We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

978 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
See the most recent reviews
Showing 970: English reviews
Christchurch
Reviewed 7 March 2016

The Carlton is my Grandmother's favourite hotel, so it seemed fitting to take her and 8 other members of the family to treat her on Mother's Day. The hotel staff could not do enough for us and the quality of the food was of an excellent standard. Salmon roulade with a horseradish creme was to die for. All the main...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah M
PDarkCarltonGM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely feedback. I am glad you had an amazing experience at lunch. I will pass on your feedback to the teams in food and beverage. Looking forward to your return Kind Regards

St Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2016

Dreadful, bed breakfast and building site. how on earth Hallmark can charge 269 pounds 2 nights bed and breakfast is appalling. I work away from home so time with my family is precious. ROOM WAS OF GOOD SIZE BUT THE FACILITIES WERE AWFUL. The spa area is clearly not acceptable. the spa tub was broken and empty of water ,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sjb2003spurs
PDarkCarltonGM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this review

I am sorry that your stay wasn't what you expected. Its disappointing to hear that your expectations weren't met. The issues you have brought up will be addressed with the food and beverage team as this is not acceptable . We are currently on a refurbishment program and the spa area is looking much better now. We do hope you...

Twyford
Reviewed 24 February 2016

We have just spent the past 4 months at this Hotel due to working in the area & whilst at first when the scaffolding went up for over winter works we were dismayed it in no way spoilt our view out to sea & our enjoyment of the Hotel.When we left the scaffolding was being removed and the Hotel looks...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SusieH476
PDarkCarltonGM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind comments about your stay with us. I will pass your comments on about Natalia she is an excellent member of our team. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and we are looking forward to your return back Kind Regards

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Booked this hotel at the beginning of February and had an enjoyable stay. Nice little room with chocolates on arrival, had everything needed. Staff nice enough at front desk and in the restaurant, evening meal wasn't brilliant, wouldn't choose to eat there again. Food choice was very limited and I think I made the wrong choice, but overall breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ami2601
PDarkCarltonGM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely comments about your stay with us. I am happy that the staff made your stay and that the experience was good. The spa area is back in order now and has improved the hotel. Scaffolding is coming down and the hotel is looking better slowly. Look forward to your return Kind Regards

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Beautiful room with great sea view despite the scaffolding. Staff work very hard and all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good but the evening meal was a let down. The menu was very limited and the £10 supplement for the steak was excessive. However we will be coming back again but probably B and B .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cupcake53
PDarkCarltonGM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this review

Lovely comments about your stay and yes we do have a friendly team in place and good workers at the hotel. I look forward to your return back to the hotel and thank you for the feedback Kind Regards

Reviewed 21 February 2016

Very nice hotel, all the staff were very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a lovely large room over looking the sea and gardens. The bed was huge. A complimentary bottle of wine and box of chocolates were waiting in our room when we arrived. The evening meal was fair but not brilliant but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robert g
PDarkCarltonGM, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely feedback. Its important that we get the feedback and see how we are doing at the hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed yourself with us and that you would book again. I look forward to your return back Kind Regards

Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Went to this hotel for one night stay for a birthday weekend. Upon arrival the staff were very friendly :) the rooms were very clean and tidy and were well stocked! The food in the restaurant was lovely and again the restaurant staff were very helpful and friendly and catered to our needs! A lovely stay in this hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
Purley
Reviewed 20 February 2016

We spent one night at this hotel on a Travelzoo Offer which included an evening meal & breakfast. The evening meal was the let down: One Bread Roll was as hard as concrete & was exchanged, Soup was very salty, Tuna Steak was ordered as Medium but served almost raw & sent back for further cooking and the Crepe Suzette...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spitthedog
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

We got a good deal through Superbreak for two nights bed and breakfast, dinner on the first night and a full afternoon tea on arrival. The hotel is located in a lovely position on the coast road, a short walk from the pier. It is a grand hotel with impressive public areas. Clearly it is currently a bit tired and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kazoo2012
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Booked a one night stay through an online deal which was very good value for money. Very friendly greeting on arrival and we were lucky to be upgraded to a King room with a sea view which was very spacious and beautifully decorated. The facilities in the room were excellent, it was clean and comfortable, although very hot despite having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie P

591 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (361)
Viewed
Room/Suite (97)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (139)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (216)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Other (106)
Viewed
Family Room (28)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (3)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (3)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 km away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.8 km away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
0.3 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
3,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
1,444 reviews
0.3 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#42 of 68 in Bournemouth
23 reviews
1.3 km away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 star stunning hotel on Bournemouth's cliff-top, offering traditional stylish rooms, many with sea views. Award winning restaurant, bar, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, steam room, sauna, and beauty treatment rooms. An easy walk down the zig zag path to the golden sands, and 5 minutes walk to the town centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3DN, England (Formerly Menzies Carlton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: $93 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Carlton Bournemouth
Hotel Menzies Carlton
Carlton Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 313 is on the top floor with limited balcony space but I understand room 320 has a bigger balcony with a table and chairs.”
 of 5 bubbles , 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Never had a disappointing room yet.”
 of 5 bubbles StephenB522, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“SPA RETREAT I definatley wouldn't recommend it.”
 of 5 bubbles creatifperfections, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't forget you will have to pay £10 per day to park!!”
 of 5 bubbles adammI1156UH, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea view is great. Balcony room is lovely. I think most balconies are on the first floor.”
  • View through Room 116
 of 5 bubbles Richardt1008, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5