (£200 for a family room 2x nights). A very standard hotel, missing little touches (shower gel, towel rails, cover for remote control so the batteries kept falling out - our 1 yr old kept...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KarlaGG
kerandire, Owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this review

Win some lose some and we knew this was coming after we asked you to pay for the washing of the towels if you took them to the beach, which we do not think is unfair. Sorry the PG tips tea bags are not to your taste and the new bed as well, it's funny as that room also had...

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2013

After a good nights sleep, in a delightful room overlooking the garden,then coming down to delightful real English breakfast was an added bonus. A wander round the compact garden, which was in full flower, made our three day break very enjoyable. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was great. The Hotel is very near the Railway station for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin603
kerandire, Owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave the review

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My partner and i with 2 friends stayed at the Ashleigh for 4 nights. We were very pleased with our choice, the hotel was very clean throughout, our "superior"room was comfortable with all the usual tea/coffee making facilities, built in wardrobes, nice bathroom and a very a good shower. the bed was comfortable with extra pillows available. the full English...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerald C
kerandire, Owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave the review

Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I didn't look at any comments until after I had returned home (would love to have been a fly on the wall regarding "the "Welsh comments review". Nevertheless, it never ceases to amaze me how vitriolic some people are, assumedly because they are upset and throwing their toys out of the pram. Always find constructive criticism the best... Not that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerry J
kerandire, Owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place this review, we know you had a good time and the weather of course always helps. Yes less than half a mile to the cliff top but there is a quicker way to the zig zag next time I will show you. Did not think at all that you was not going...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We booked this hotel via trivago and paid £80 for a family room (including breakfast ) for a Saturday night. We found the owners friendly and helpful and the hotel spotlessly clean and decorated to a high standard. I would recommend staying in this hotel :)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jeanette d
kerandire, Owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this review

Thank you we try to help to make a stay okay, mostly it works

Reviewed 11 June 2013

After reading some of the other reviews and more importantly the aggressive not my hotel your all liars response from the landlord i am certain i this will not be taken well! And before he starts the reason we didn't point out the faults whilst we were in the hotel is because your staff are very aggressive and being in...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank nat118
kerandire, Owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this review

Guests like hotels are good and bad, some feel it is acceptable to ring bells and make a noise at 4.00am asking for a bottle opener, and others when returning in the early hours try not to make a noise because of the other guests. I am sorry but at times I will freely admit my personal attitude is coloured...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2013

After reading reviews I was a little worried but there is really nothing to complain about. We got caught in traffic and rang the hotel to let them know they were so understanding and helpful. It is located around 10 minute drive from Bournemouth beach and 20 minute drive from sandbanks. Rooms look exactly as advertised clean comfy. Really friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mel180292
kerandire, Owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this review

Thank you for this, we have some reviews from people with axes to grind, but we always try to be upfront and honest and when guests take the time to leave a review with honesty we are grateful

Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Will be staying again it was very clean modern just what you need from a b&b very good price some places were charging a lot more and were horrible . The only problem was lack of parking, we had to park on double yellow lines lucky we had a blue badge, Thank you for a lovely stay Mr & Mrs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trudy H
kerandire, Owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this review

Thank you for this we do try to give good service and when we get a good review it shows we are doing something right, not everyone thinks so, but we know after 25 years we cannot please everyone but pleasing most is not a bad thing.

Bodmin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

We prepaid for this "hotel" on hotels.com. This is not a hotel but more a B&B. Upon arrival we were informed by the landlady that we needed to show some respect to the other guests! We had only been there 5 mins but she assumed that we were there to cause trouble! We were shown to our room and informed...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank aidasnake
kerandire, Owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this review

I have removed my daughter’s response as she felt it was a bogus review as the facts did not fit a staying guest... I know who you are and will respond with all the facts. You booked online a double bedded room, room only “no breakfast” you arrived at night wanting a twin room, not a double, next morning we...

wiltshire
Reviewed 22 May 2013

a one night stopover on business found me here. a nice warm welcome and a spotless, very nicely decorated room awaited me in room 2. it was quite a small room but plenty big enough for one. the bathroom was tiny but again, plenty big enough for just me. the room had everything i needed (plenty of sockets to recharge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roamingjode
kerandire, Owner at The Ashleigh, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your honest review.

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.5 km away
Sandy Bay Guest House
Sandy Bay Guest House
#34 of 133 in Bournemouth
91 reviews
0.2 km away
Cransley
Cransley
#9 of 133 in Bournemouth
309 reviews
1.5 km away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#14 of 133 in Bournemouth
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Mayfield Hotel
Mayfield Hotel
#96 of 133 in Bournemouth
80 reviews
1.5 km away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#47 of 133 in Bournemouth
40 reviews
0.0 km away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#99 of 133 in Bournemouth
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ashleigh is a family run . All rooms are en suite providing Free view TV with, hairdryers and hospitality tray. We also provide free computer access, and WiFi connection is available in all rooms. We believe we offer a high standard of accommodation and cleanliness.Free parking and lovely garden. Please holiday in relaxed and informal surroundings. You will find in each of our refurbished rooms a clean and contemporary look, that features calm and modern design. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ashleigh

Address: 6 Southcote Road, Bournemouth BH1 3SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: $82 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ashleigh 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ashleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ashleigh staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Ashleigh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in room 7 - very quiet.”
mbeemerboy, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“garden room.”
564suep, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid at all costs”
jonathanwU4001ZS, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Check it out before you pay.”
mariusb72, 12 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Book somewhere else”
matthesm2015, 8 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$61* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$61
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates